We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property near Dana Point harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice property near Dana Point harbor”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel which is a few blocks away from Dana Point harbor. It is one of the nicer Best Western properties we've stayed at. The rooms seem newly decorated, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our only complaint about the room is the spa tub in the bathroom is so high, it is dangerous to climb in to take a shower. Designers need to look at function rather than appearance. The complimentary breakfast had more than just the usual pastries, juice and coffee. But the extras were very mixed in quality. They had scrambled eggs, (quite good) potatoes (gray and unedible) and a pancake making machine that made very chewy pancakes. All in all while not perfect, it offered a clean comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the comments and suggestions about the spa tubs and we will see if there is anything we can do make the tub access a little easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    166
    72
    13
    3
See reviews for
224
182
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It's always so hard to choose a hotel based on these reviews! Most people seem to only write reviews when they have complaints. We just stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway for my birthday. We have two small sons, 4 & almost 6. It's a nice place, clean and well kept up. Staff was nice. No cleanliness issues at all that we saw. It's just what you would expect from a Best Western if not a step above, nice but not fancy and clean. Pool was on the smaller side but was well heated. View was fine, mostly of fast food places but you could see the ocean in the distance. Breakfast was the typical highly processed stuff but they had hard boiled eggs and some bananas/apples. Coffee was above average! Staff was very nice at check in and in the eating area. Room was large and there was a jetted tub although it was so noisy that we didn't use it so we didn't disturb anyone around us. It is right on PCH but we just slept with the A/C and fan on so traffic noise wasn't an issue. We would stay here again with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dagasteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the review and for recognizing the value the Marina Shores Hotel offers. We may not be perfect, but as you said, "a step above."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel is in excellent condition and very clean. Staff is terrible/ lack of customer service. Loud hotel guests. Breakfast is barely edible. You decide if you want to stay in a clean hotel and just not get any sleep and eat a horrible breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
I'm sincerely sorry to hear how unpleasant your stay was. I cannot apologize enough for the staff issues although you didn't specify which department you had problems with. Our goal is always to provide friendly and efficient service. The breakfast selections will always be somewhat limited because we don't have a full service restaurant, but what we offer is prepared fresh every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay there. The people all were extremely nice and accommodating.We were there for the Laguna Arts Festival which we go to every year. Dana Point is a great location and the Best Western Hotel there couldn't have been a greater place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tina705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
"Tina"

Thank you so much for the kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores Hotel. Hope to see you back next year for the Arts Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Room was clean but A/C was useless-it blew under the desk so the entire Jr. Suite was hot. We arrived early and waited close to an hour to check in. It wasn't until a Spanish speaking cleark spoke to the maids that we got checked in, the other lady just kept saying she didn't know what the hold up was. The bed was comfortable but the room was hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I'm sincerely sorry that you weren't able to get an early check-in. During the summer months when the hotel is running full, it is challenging to get rooms ready before our posted 3:00pm check-in time. It all depends on whether or not we have guests that leave well before check-out time.

We admit that this summer has been unseasonably hot and it has been difficult to get the rooms to a comfortable temperature. I'm sorry for your discomfort during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland,MA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Best Western is a excellent place to stay. In this hotel you should expect friendly personal, Quiet environment, knowledgeable desk officers, nice choice of TV programs, convenient location, high quality of breakfast. Thank you excellent service providers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arkadiy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
You are QUITE welcome ... this is just what we're looking to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

It wasn't a "bad" place to stay but I expected more. The service was friendly. The location was ok yet noisy being right on PCH. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge which I do appreciate but there was an old musty smell
which I can't get past. For the price, I expected a little more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I'm very surprised to hear this ... we just underwent a full renovation just last year so there is no reason you should have picked up any kind of a musty smell. I'm not questioning your senses, I'm just surprised. The Marina Shores Hotel even won an award this year for our outstanding housekeeping and room cleanliness. For whatever the reason, please accept my apologies. This was a very surprising comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
387 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing