We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is the last hotel we stayed in on our Pacific Coast trip. I love Dana Point and this hotel was really great.
The room was huge. Living room with TV, bedroom with TV, ocean view from our room. We got breakfast at a local restaurant the next morning and decided to check the "morning breakfast" the hotel offers thinking it was the typical coffee and muffins. We were surprised to see they had eggs, ham, pancakes, bagels, juices, coffees, fresh fruit. The next day we ended up eating at the hotel, so this is another bonus here.
The room was very reasonable and you get alot for what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakesbyroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you remember us the next time you decide to visit the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights. Was a great suite as 3 of us traveled together was nice to have the living room to retreat to while others slept. The jet tub was a dream after a long day at the San Diego Wild Safari Park. This room was very comfortable and the people at the desk were very friendly and informative. Also liked that the breakfast changes what they server for the meat and eggs each morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Our jetted tubs are just one of the pleasant surprises our guests discover the first time they stay with us. Even though San Diego is 60 miles away, many people find us such an exceptional value that staying here is worth the drive. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very clean hotel with a very helpful staff. The beach is close by adjacent to a beautiful park. It is right on the highway so if you want to not hear cars at all just request the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived very late from LAX and were happily greeted by energetic staff members, claiming they were "waiting for us" -- a lovely welcome after a 5 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour drive!

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Captain Dave's Whale Watch, as well as the online photographs of the room and hotel exterior, which appeared to be quite nice for the quoted price. We certainly were not disappointed. Our two room suite was immaculate with a nice balcony overlooking the town from which we were able to see a bit of the ocean vista. We were in Dana Point less than 15 hours, however, we loved the area and wished we had stayed longer.

Tip for families visiting SoCal -- Ocean County is simply gorgeous, it's residents are friendly and helpful, and our experience there was far superior in every way to our two-day stay at it's LA neighbor up north. After spending time in both areas, I would recommend staying in OC and visiting LA for the day. Our tour of Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Venice Beach, and the Sunset Strip literally took less than a day, and at the end of it we regretted the two nights in LA and wished we had stayed an extra night in OC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Of COURSE we were waiting for you!

Wonderful travelers' tip by the way. Navigating the traffic between LA and Orange County might be a bit of a challenge but the more relaxing pace of the OC makes it worthwhile. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A hop, skip and jump from Doheny beach. Great fast food restaurants close for three hungry teenagers. Great lounge areas on each floor to go and read or just sit and reflect. Delicious hot breakfasts free with room. Wonderful staff! Value, value, value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Judith G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

You said it all. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stay at Best Western hotels all the time and this hotel was to the standard of others that I have resided in for business. They went out of their way to make my family comfortable. Although, we had key card difficulties a couple of times, they immediately took care of the problem. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the key card issues but it sounds like everything else went great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We recently stayed here for a friend's wedding which also happened to be our anniversary. My parents surprised us with champagne, food, and dessert. The manager Peter went above and beyond to arrange this special gift and made our stay very memorable. The rooms are really nice and couldn't be a better location. We had an amazing time and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

It was our pleasure to work with your mom to make your stay extra memorable. Please accept our congratulations on your wedding anniversary and we wish you both many happy years ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
124.3 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £86 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing