We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Clean and updated decor, excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value! Clean and updated decor, excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent affordable place to stay....very comfortable bed, and friendly, helpful staff. The only downside is the breakfast. Although a full breakfast, the eggs were not the greatest, and the layout of the serving area was poor and inefficient. With their improvement with this one factor, I would call this place excellent! I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We appreciate the great review and we are working on the breakfast issues. On weekends, we have started opeing up our meeting room as a secondary dining room and hope that will help relieve some of the morning traffic problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    164
    67
    12
    2
See reviews for
217
176
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Breakfast consists of processed eggs, pancakes with little fresh items. Even the juice is reconstituted and strong. If there's something wrong with your plumbing, don't expect it to be fixed - should just ask for another room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Unfortunately I didn't get to speak to you directly until after you posted this review. We want all Trip Advisor readers to know that we apologized to you personally for our maintenance dept dropping the ball on your service request and that we compensated you to your satisfaction for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Was not sure what to expect because it was very reasonably priced where most were much higher. When we tried to book our family vacation so late, we could not find any hotels to stay in the area but we stumbled upon this one. Located perfectly and newly renovated rooms made this a big hit with the family!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I guess we can say that sometimes things AREN'T too good to be true! Thank you for the testimonial that proves the Marina Shores Hotel is the best value on the beach. Spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is the last hotel we stayed in on our Pacific Coast trip. I love Dana Point and this hotel was really great.
The room was huge. Living room with TV, bedroom with TV, ocean view from our room. We got breakfast at a local restaurant the next morning and decided to check the "morning breakfast" the hotel offers thinking it was the typical coffee and muffins. We were surprised to see they had eggs, ham, pancakes, bagels, juices, coffees, fresh fruit. The next day we ended up eating at the hotel, so this is another bonus here.
The room was very reasonable and you get alot for what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakesbyroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you remember us the next time you decide to visit the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights. Was a great suite as 3 of us traveled together was nice to have the living room to retreat to while others slept. The jet tub was a dream after a long day at the San Diego Wild Safari Park. This room was very comfortable and the people at the desk were very friendly and informative. Also liked that the breakfast changes what they server for the meat and eggs each morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Our jetted tubs are just one of the pleasant surprises our guests discover the first time they stay with us. Even though San Diego is 60 miles away, many people find us such an exceptional value that staying here is worth the drive. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very clean hotel with a very helpful staff. The beach is close by adjacent to a beautiful park. It is right on the highway so if you want to not hear cars at all just request the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived very late from LAX and were happily greeted by energetic staff members, claiming they were "waiting for us" -- a lovely welcome after a 5 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour drive!

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Captain Dave's Whale Watch, as well as the online photographs of the room and hotel exterior, which appeared to be quite nice for the quoted price. We certainly were not disappointed. Our two room suite was immaculate with a nice balcony overlooking the town from which we were able to see a bit of the ocean vista. We were in Dana Point less than 15 hours, however, we loved the area and wished we had stayed longer.

Tip for families visiting SoCal -- Ocean County is simply gorgeous, it's residents are friendly and helpful, and our experience there was far superior in every way to our two-day stay at it's LA neighbor up north. After spending time in both areas, I would recommend staying in OC and visiting LA for the day. Our tour of Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Venice Beach, and the Sunset Strip literally took less than a day, and at the end of it we regretted the two nights in LA and wished we had stayed an extra night in OC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Of COURSE we were waiting for you!

Wonderful travelers' tip by the way. Navigating the traffic between LA and Orange County might be a bit of a challenge but the more relaxing pace of the OC makes it worthwhile. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing