We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Decent hotel right across the street from the Dana Point Harbor where there are several good restaurants, and of course the views of the ocean. Staff was very helpful and beds comfortable. I like the convenience of the location and thought the rooms were well done. I didn't get to use the pool, but noticed a lot of families taking advantage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_Di2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay. You hit just about all of the key features of what makes the Marina Shores Hotel and Dana Point a great destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice Hotel, but nothing special. It's old and well taken care of, but it's old. Bathrooms are small.Hideaway bed is old and creaky. Regular beds are nice. A fan in the living room would be nice. Would probably save on air conditioning. It's old!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

When we renovated the hotel in 2012 we made a very focused effort to maintain the historical integrity and feel of the building - from refinishing the travertine and marble floors in the public areas to installing crown moldings in every hallway and guest room. It is strictly a matter of personal taste so I am in no way challenging your opinion. Every item in our guest rooms was replaced (including the sofa beds) as part of the renovation and we truly believe that for comfort and value we hold our own with any hotel in Dana Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location is great; close to the beach and a few small bars and some restaurants. We had room 101, which was fabulous! The bathroom had 2 vanities, 1 Jacuzzi tub, a standing shower and the toilet... this was the size of some hotel rooms! The bed and pillows were comfortable too. The pool is incredibly small, only 4 chairs for people to relax, and overlooking the busy main street so that was a disappointment. If you go out at night, it's hard to find parking too. Breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly. All in all, a good hotel except for the pool area.

Room Tip: Room 101 had the huge bathroom (not all do), but be prepared for some noise because it's close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegailnSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for pointing out all the plusses to our whirlpool suites. They certainly do add a touch of luxury to an affordable stay. Those and our two room suites with balconies overlooking the bustle of PCH are our most popular offerings.

We admit that our pool is somewhat smaller than what some travelers expect, but with Doheny State Beach just two blocks away, it seems that most of our guests spend their time in the sand and surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is our second trip to this hotel since 2011. It used to be a Holiday Inn Express, now a Best Western premier. Diane, Alex and the rest of the staff from the ladies who made up the rooms, to the ladies serving the free breakfast made our stay GREAT. The staff was always helpful and the location is beautiful a few minutes from the harbor. close to several nice restaurants and shops. The change in ownership also freshened the décor and added a whirpool as well. Price is reasonable and I would definitely stay there again. If your going to D.P. please do yourself a favor and stay with the Wonderful people at the B.W.M.P.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geneg855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review ... Diane, Alex and the rest of the staff really appreciate the kudos. Because so many people make their travel decisions based on these reviews, I have to clarify a couple of things you wrote, just so no one gets the wrong impression of the hotel. We are a Best Western Plus, not a Premier, but it's great that we made such an impression that you assumed we were the highest tier in the Best Western family. Also, there was no change in ownership. The owners of the hotel invested a million and a half dollars in renovating the property last year and rebranded with Best Western. Lastly, I assume you reserved one of our whirlpool suites - yes they are beautiful and ohhh so comfortable! There is no whirlpool that is open to all our guests and I'm only saying that because the review might be interpreted by some readers to sound like we do. We have eight gorgeous suites with two-person whirlpool tubs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 8 days at the beginning of September and were very pleased with it. The staff were friendly and helpful - particularly Krista! The breakfast was always well stocked and there was a great variety of food to choose from ( I must get one of those pancake making machines!!) It was an ideal location within walking distance to Dana Point harbour and Doheny Beach. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoodycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Krista asked me to pass on her thanks and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we have done a lot of traveling in the US and we had an absolutely great experience at this hotel. Room was excellent, service was top-notch and overall experience was very, very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jena P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We do our best to provide the exceptional service you mentioned to everyone who passes through our doors. It's a beautiful property in a great location. Thank you again for passing on the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The hotel was within walking distance to the event I was participating in as a vendor (Brown's English Toffee). The rooms were quiet, the breakfast was good. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank BrownsEnglishToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
383 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £81 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing