We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$129
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$608
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
380
195
86
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
195
86
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinejack in the boxking suiteblues festivaljacuzzi tubwithin walking distancethe breakfast areafree breakfastroom was clean and comfortableroad noisegreat place to stayyogurtconvenient locationwould stay againparking feedoheny beachvery nice hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This past week we had the opportunity to experience first class treatment from Leslie and the staff at best western marina shores in Dana point. They were attentive and always had a smile. The hotel had been renovated and upgraded in the past year. It shows in the rooms bathrooms everywhere.
The hotel rate is reasonable and comes with breakfast. Its also very close to the beach and surrounded with restaurants. I know where I will be staying the next time around. The Best Western Marina Shores for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roopa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Like I said to Harshal in the earlier review, it was the committed involvement and communication during the planning and coordinating stages that allowed us to service your wedding group so flawlessly. You were wonderful people to work with and it was truly a pleasure to be a part of your wedding experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

First it is pet friendly but there is a $20 fee per night for your pet. There is a $10 nightly parking fee but if you are a senior and a member of AARP it is waived. In a great location on Pacific Coast Highway and near the marina. Breakfast buffet was a step up from the norm with eggs and potatos and a meat. Hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. Had a coffee maker and a college size refrigerator. Bathroom is a little tight but everything was clean and appeared new A year ago this was the Holiday Express and it appears a lot has been upgraded. Bed was great and climate control was good. If you are going to stay in the Dana Point area I would highly recommend staying here. They even have a lower level for parking and an elevator to take you to your floor.

Room Tip: Front rooms face highway and back although not scenic appeared quieter so go for back rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out the improvements since our property-wide renovations. We love our senior citizen visitors and are happy to pass on the savings of discounted room rates and free parking. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Where to even begin?? My (now) wife and I just had our destination wedding at the Ritz-Carlton in Dana Point this past Saturday and we setup a block of rooms there and at the Best Western to allow our guests to choose whichever place they wished to stay. Though the Best Western was obviously a cheaper option, it was no less fantastic in every way! I came into town on Wednesday along with most of my immediate family and so we stayed at the Best Western until the day before the wedding. Leslie (the Sales & Marketing Director) graciously allowed us to use one of the hotels business conference rooms for a religious ceremony which took place on Thursday afternoon. The breakfast (included with our rate) was delicious, the rooms were impeccably clean, the maids were attentive and came to service our rooms by 11am each day and the rest of the staff were tremendously friendly, helpful and respectful to each of our guests (you can imagine that a crowd of people coming from Toronto are going to know very little about the surrounding area in Dana Point, but the staff helped guide people all weekend!). In addition, there were some fantastic restaurants that were just a short walk away. Overall, my wedding week was perfect and the Best Western played no small role in ensuring that the guests who stayed there had a great time as well.

For anyone who is visiting Dana Point, I highly recommend staying here. It's in a great location within the city, the rates are very affordable, the staff is friendly and your sleep will be comfortable. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We're so glad that your wedding was such a huge success and that the Marina Shores Hotel played such a key part. Giving credit where credit is due, the secret to servicing a group as large as yours lies in communication and we appreciate how closely you worked with us in setting everything up in advance. Even before you posted this review, Leslie raved about how wonderful you were to work with.

Congratulations on your marriage and we all wish you and your bride many years of happiness ... and of course great memories of this once in a lifetime event and the role we had the honor of playing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here in October. Got a great room rate as we booked way in advance. Could not get our room serviced every day even though we put the sign on the door. When we asked about it, Alex M. at the front desk said that the reason was because we got such a great room rate, our room would not get serviced every day. We were lucky if we had the room cleaned every other day, most of the time it was every third day. We had to make a bar of soap last for a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank FearsomeInlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Please accept my deepest apologies for the service issues you experienced during your stay. Due to a clerical error, your room was listed as a weekly rate which allowed for housekeeping service every other day. The issue has been reviewed with the desk staff and they wanted me to pass along their regrets for the mistake. The Marina Shores has built our reputation on having extremely clean rooms in addition to a very friendly and accommodating staff, so an oversight like this hits to the core of our service philosophy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for one night last month and found the hotel and the room to be more than we had anticipated. The bathroom was unbelievable with steps up to the tub and a separate make-up area complete with lighted mirror and a television. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and suggested a restaurant within walking distance that was fabulous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandlovers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Sounds like we upgraded you to one of our King Whirlpool Suites ... a little piece of affordable heaven in the midst of an expensive tourism area, wouldn't you say? Glad you enjoyed your stay. Make sure to tell your friends - the Marina Shores is a great value and a great facility for anyone traveling to Dana Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews