We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, United States
1 review
“New Years”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went for New Years. The hotel was very conveniently located to Dana Point Harbor. It was an easy walk to the harbor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The beds were very comfortable. Did hear some traffic from PCH but was not disturbing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
It was a pleasure to serve as your getaway for New Year's Eve and we're happy you found the accommodations and staff of the Marina Shores to your liking. The Pacific Coast Highway (PCH to the locals) is noted for it's "colorful" traffic - sometimes the noise of the nightlife and excitement gets a little loud, but to most people, that's all part of the charm.

Please accept our best wishes for a wonderful new year and we hope to see you back next New Year's Eve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    165
    69
    13
    2
See reviews for
220
179
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My favorite California coast hotel - easy to get to Anaheim for Disney, San Diego for Sea World/Zoo/Museums. Nice interiors. great morning breakfasts, superior employees, comfortable rooms for families or cozy couples retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SAMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Jill! Thank you so much for your great comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores Hotel. You happened to mention one thing that I think is very important when people are traveling to south Orange County and that's our central location to Disney and San Diego. Vacationers have no idea how much money they can save by staying in Dana Point (at the Marina Shores of course!) and then making the short 45 minute drive to all the attractions. They would spend at least twice as much to stay in Anaheim and San Diego, plus all the hassle of checking out of one city and checking in at the other if they plan on seeing the sights at both.

Dana Point truly has it all when you look at our location in relation to the attractions in Orange County and then add in our beautiful beaches, the marina and all the great restaurants. Great call Jill and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Terrific place in Dana Point, close to everything. Staff gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants....where the locals go for good food, service and fun ...Check out Salt Creek Grille. Will definitely be back! A sharp Best Western Plus that is very well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mbroon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay - not only here but exploring all the jewels of Dana Point. Look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with a four day stay in Dana Point . Received an upgraded room that included a living room, wet bar and whirlpool tub with a partial ocean view in a lovely hotel. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was very pleasant - always a smile on their face. Breakfast hot entree was different each day - a nice change from other hotels. Nicely located with excellent restaurants of all price ranges nearby. The Harbor Grill is one of our favorites. Thank you BW Plus Marina Shores for making our anniversary trip pleasant and problem free. We'll defintely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank two4theroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
It was our pleasure to be a part of your landmark anniversary celebration. Whenever a hotel becomes part of someone's beautiful memories it reminds all of us on staff why we got into this business in the first place. Just don't wait another 45 years to pay us a visit! Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently spent two nights at this lovely Best Western while visiting family in the area. The hotel is very nice and in a good location. We were in a studio suite on the second floor which had a balcony. Although it isn't considered an ocean view room by any means, I thought the view was very nice as we could see a pretty good glimpse of the shoreline from our balcony. Many of the rooms have interior entrance, but the room type we had has an outside entrance. The staff is great at this hotel and the breakfast was far above average. As mentioned the parking fee is waived if you are an AARP member. They are pet friendly, although it isn't real convenient for walking your pet...there isn't any grass area but most of the hotels in this area would be the same.

We had a very good experience at this Best Western and will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We love our pets and we love our seniors ... you are all part of the Marina Shores family. So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This past week we had the opportunity to experience first class treatment from Leslie and the staff at best western marina shores in Dana point. They were attentive and always had a smile. The hotel had been renovated and upgraded in the past year. It shows in the rooms bathrooms everywhere.
The hotel rate is reasonable and comes with breakfast. Its also very close to the beach and surrounded with restaurants. I know where I will be staying the next time around. The Best Western Marina Shores for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Like I said to Harshal in the earlier review, it was the committed involvement and communication during the planning and coordinating stages that allowed us to service your wedding group so flawlessly. You were wonderful people to work with and it was truly a pleasure to be a part of your wedding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
318 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

First it is pet friendly but there is a $20 fee per night for your pet. There is a $10 nightly parking fee but if you are a senior and a member of AARP it is waived. In a great location on Pacific Coast Highway and near the marina. Breakfast buffet was a step up from the norm with eggs and potatos and a meat. Hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. Had a coffee maker and a college size refrigerator. Bathroom is a little tight but everything was clean and appeared new A year ago this was the Holiday Express and it appears a lot has been upgraded. Bed was great and climate control was good. If you are going to stay in the Dana Point area I would highly recommend staying here. They even have a lower level for parking and an elevator to take you to your floor.

Room Tip: Front rooms face highway and back although not scenic appeared quieter so go for back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out the improvements since our property-wide renovations. We love our senior citizen visitors and are happy to pass on the savings of discounted room rates and free parking. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing