We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL FOR 3 NIGHTS OR LESS ONLY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL FOR 3 NIGHTS OR LESS ONLY”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is not a bad hotel to stay at for only a couple of nights. The location is good, you need a car though to drive you to the restaurants near the water with views. The parking is only $10 per night which is a lot cheaper than most 4 to 5 star hotels in the area. I do feel that the parking fee should be waived. Some Best Western hotels offer free parking, others do not. The Best Western brand should keep it consistent. Breakfast was okay. I don't think real eggs were used or sausages either. They did not taste like the real stuff you eat from at your local weekend diner. Given the price paid for our stay here, breakfast was included in the rate, having said that, if you feel that a really good breakfast should be the most important start to your day, there are a few breakfast eateries near the hotel you can try out. The Best Western PLUS Marina Shores Hotel in Dana Point is a nice little hotel to stay at to explore Dana Point, it's not a luxury hotel like the Ritz Carlton. I did enjoy my stay here, as long as you have a car that can take you places. The price for a night's stay here is very affordable and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank owl33038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for the review. I just want to clarify for you - and other readers - that all Best Westerns are independently owned and operated. Some have full service restaurants, some serve the "breakfast on the go" type like we do.

The parking is a resort area thing. Many of the hotels charge for parking (and much more than we do,) plus they have resort fees or other service charges on top of the room rate. We strive to be competitive - to provide the cleanest and most comfortable accommodations at the best price in the area. We charge only for the room and parking ... although I will add that seniors staying on the AARP rate get their parking for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    168
    77
    13
    4
See reviews for
230
188
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I would stay again. Very nice and quiet hotel. very clean, good decor. Front desk offered a free upgrade to a suite. hotel was very open. Pool was heated and clean. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. Great Hotel at a Great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi David! Thanks for making the Marina Shores your choice in Dana Point. Hope we see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I recently spent 2 nights here and enjoyed it. Some of the rooms in the back of the hotel have more of a motel feel to them with exterior entrances. My room was in an interior corridor and was fairly quiet. The room furnishings are nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast offerings were good and the front desk people were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre-Dame-de-l'Ile-Perrot, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband & I just had a mini-vacation, at the end of my husband's business trip in the area. The hotel is great! Absolutely the best value for the money. I can honestly say that the beds (and pillows) are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on!!
I would not hesitate to stay there again, if I'm lucky enough to travel to the area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDIP_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Isn't it wonderful when a business trip can turn into a vacation too? We're happy that we were able to be a part of your Southern California experience. I noticed you're from Canada. Don't wait for the next Artic Vortex to pay us a visit, eh? (smiling!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If your 5 5ay work week seems like a 10 day work week, then this hotel has exactly what you need when you are looking for a place to "decompress" or you need an "Adult Timeout". The property lends itself to an florida type setting with palms lining the front wall and spiraling staircase that is a photoshot attraction by itself! and the views on the ther floor of the pacific ocean which are just 3 minutes driving distance and blend perfectly together when it comes to beautiful sunsets and gentle breezes that help us forget how long it took us to get to this hotel.

Absolutely the best suites i have been it so far! they had everything, i was trying to find a reason to extend my stay, and my timeout was over, but We will be back it is on our regular list of places to go throughout the year.

If working hard for your money is work something, it will surely pay off when you spend the night at this Best Western Property.

Room Tip: 3rd floors have higher views #332, #334, #336 are good rooms they have a perfect view of pacific oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi Don! With all the reviews people see posted here, you brought out a point that is very often overlooked. Aside from the standard things people talk about - a comfortable bed, a hot breakfast, friendly staff, etc - there is a psychological comfort that you don't always find when traveling. I'm talking about that "home away from home" feel. When all the elements of a really good hotel experience come together and you find yourself thinking "I don't want to leave" ... well that's the highest compliment a guest could ever pay us.

Thank you for noticing and sharing the insight with your fellow travelers. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was the nicest best western I have ever been in. Great value for your money, extremely clean and nice. Located on a very busy street and not an easy walk to beach or harbor. We walked a few times but wound up having to get a taxi. Traffic was crazy and not easy to navigate. If you have a car this is an awesome place to be but if you are on foot or bicycle you might want to stay at a different location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi James and Happy New Year to you! Wow! "The nicest Best Western you've ever been in." That is quite an honor and we're very proud to have earned your recognition.

Walking distance to the harbor is a very subjective term. It's about 10 or 15 minutes depending on your pace and the traffic. It also depends on the time of year. It's alot more pleasant to take that walk during the summer. Even if our guests choose to take a taxi, you still get the convenience of being close to everything without paying an on-the-beach price.

Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went for New Years. The hotel was very conveniently located to Dana Point Harbor. It was an easy walk to the harbor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The beds were very comfortable. Did hear some traffic from PCH but was not disturbing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
It was a pleasure to serve as your getaway for New Year's Eve and we're happy you found the accommodations and staff of the Marina Shores to your liking. The Pacific Coast Highway (PCH to the locals) is noted for it's "colorful" traffic - sometimes the noise of the nightlife and excitement gets a little loud, but to most people, that's all part of the charm.

Please accept our best wishes for a wonderful new year and we hope to see you back next New Year's Eve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing