We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Nipomo, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Easy to get to very comfortable room bed has pillow top mattress a huge tub/spa. The pet friendly room is clean with no odor located on the ground floor. The staff will help you with any concerns at this property. The breakfast has many options not just a roll and coffee. This is my second stay at this property it is a good south orange county location the price is very reasonable,no linens to wash or beds to make just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Linda. We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for recognizing the staff for all they do. It's the people, not just the place that make for a great hotel stay and we are glad we were able to be a part of yours. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    168
    76
    13
    4
See reviews for
230
187
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pioneer, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Everything was perfect. Beautifully remodeled hotel. Jacuzzi tub was a big plus. The room was beautifully appointed and the size of the room was more than adequate. Location is close to the Marina and the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael19490_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Well Michael, "perfect" is always our goal and it sounds like we hit it out of the park for you. Thank you for the kind words and hope you remember us the next time you are in the SoCal beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRINCE GEORGE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent value for price for a 2-queen suite with wetbar. We received an upgrade as Best Western members The male receptionist at checkin was excellent directing my husband as he parked his Suburban with a Thule box on top into the enclosed parkade. We barely made clearance. The room was spotless with a lovely Jacuzzi tub and all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Truly glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty as a Best Western Rewards member and are happy you're a part of the Best Western family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed three nights so was able to take advantage of the internet three-night stay rate. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly and efficient, breakfast is standard but filling, and rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Paula! Glad you were able to take advantage of the three-night special offered by Best Western. Thank you for the great review and for spreading the word about Best Western's fantastic deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very clean - cleanest, nicest Best Western I've ever been to. We had a two room suite, which is a great value. Most hotels claim a two room suite, but this is an actual two room suite, with a real door and separate room, which is so convenient if you have a baby or toddler that still naps, etc. State beach is just a short walk from hotel. Beach has surfboards, boogie boards, etc. for rent for about $4/hour or something like that. Also, there are many restaurants and a few shops across the street or within walking distance. I would highly recommend this area and this hotel for family vacations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jessicasU459ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I'm humbled by your praises, but don't change a word! (smiling) Thank you for the great assessment of the Marina Shores. We take pride in the beautiful, clean accommodations we offer and there is no greater reward than when guests like you take notice. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here the night prior to taking ferry to Catalina. The location was perfect and the staff was very nice and helpful. They upgraded our family of 4 to a very comfortable suite. Since our ferry departure was at 9:50 it gave us time to enjoy a light breakfast. We will stay here again for our next Dana Point trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank blackdiamondgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a wonderful time on Catalina. We love giving people the free upgrades when we can, especially folks staying with us for the first time. It sounds like we were part of a great vacation memory and we look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I travel to regularly from New Zealand and have stayed at many hotels in SoCal. I always come back to the Dana Point Best Western though because it has such a great mix of what I look for in a hotel experience . . . quiet location, comfortable beds, great staff who always make you feel special, and good value. The location is great, right off the freeway, yet far enough away that you cannot hear it. Right across from the beach and close to a great array of nice restaurants. Top value, top marks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Xakan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It's so wonderful to see a review from one of our regular corporate business travelers. We're glad you've made the Marina Shores Hotel your location of choice whenever you come to Dana Point ... and hope to be serving you for many years to come. The whole front desk staff sends their best too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
401 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing