We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dana Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dana Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location in Dana Point. Friendly, helpful staff. Close to restaurants and excellent place to stay before catching the ferry to Catalina. Good breakfast. Great beds! Have stayed here before and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Loisvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Our three favorite words are "we'll be back!" So glad you enjoyed your stay. Tell your friends about our beautiful little getaway community, the convenience of the ferry to Catalina ... and of course about the value and comfort of the Marina Shores Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    164
    67
    12
    2
See reviews for
217
176
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

As a hospitality service consultant for over 30 years, my expectations are high. This property continues to provide 5 star service across the board. The staff is phenomenal; Housekeeping does a first class job; The rooms from suites to regular are all comfortable and a good nights sleep is guaranteed - No noise from the room next door and a quality mattress! The complimentary breakfast is a great way to start the day. I have stayed at the property for business as well as personal travel, and I will continue to make the Marina Shores my first choice!

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms provide more light during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
It's always such a joy to have you here and knowing that we consistently exceed your expectations across the board tells the staff and me that we are certainly doing something right. Thank you so much for the glowing review and we really look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I traveled to Dana Pt to attend a family event and was very pleased with the hotel. Nice location, close to the beach, large nicely-appointed rooms with comfortable beds and linens, nice bath products, quick internet, friendly staff and a good selection of breakfast items. Note that there is a $10/night parking fee; however we easily found near-by street parking. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KathleenB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kathleen, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay - not only at the Marina Shores, but in Dana Point as well. It's folks like you who are quickly exposing our beautiful harbor community as one of the best kept secrets on the Southern California coast. Spread the word and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great hotel - clean - even the standard room is above standard! Warm, helpful staff. Great location. Great value for the price. Also, they do not discriminate against people traveling with small, well behaved, and clean pets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for the great review, Esther. We would never think of separating our guests from their four-legged family members. Even though the hotel doesn't have a tremendous amount of outdoor space for pets to explore, there is a beautiful public park that is pet friendly at the top of the hill just behind us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We had a family event near Dana Point. This Best Western was reasonably priced, clean, and provided a great value. All of this at a prime location.

Loved the pool, morning breakfast, and proximity to everything Dana Point has to offer.

Management and housekeeping were friendly and attentive.

The property was well maintained, clean, and recently updated.

Parking was free and plentiful.

This hotel was a perfect fit as a base for our family events, visiting friends in Los Angeles, a day trip to Sea World in San Diego, and everything else the area has to offer.

We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hey Andy! Thank you for the great review and moreso, thank you for bringing out an excellent point for families vacationing in southern California. Many people come to SoCal and stay in the LA or Anaheim area for a few days to see all the attractions, then move to a hotel around San Diego to do some sightseeing there. By staying in Dana Point they would save the headache of moving from place to place - a perfect base as you put it - PLUS they would save alot of money over the hotels that are in the attractions backyard. Yes, there's a little bit of driving to hit all the points of interest, but the value and convenience of staying in one, centrally located area should outweigh all the extra money they would have to spend. FANTASTIC idea and thank you for sharing it with all your fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland Heights
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel has the perfect location off Highway 1 in Dana Point. The beach is just a few blocks away, within walking distance of the hotel. All the guest rooms have Wi-Fi access, refrigerator, coffee maker, and flat screen cable TV. There's also a jacuzzi tub. There is also a complimentary breakfast each morning. The view of the Pacific ocean is great. There is also a business center with fax and photocopying service. The rooms were very clean and the décor was great. I will stay again on my next trip to Dana Point. It is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
John, it sounds like you covered all our bases with your review. We're so glad to hear that you thought so highly of our hotel and that we contributed to a wonderful stay in Dana Point. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Close to Dana Point Harbor, restaurants, shops, etc. Reasonably priced for location. Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Located on Pacific Coast Highway. Had a room with a view on highway, yet surprisingly quiet. Good breakfast, covered fee parking on site. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CJDP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores and hope you had time to explore the harbor ... the food is incredbile and the little shops make for a unique afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing