We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$261
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$129
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$608
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$629
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
380
195
86
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
195
86
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinejack in the boxking suiteblues festivaljacuzzi tubwithin walking distancethe breakfast areafree breakfastroom was clean and comfortableroad noisegreat place to stayyogurtconvenient locationwould stay againparking feedoheny beachvery nice hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We came off a three day overnighter on an old fashioned tall ship with The Ocean Institute with a group of junior high and high school kids. We were dying for food and showers!
Check in was easy and the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Every room had a fridge and jetted tub. And we were able to get a roll away bed for a couple of rooms. Perhaps those are normal, expected amenities? The service, however, went beyond my expectations.
Based on the front desk's recommendation (Krista was fabulous!), we ordered food from The Asian Kitchen and were able to borrow the hotel breakfast eating area. This made a huge difference to our group! We were able to eat delicious food without going anywhere else. Perfect!
Plus, since we weren't able to get two of the roll away beds, Krista upgraded one room to a suite! We were able to all meet together in the suite for announcements, and we really appreciated that.
The pool was smaller than I expected, but the teens who still had the energy to swim still enjoyed it.
But more importantly (to the youth, at least) was that the hot breakfast in the morning was filling and delicious. Teenagers are hungry, and a good hotel breakfast was high on our need list. There were even gluten free options for those of us who can't eat the pancakes and toast. There was yogurt and milk, juices, eggs (and egg white omelette), fried potatoes and sausage patties.
I enthusiastically recommend this hotel for a clean, well- priced, comfortable place to stay, about a mile inland from the Dana Point Harbor (and The Ocean Institute).
We'll be staying here next year for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hey Valerie! It was an absolute pleasure serving you and all the kids from the George Mueller Academy. We deal with alot of youth groups at the Marina Shores Hotel - sports teams, field trips and so on - and I have to say that your crew was among the politest, most well-behaved I have ever had the privilege of meeting. We are all thrilled that the kids enjoyed their trip and we look forward to hosting you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is very nice and simple. Nothing fancy, but perfectly fine since most of the time in Dana Point we were enjoying the beach and restaurants around the area. The hotel is very comfortable and simple. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Even though I would have loved to have seen "wonderful" or "spectacular" in the review, Alexander DOES bring out a very valuable point for other travelers ... most of the people coming to Dana Point are coming for the beach, the restaurants, the shopping and all the attractions of Southern California so does it really make alot of sense to have a huge piece of your vacation budget tied up in the hotel you stay at? At the Marina Shores Hotel, we offer comfort, cleanliness and a real value when compared to our competition. We may not be the fanciest hotel in town, but we will give you the best bang for your buck. Good point Alexander and thanks for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good hotel with exception of moldy smell from air condition. I felt terrible the entire week I stayed in this hotel but I am also allergic to mold. My daughter complained of the smell the entire week as well. Other than that the hotel was good; good location and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Rachel. I know that we corresponded on your issue with the air conditioner after you checked out, so I'm assuming that you posted this review before we spoke. For other readers, after Rachel's party checked out and reported the odor issue to us, we immediately pulled the air conditioner and there was no trace of mold. There was a slight odor in the room which we think was caused by the high humidity during the week and the fact that we had just rewallpapered the room two days before her party arrived and there may have been a residual smell from the paste.

This brings out a very good point to share with all travelers. Whenever you check into a hotel, whether it's just for one night or even a week like Rachel's family, if there is anything about your accommodations that don't completely meet with your expectations, report it to the hotel management immediately so they have an opportunity to correct the matter for you. Please don't ever accept discomfort. That's not what you're paying for. While we make every effort to make sure all of our rooms are in perfect condition before a guest arrives, from time to time there will be unforeseen problems and a good hotelier will leap to the rescue to make sure you are 100% satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good beach hotel. Clean, with good beds. The pool is small , just for kids. Request a room on the back on the hotel not facing PCH if traffic noise bothers you. Try the pancake machine. The pancakes were very good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank ellend842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for your review Ellen and your advice to fellow travelers is very good. With the Marina Shores you get the best of both worlds .. on the front side you get a great view of the activity on the famous Pacific Coast Highway and on the back side you get peace and solitude. Good call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were a goup of 10 friends and used the conference room for a birthday event. Hotel was clean, lots of hot water, comfortable bed. The room had a king-size bed & a jacuzzi tub but felt a little cramped. Double pane windows kept most of the street noise away. Many good restaurants / bars close by & McDonald's across the street. Reasonable prices but $10 a day for parking in the sun with dripping air conditioning units in some places. Employees friendly but did not necessarily understand what I was asking for--i.e. got big bowls of ice instead of 4 ice buckets for chilled wine in conference room. Not bad, just not great. Harbor area very busy & large. Plan ahead for parking there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TravGal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Laura! I know we went over all your concerns already via personal email so I won't repeat everything here. I just want to mention how much I appreciate your pointing out the good parts of your visit and not dwelling on the few areas where our service didn't quite match your needs. We value all of our guests comments and opinions, so on the rare occasion where we drop the ball, it serves as a constructive learning experience and we can come back better than ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews