We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel & a great value”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is very clean & nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly. We had a standard king room that was very spacious & also included a refrigerator, coffee maker, whirlpool tub, & free breakfast! This hotel is located within walking distance from just about anything you would want to do in Dana Point. We had a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_eyesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for adding some great personal photographs to the Trip Advisor site. It's a wonderful addition to help travelers see the hotel through the eyes of other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    166
    72
    13
    3
See reviews for
224
182
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You get what you pay for. The rooms are quiet and relatively spacious. Not as close to the water as it seems. The pool is small and has limited area to lounge. Parking is tight so get in early to make sure you get a parking space. 1 very slow elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Santino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Excellent point - the Marina Shores IS an excellent choice for the budget concious traveler, but please, no stigmas of a "budget hotel." We offer a full, free, hot breakfast every morning, our pool may be small, but it IS heated and from the deck you get a nice view of the Pacific. Yes we are a block and a half off the ocean, but why pay up to twice as much for a hotel room just to save a couple of minutes on your walk to the beach? We have the amenities, we have the comforts and still maintain our reputation as the best value in tri-beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We came down for a baseball tournament and only needed one night. We looked at other hotels but they were really pricey because of the holiday weekend and oddly enough, was told they were all sold out at the military rate?? Really?? Of All weekends....4th of July weekend?? Anyway, we lucked out with this gym! This is in an excellent location, close to the beach (across the street basically), restaurants and access to the freeway. The staff and management were great. My BW platinum status was recognized and I was upgraded and had free parking. The hotel was very clean and presented well from the street. The room was great!! I had the suit so it's was almost like having two rooms. The furnishings were modern and clean, two 37" flat screens, air purifier and a cool balcony with ocean view. The bathroom had nice tile, deep Jacuzzi tub and even had bath salts to enjoy. Actually wish I had at least one more day to enjoy the room! Beds were very comfy and soft. Will definitely stay again if I'm visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ms05stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
It is truly an honor to provide accommodations for the men and women who serve our country in the armed forces. While it's true that most hotels will close out all their discounts (including military) during sellouts, at the Marina Shores, we can almost always make an exception for active military personnel who want to spend their leave with us. If we can't offer you a discount, we will most certainly offer you a free upgrade if there is one available. We appreciate your choosing the Marina Shores for your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have nothing but positive things to say about the Best Western in Dana Point. Admittedly, only stayed here for about 7 hours after transcontinental travel (prior to a Catalina trip), but the hotel was exceedingly clean, the room was spacious and comfortable enough, decent bathroom, and the property was well-taken-care of. Nice touches, like the better-than-average breakfast buffet, and lend-and-borrow reading library differentiate this property from other budget hotels. Also, the two staff-members we interacted with upon check-in and check-out were overly friendly, helpful and made this a pleasure.

I usually stay at 4+ star hotels, but for 1/2 the price of the nearby 4-stars, this hotel is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs_SMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
WOW! Even 4-star travelers like us! Hope you really enjoyed your trip to Catalina. Even though we only served you for seven hours, we're glad we made for a nice send off on the next leg of your vacation. Come back and stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our drive between LA and San Diego. The hotel was clean, staff polite and nice, and beds comfortable. We went whale watching at the state beach marina not far from the hotel and had a nice dinner. The hotel breakfast was good and the staff provided an excellent route to get to LA while avoiding most traffic. The PCH was a beautiful drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Jana! Glad you were able to squeeze in the whale watching trip while you were traveling from San Diego to LA. They are truly amazing and majestic creatures. We're also glad that you enjoyed your stopover at the Marina Shores. Thanks for the kind review and give your friends in Tennessee our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can't say enough great things about Leslie La Berge and her customer service. I recently booked a block of rooms at the hotel for my wedding guests. From start to finish, Leslie was professional, responsive, and courteous. She went above and beyond her duties to answer all my questions, help my guests reserve extra days, and always do so with a friendly attitude. The guests who spoke with her all commented on what a pleasure she was to work with. Leslie made the booking process so easy, and I am very grateful for that! Kudos to Leslie!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mary,

I will be sure to pass on your praises to Leslie. She is extremely dedicated to all her wedding groups so it's always great to hear of her success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are standard, but clean. Hallways wide, well lit. Breakfast options were sparse. The pool was small with only one table/4 chairs and 2 lounge chairs as options for those not swimming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jaqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on us Jaqui. I'm sorry you found our free breakfast limiting, but we do rotate the menu every day to give our guests some variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-2824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing