We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unhelpful concierge”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I am staying at this hotel memorial day weekend. I called the general number and asked to speak to the concierge, so that I could make Sunday brunch reservations, as well as book an appointment at the spa. I made the general assumption that it is the concierge department who makes these arrangements. Apparently, that is not the case at the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel. The guy who answered the phone at the concierge desk couldn't have been more unhelpful. When I stated why I was calling, he was like "Ok..." and seemed perplexed. Since he seemed so perplexed and wasn't saying any of usual "sure, what time would you like for Sunday brunch?...," I asked if he was the right person to help me with these requests. At which point, he said I should call the reservations department, as they help with all reservations, including spa and restaurants. Rather than seeming confused and unhelpful, he could have informed me of this without my prompting him, which was frustrating. Also, at most 5-star hotels, everyone, especially the concierge, is willing to help and make sure your requests are handled, even if it isn't in their job description. He just seemed unwilling and/or unable to make that effort. At least he was able to tell me the airport is 30-35 minutes from the hotel.

I hope my stay there is more pleasurable this conversation was.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaisonXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
We are so sorry to hear of your difficult experience prior to arriving to our resort. Of course
that saddens all of us. Please contact the Executive Office directly at (949) 240-2000 as soon
as possible and we will assist you immediately with all of your needs. Our highest mission at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel is for you to have a personal, memorable, flawless, and relaxing stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    412
    204
    111
    54
See reviews for
552
702
49
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I traveled to the Ritz Carlton Laguna to celebrate a friend's special birthday. The staff rolled out the red carpet for us and were completely accomodating. My friend received multiple drinks on the house for her birthday, along with a bottle of champagne waiting for her in her room. The hotel was immaculate, the staff professional and extremely curteous. It was a perfectly wonderful experience.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pinky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Happy Birthday to your friend! We enjoy celebrating birthdays with our guests. We hope this becomes an annual tradition! Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We are on day 2 of our 4 day Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel stay and have already had 2 meals "comped due to poor service. We didn't complain or throw a fit, just asked where our food and drinks were when over an hour had passed since we ordered poolside. This wouldn't be worth remarking on if it hadn't happened at dinner last night as well. It took over 2 hours to get our food...and our waiter offered free dessert without us having made any comment. The service recovery is well done, but having attended at "Service Excellence" training conducted by Ritz Carlton staff...I was really looking forward to experiencing their difference. They were giving advice to those of us in healthcare on how to inprove our patient experience.

Other than food service, all is excellent. Very clean, incredible location and scenery and today's weather is postcard perfect California coastline.

i

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dweems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for letting us know you experienced difficulties while with us. Our management staff will be reaching out to you personally for more detailed feedback. We want you to be completely satisfied with your visit and return to us in the future. Thank you for letting us respond to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

First off, the location of this hotel is simply gorgeous!!! Located on a cliff, the views of Laguna Beach, and north towards Dana Point are amazing. We didn't get to see a good sunset the week we stayed, but had the weather/clouds cooperated, I would imagine it'd be a great place to see one.

The room was simply fantastic. We had a King room on the 2nd floor, room 2050. It came with a partial view of the ocean, and looked out on a courtyard and a conference center. The room was great, very large, had most of the amenities, a very comfortable King bed, and a bathroom that was all marble, had his and her sinks, a decent shower and separate water closet. The rooms were ALWAYS clean, the housekeeping staff did a superb job. Turn down service each night as well.

The overall complex was gorgeous. Great views of the ocean and coast line. A very nice pool and hot tub area, and 2nd one being renovated for the summer crowd. It had a very nice restaurant with huge windows overlooking the ocean, and had a great outdoor bar with neat flame heaters, and a cozy/trendy setting to have evening drinks. The workout facility was AWESOME. Every machine you'd want, free weights, etc.all that overlooked the ocean. So you can work out and have a great view at the same time! I was here for 3 days for a conference, and 2 days for pleasure. The Conference facilities are great. Big meeting rooms, plenty of rooms for breakout sessions, and nice comfortable chairs. The projectors were very up to date, the audio equipment was also very modern and worked flawlessly. The food for bfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails was also exceptional. A great selection of dishes, and it was very tasty. The kitchen staff did a great job serving our group of 60+ people. If you received a piece of meat that was undercooked, the wait staff went out of their way to find a piece that suited your tastes. I have zero complaints about the conference facilities and would rate it amongst the best I've seen.

The staff at the hotel was amazing as well. Ritz Carlton has a reputation of exceptional customer service, and Laguna Niguel lived up to its reputation. Everyone was friendly and courteous, right down the maintenance guy, and the painter we encountered on our last day. The valet staff was prompt, friendly, courteous and hard working! When there was a back log during the evening dinner rushes, the staff was sprinting from car to car, doing their best to ensure you didn't wait too long. The front desk staff was always very courteous and more than helpful. Additionally the bell staff was phenomenal. Tim and Paul assisted w/ our luggage when we arrived and departed. Both were great with directions, showing us around the hotel, overly friendly, and just very pleasant to be around. Paul even put our luggage in our car, while we checked out and made a quick run to the business center and even waited for us to return. Just great!

If I had to come up with complaints, and I do have to try hard, I would say the #1 item would be my chief complaint with all Marriott properties, the $13/day charge for wireless internet. You can stay at a lowly Days Inn and get free wireless, but not at the Ritz where you pay $200-300/night? Seems petty to me. Also, the rooms don't come with a coffee maker and mini-fridge as you'd expect. However, they are available upon request, so its not an issue. Lastly, my girlfriend ordered the fish tacos at the pool-side cafe, and they were flavorless, and dry. For $27 and the Ritz name, we expected more! However, upon mention to the front desk staff, we were promptly refunded for the charge without even asking and without hassle. So again, I have no room to really complain.

I would definitely stay at this Ritz again if I find myself in Southern California, and would be willing to pay the premium to experience this property's charm, and exceptional customer service.

Room Tip: Request a 'high floor' room w/ view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted you experienced our service and facilities for both business and pleasure purposes during your recent visit. It is our highest mission that our business guests and our guests visiting us for leisure all experience the same excellent, precise, and warm service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to reach out to the Executive Office at any time for future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We just got back from four days at the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel and our stay was amazing in every way. Upon arrival, we were upgraded at no extra charge from a small suite with a garden view to an oceanview suite with an additional 400 square feet of space. The service was impeccable- every morning when we set out for an off-property activity, our car was waiting for us by the time we made it to the lobby and the valet was quick to offer directions, cold bottled water, fresh fruit and lollipops for our three children. The concierge recommended wonderful nearby restaurants that were both adult and child friendly. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for posting this wonderful review about your recent stay at our resort. We pride ourselves in providing personable and memorable experiences for all of our guests, including our smaller ones. We await your next visit. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I travel frequently, and have stayed in top hotels all over the world. From the valet parkers to housekeeping to the concierge, the service is amazing. Some shoutouts are in order. Thanks to Olga and Lucinda for working SO hard to arrange for wetsuits and surfboards. Nick and Joe - you guys we so friendly and helpful when it came to setting us up on the beach. To the nice people in housekeeping who brought me an entire bag of chocolates when my sweet tooth kicked in after dinner, thanks! And finally, to just about everyone who stopped to ask my family and me how our stay was.

Truly, I cannot even imagine a more service oriented hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobra_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for commending Olga, Lucinda, Nick, and Joe for their excellent service. They are stellar employees and we are very fortunate to have them on our team of fine ladies and gentlemen. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Earlier this month I booked a block of rooms for business colleagues who were visiting my company from Europe and the experience was excellent. The hotel was easy to work with and made all the arrangements to make my colleagues experience a smooth and pleasant one. The hotel staff facilitated weekend activities and managed transportation needs for my guests. The rooms were excellent and my colleagues were very comfortable. I booked a private room for a reception and a larger room for the lecture and both rooms were well staffed and professional. Although this hotel is often reviewed as a resort property, my experience with this hotel as an upper end business hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigBittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for sharing your conference experience. Our ladies and gentlemen pride themselves on providing excellent and memorable service to all of our valuable guests whether they visit for leisure or for business. We look forward to having your business again in the future and promise to provide you the same level of service each and every time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
742 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
740 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,432 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing