We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seaside resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Ritz Carlton at Laguna Niguel is a nice property that has the polish of a fine hotel. The hotel has a great setting (on the cliffs above the beach). The views are amazing and it is well worth a trip down the hill to the beach. The rooms had a great feel and the bathroom was a dream in white marble. Very nice property, we will be back. Make sure to head over to the charming town of San Jaun Capistrano (very close by car) to see the historic mission when you are here-it is beautiful.

Room Tip: upgrade to a ocean view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay here with our two small children. The hotel upgraded us to a coastal view and little sweet treats were in the room and at the restaurant for my birthday. They gave toys to the kids at the Raya restaurant. Staff is so kind and attentive and the grounds are great. The kids loved the pool, koi ponds, bunny rabbits that live in the garden and the view is just amazing. We all loved the convenience of the golf cart ride to the beach and butler service that sets up chairs and umbrellas. They even gave the kids toy pails and shovels to dig with. The only recommendation to the hotel is to add a restaurant for more casual dining...something in between the pool side cafe and Raya in terms of sophistication. We loved the food at Raya and the kids were treated so nicely there and ordered from the kids menu, but it was a bit too upscale of a restaurant in terms of having the kids in tow just for our own comfort level. This hotel is fabulous so this is a suggestion only to add more choices for on site dining! Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort! We enjoy catering to our smaller guests just as much as we do our others. We are delighted you have found a new home away from home and hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved the location and amenities of this hotel. Staff friendly. They will promise you everything you ask for, but doesn't happen. Requested no feathers before, during, and after check in. Had to call hk twice. Key didn't work, was stuck in hallway, no house phone to call, no cell service. Nowhere to buy ice cream or a candy bar after 9pm for the kids. Promised early check in when we called that morning and told room was ready, but had to wait 4 hours once we got there. Front desk offered to send up pizza restaurant menu which never arrived. Filled out survey after our trip, never got a reply.

Room Tip: Use Marriott Rewards account
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glouis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback. We value all of our guests' comments. They help us in our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and follow-through. We hope you will contact our office so we can secure all the details of your stay and ensure your complete satisfaction. It is our desire that we correct the incidents that took place and welcome you back in the future for a most memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

one of the reasons to pay about $600 a night is to play safe and be sure to get a great room. we have booked a room and arrived at 11:30pm. the room that we got (2001) was next to the elvator engine room. each time someone used the elvator the noise was terrible. they had no other room to give us and at midnight we have start traveling in search for another hotel. it should be expected from a ritz hotel not to have such room or at least let you know in advance. we will not come again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointing experience. This is certainly not the memory we intended for you to take with you. Please contact our office directly at your convenience so we may discuss your experience and ensure you are completely satisfied with the resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for a short beach vacation - amazing service from the moment we checked in, staff friendly, attentive and so helpful. The views are amazing and the grounds beautiful. It is so peaceful and staff ensure you are well taken care of . Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kildare2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for your simple and honest review of our resort, facilities, and service. You have found a new home, and we are eagerly awaiting your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is about an hour (give or take with traffic or not) from LAX at the top of a hill overlooking the beach and ocean. Surfers can be seen at all hours of daylight. I had a pool view, which was not as nice and the pool area was a bit noisy with children's activities until 10p on a Thursday night. The room is large and there is a balcony. The decor is very modern. Amenities include a flat screen TV and a DVD player, as well as wireless Internet service. Room service is quick and the food is good. There is a running trail with a lot of hills that starts at the hotel - a map may be provided by the concierge. The gym overlooks the ocean and has most of the equipment you would need. The lobby is beautifully decorated with fresh flowers in many different locations. I would suggest having a drink or lunch on the outside deck restaurant. There is a resort fee charge and parking is a bit steep at $25 per night.

Room Tip: request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

What a nice surprise to have photos posted of our guest rooms. Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon and visit 180blu again. We are very proud of our new outdoor lounge....no outdoor lounge has a better view! We will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, my wife and I were treated like the hotel's only guests. The associates took their time to welcome us back again and introduced us to the many new updated and upgraded areas of the hotel. Every staff member at the Ritz-Carlton always smiled and made us feel comfortable! Our guest room was spacious, clean, and filled with many amenities. Our view of the ocean as well as the hotel's grounds was astounding! The Ritz-Carlton is the perfect place for a getaway and reconnect time!
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel remains the standard that all the new hotels in the area strive to imitate! Bravo to all the staff at the Ritz-Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: We enjoy the ocean view rooms on the north side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VenturaDaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

We agree with you 100%! The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel IS the perfect place for a getaway and reconnect time! As you know, our staff prides themselves on excellent customer service surpassing all of our competition. It is our pleasure! We are excited to welcome you back to for your next getaway very soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
808 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
461 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,604 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £437 - £756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing