We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect... almost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect... almost.”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

It is so sad that the one thing that makes this hotel less than perfect is quite an important thing to most people. First off, let me say that this wonderful hotel is definitely worth the price. The ocean view room is spectacular with full ocean views and plenty of space in the bedroom and bathroom. We stayed on the club level and it is SUPERB. Everyone at the hotel is helpful and kind, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and taken care of. We are big believers in customer service and the service here is remarkable. The food, location, service, pools, beach, spa - literally everything - has been wonderful. We are seasoned travelers and always stay at upper echelon properties, and in our opinion, this hotel is the best place to stay in all of Southern California for a beach vacation. Here is the heartbreaking part... The hotel allows smoking on the patios of the rooms. Our stay was ruined when on the last day, a heavy smoker checked in to the room beneath us. Our room started to smell like an ashtray and we could no longer leave our patio door open. No longer being able to hear the sound of the crashing waves or enjoy the fresh sea breeze ruined my love affair with the Ritz. If you smoke, you obviously wont mind this. For the rest of us who like to breath air untainted by deathly cancerous poison, beware that you could end up paying a LOT of money and still be forced to forego all the benefits of being by the sea. Or be forced to inhale someone else's bad choices because smoking is allowed on the patios. If this were a fully non-smoking property, it could be a perfect place. Sadly, that is not yet the case. Many hotels are non-smoking and hopefully the Ritz will one day catch up. Again, everything else here is lovely and if the smoking thing doesn't bother you, then you will likely enjoy your stay. We would love to come back, but this might be the one thing that makes this almost perfect hotel, unbearable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelialocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we can certainly empathize with your frustration. Although we are a non-smoking facility, we can not forbid guests to smoke outside of the hotel. We are so sorry that this put a damper on your wonderful stay with us. Please let us know the next time you visit and we will do our very best to ensure you have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    396
    193
    102
    52
See reviews for
505
663
44
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

At Ritz you expect great service and we certainly got this.
Disappointed that the restaurant is more of a corridor and this needs to be looked at.
Expensive but its the Ritz. Great cocktail bat overlooking the Pacific but needs to be bigger...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozatmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your ideas. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We agree....we need more ocean front outdoor guest facilities. We are continuously brain storming ways to accomodate the large number of guests we serve every day. Our resort just celebrated its 27th year already! We have added numerous options for our guests and have more in the long range planning. We hope to never disappoint you or any of our valuable guests. Stay tuned for more additions and improvements. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Ocean views are amazing and the service is lovely and courteous. The hotel is not as well kept as it should be. There were stains on lobby furniture and on bathrobes. The water pressure in the shower was awful. The air conditioning was very loud. The pool area had a bad smell and the food quality was only okay. This is not what we expected at a five star resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lrose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We will ensure all of these issues have our urgent attention immediately. Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Third time over from the UK and as good as ever.
We had two adjacent rooms on the third floor with a pool view, and whilst not as nice as the last time we stayed view-wise, everything else about the rooms was great.
The breakfasts in Raya were excellent. All the staff extremely helpful, especially Lauren who fixed us up with some local info.
180Blu is a great new addition to when we stayed last. Great place for a digestif or just a beer whilst watching the sun go down.
I would rather the valet parking charges and restort fees didnt appear separately. They add up to a lot of $$$. That would be my only negative. the valet service was very good though. Some good guys, especially Orion.
So what if you have to WALK to the beach? The views are out of this world, and there is always the shuttle if you prefer.
We stayed a week, after three days at Disney and two days at the Beverly Wilshire. Some great restaurants around and we could have stayed alot longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DdB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We are delighted you have found a home away from home!! We greatly value your loyalty....thank you! We will be sure to share your nice comments with Orion and Lauren.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer visit this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

There are two things this place has going for it; excellent service and the ocean location.
It probably was worthy of a 5 star rating a few years ago but it is more of a 3 for the rooms.
I had an ocean view which was great but the room itself needed renovating. I decided to splurge and was expecting first class accommodations and was disappointed to see stains on the upholstery and on the worn out carpet, rusted AC vent in my room. The bath tub had rusted fixtures and the towels were worn, not the 'fluffy' white luxurious you get in most 5 stars. Oh.....you know what I mean!! I looked into checking out, but read my fine print and I had purchased a hotel/air package with Expedia non-refundable. I am more than willing to pay top dollar, but then It needs to meet expectation of a 5 star. The food was average, not bad, just nothing out of the ordinary and limited menu. I will say that their sea food is definitely FRESH. This hotel is VERY kid friendly and I mean
lots of little people running around everywhere screaming having fun! I think that is another thing they have going for them if that is what you are looking for. If you are looking for relaxation, peace and quiet, some self indulgent down time, you won't find it here! If you go to the spa and get a massage you will get an hour of it. :-) It's a beautiful property right on the ocean and the staff are super courteous, will go out of their way for you. I was getting invaded by flies at the beach, and they brought me a can of Off. I did eventually move...duh....to a spot closer to the water. I think this hotel relies on the 'Ritz' reputation, their great location and their great staff for the 5 Star rating, but its NOT! Whom ever reads this, I just want to reiterate, it IS a wonderful hotel, but if you have traveled a lot and stayed at some nice hotels, you probably will be disappointed and not find it worth the top dollar you pay.

Room Tip: Book a package with Expedia for ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEACHGOER60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It is our highest mission to ensure each of our guests enjoys the best possible experience whether they are big or small. We have an amazing kids program and extremely fortunate to partner with Jean Michel Cousteau with his exclusive Ambassadors of the Environment program - one of only three in the world! We are also very excited for our upcoming room renovation starting this fall. We will be enhancing our guest rooms and our public areas. It is going to be fantastic and we invite you back to experience the enhancements very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Let me preface my review with the fact that I personally have champagne tastes with a beer pocketbook. Staying at the Ritz for us was a real treat and not something we would typically indulge in. My wife and I stayed for just one night, as we had a wedding in Dana Point we were attending. Interestingly 7-8 years ago we won a one night stay at the Ritz at a silent auction and had never used it until this event. The rooms were little more expensive by the time we wanted to use our gift certificate but I didn't mind paying the additional $100 for a night at the Ritz. The property inside and out is beautiful and overlooks the ocean, we had one of their most inexpensive rooms which I think runs $600 a night, but the gift certificate took care of most of that expense. I was expecting a very pretentious experience, but was pleasantly suprised. I will describe it as comfortably Chic. Staff was friendly, courteous and eager to serve. The room although on the small side was comfortable, NO view of the ocean but tastefully appointed. My wife likes the big comfy terrycloth robes that some hotels provides their guests, suprisingly hers had a hole that in side that looked like it was just worn out and should have been discarded. Really no issues to complain about. Not that it was an issue, but we did see lots of families with lots of kids. Cocktails/appetizers in their bar were great, but pricey. We didn't eat a meal there although I would have liked to, Sunday Champagne brunch was $60 per person, and buffet breakfast was around $25 per person. Next to the hotel is a large park that also overlooks the ocean and plenty of open space to lounge around. We actually sparked up a couple of nice cigars and enjoyed the morning. I would love to come back and spend a couple of days if not a week, but need to sell some real estate first. Although short It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich45LongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. We hope to become your new home away from home. We offer many packages throughout the year that add great value. We encourage you to visit our website at ----- when you are planning your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here for my 40th birthday celebrations last year. Booked hotel via amex centurion which usually means you get special treatement at Ritz Carltons but not here. Check in staff did not seem to care- threw me a key and we were left to find our room. The room was ok- nothing special. Hotel was very full- and felt more like a wedding factory. Food was over priced and serivce was awful. NOT A RITZ CARLTON!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrlondon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for your honest comments. We greatly value all of our guests and are fortunate to be partners with American Express Centurion. We would like to discuss your stay with you further. Please contact the Executive Office at ----------------. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
653 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,268 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing