We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel in California!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The BEST hotel in California!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Pros: The view is absolutely stunning. They also have a variety of restaurants in the property, and you can also grab a quick bite at the market place. We stayed as a family for my dad's birthday and when we checked in, we got a free box of chocolates. Complimentary wifi, water bottles, yoga, and pilates classes. The staff was professional, we forgot our passports in the room safe, and they were very attentive and shipped it to us at our hotel in Beverly Hills. We loved how relaxing Dana Point was compared to staying in Beverly Hills. We will definitely be back!

Cons: The minibar was empty. There was a problem with my parents room, my mom mentioned that the bed smelled like pee on our first night, we brought the matter to the front desk agent, who apologized for what happened, and they discounted $200 out of our stay. We stayed for 3 nights but there was some inconsistency with housekeeping's turn down service, it was only done 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for all of your generous feedback. We want you to know that we listen and accept all guest feedback whether positive or negative. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to creating more memories for you in the future. If your schedule allows, please contact our Executive Office directly at (949) 240-2000 to further discuss your experiences. We would appreciate that very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    397
    194
    102
    52
See reviews for
509
666
44
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Positano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have been at the hotel last weekend with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. It was planned at the last minute but it worked great.
I tried to surprise her in all the way, from strawberry with chocolate in the room and champagne on arrival.
Dinner reservation at the restaurant and while we were having dinner petals of red roses in the room.
The hotel is great, very classy and elegant, we loved it. The restaurant was excellent too and the services at the pool was very good too.
The suite...mmm...nice but honestly a little outdated. This is only my personal point of view, there was everything in there, it was great, nice, accention to all the possible details...but honestly for 1250 USD a night I was expecting a little more....
The best past however was the staff.
I am in the tourism business and honestly, I raise my hat to all the workers there. If there were 6 stars to assign to the service I would have done it without thinking twice about it. Many hoteliers, restaurant managers, etc should just stay at this hotel to undertstand how a client should be treated.
Everybody was similing, saying Hi, for all the prepararions I had to do for the many surprises for my girlfriend all of the staff had to work in sync and they did an amazing job.
Great Job guy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenvenutoLimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Congratulations!! We loved having you here and are delighted all of our planning with you resulted in a flawless and memorable stay with us. We enjoy creating life long memories for our guests...thank you for the opportunity! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband & I greatly enjoyed two days at this beautiful place. From the time we arrived til we left, we felt like treasured guests. Each RC employee could not do enough for us - their desire to please is phenomenal!
Our room was on the first floor so we were able to walk out onto a patio which then led to a grassy area overlooking the ocean. It was the perfect location for a great view and access to the outside.
It was our anniversary so the staff presented us with chocolate and strawberries - a very nice touch! We had breakfast each morning in the oceanfront restaurant - what a way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
You ARE our treasured guest and you always will be! We are happy to hear that we created memories for you and we will continue to surprise and delight you on your future visits. Thank you for the opportunity to do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Recently stayed 6 days- room was spotless-with all the amenities one could imagine- gorgeous bathroom- housekeeping pays attention to all the details- turn down service excellent! Concierge services were on target ( especially Lucinda) great restaurants were suggested and they were excellent! Pam and Jesse in the main dining room provided prompt professional service! Food was delicious- served promptly and HOT!!!! Especially loved all the breakfast selections and the vegetarian meal created by the chef at dinner! The ocean views in the dining room are breathtaking! The pools are beautiful and kept well supplied with towels and ice water and attentive service by the pool staff for drinks and snacks. Enjoyed the spa- had an awesome massage by Allie. Car valet personnel were quick and friendly. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the service spot on! we will return!

Room Tip: had an ocean view room on the first floor- with a little patio to see the awesome sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenie12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are so glad you were able to experience the sunsets here...aren't they spectacular? Thank you for your detailed review. We will share your comments with the employees you mentioned. Our staff always enjoys reading such nice feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon so we may provide you with another exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A nice hotel, a little tucked away from the street. With a very small sign, so keep your eyes open. Beautiful view out the back to the cliffs and ocean. Rooms are nice, a 4-star standard; it's the little things that are missing or not carried out 100% that do not qualify it for 5 stars.
Same for the service, really nice people, but not 5 star. We were sitting with a large group on the grass overlooking the beach. Most people were already back in the meeting, but at 2 (out of 8) tables people were speaking. Nonetheless, the empty tables were cleared and wheeled off. Not very comfortable for the rest of us.
So all in all, beautiful location, good food, and good service - but that last bit to make it exceptional is missing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chape_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Indeed we have a fantastic location - like no other in Southern California. Our highest mission is to provide the level of service that ranks amongst the best in the world. We thank you for your feedback as we continue our quest for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is the second Ritz Carlton I've stayed in (Chicago was the first). I've learned a few things about the Ritz brand....

First, it's going to be an expensive stay. Second, the service will blow your mind. Third, you can't really go wrong with a Ritz. Fourth, I wish I had more money and could live in one.

The Laguna Niguel property is one of my favorite places I have ever stepped foot in. The grounds are incredible, there are tons of seating locations to hang out and grab a drink, the food is great, but the people are what takes it to another level. The service is RIDICULOUSLY good. They really live up to the Ritz Carlton name here.

The rooms are actually just ok and the soundproofing could use a lot of work (I should be able to get a better night's sleep at this price). Still, it speaks to how good the staff and the rest of the hotel is when I give it 5 stars without blinking. From the Caribbean to Goa, India, I've been to my share of resorts. This one might be my favorite. Now I just need to win the lottery and I can move in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwalia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We would love to have you move in with us! Thank you for your nice review of our resort. We will never let you down. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked a last minute trip here from the East Coast for a short vacation with our 6 yr. old. Here are a few important things to know:
1. While our travel agent said there was a kids club, there is NO MORE RITZ KIDS. The only thing they have are pricey environment classes for kids 5 and up which start at $80 for a 3 hr. class per child.
2. Get on the club floor if you can. It has very good service, a beautiful lounge, and food throughout the day (a nice breakfast, a light lunch, hors d'oeuvres and a dessert buffet.) If you like to drink, they have liquor and limited wine from late afternoon on.
3. Our suite had no internet and it took them almost 24 hrs. to get it to work. It was a pain to get fixed -- techs in our room, having to take our laptop to other rooms to check, etc. I felt like I was at home and having cable problems with Time Warner! The hotel did fix the main switch and issue us a $100 credit.
4. There are some important TECHNICAL glitches with the suites, which WERE NOT FIXED. IMPORTANTLY, there were 2 flat screen TV's in the suite, both facing the same way. Unfortunately, they both turned on and changed channels when you used the remote from the bedroom, even with the door closed! IT's ACTUALLY QUITE A PROBLEM, when someone in the bedroom wants to watch one program and someone in the living area wants the TV off, or wants to watch another program!.

Also, I have never stayed in a space with such complicated light switches! The switches are NOT intuitively placed, and it's hard to figure out what dimmer controls certain lights.

5. Catherine, a concierge on the club level, was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay on club floor (4th fl.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you very much for providing such valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate it. Feedback such as yours always helps us in making improvements and adjustments in our service and facilities where needed. We encourage you to reach out to our executive office at (949) 240-2000 to speak directly with our leadership team about your concerns. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
657 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing