We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$647
US$569
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$129
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,448)
Filter reviews
2,448 results
Traveller rating
1,596
441
223
126
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,596
441
223
126
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelthe ritz carltonraya restaurantmarket placeocean viewoutdoor barfire pitsalt creek beachbeautiful locationthe cliffviews are amazingfitness centersouthern californiawatch the sunsetbusiness meetingboogie boardsluxury hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,941 - 1,946 of 2,448 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I live in LA and had just come back from a trip with friends so we wanted to stay close on our anniversary but wanted something special. The Ritz was perfect! We have stayed in tons of amazing hotels and the service at the Ritz was exceptional. We stayed in an Ocean view room which was beautiful, the view was amazing. We then had lunch at 180 Blu. Mike was our server and he was fantastic! The white sangria was to die for and they even had very easily identifiable gluten free options which made my day (especially because the truffle fries were gluten free). After lunch we enjoyed some wine on our private patio, which was small but perfect for two people to sit out and enjoy the sunset and watch the surfers. Afterwards we had dinner at Raya, they had beautiful rose petals on our table in celebration of our anniversary and we had a fabulous meal there as well.
All in all it was the perfect stay, we didn't want to leave and we will forever stay at the Ritz!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of our property, offerings, service, and staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for each anniversary for years to come. We enjoy creating life long memories for our special guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and our children spent 4 days at the hotel in March, and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. The staff on the Club level are outstanding. The concierges, Kathryn and Colleen, are extremely helpful, provided exceptional service, and are very responsive to any requests or problems that we had. They gave great suggestions on things to do and places to eat at. Staying on the club level definitely elevated the enjoyment of our trip. We were able to relax, sleep in, and enjoy the sun and family time. Also, we enjoyed the yoga classes and used the fitness center daily. The fitness center was enjoyable to exercise in with the outstanding ocean views and equipment. The location of the hotel made it so easy for us to enjoy daily walks/runs on the beach. During this trip, we stayed in a garden view room and next time we will book an ocean view room. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrjca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Welcome to your new home away from home! We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and amazing surroundings. We strive to create memories for our younger guests as well and
are delighted your children had a great time as well. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My fiancee came home in a Saturday morning, and said he was going to take me somewhere as a surprise. He took me for an extended weekend to Ritz Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We stayed in a suite overlooking the gorgeous ocean, we watch the dolphins jumping during the sunset. The hotel gave us as a gift a cheese, fruits and wine in the afternoon. The open air restaurant is very elegant and romantic, we were able to walk down the stairs and walk on the beach to watch the surfers and birds. We had dinner at the Chart house, unforgettable experiences in dining and the best entertainment destinations around.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a south view to the ocean, quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marta1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Just the memories we were hoping you would take home with you! We look forward to creating more wonderful memories for you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I took an extended weekend to view some investment properties and selected the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel as my base of travel. In my 4 days, I found the amenities to be in line with a 5 star hotel and services that are casually responsive to almost anyone's wish. The restaurants are exact and elegant. My personal vehicle was unblemished and no extra miles indicating joy rides. I felt comfortable and was able to conduct business within the suite with room services. Security is ensured and my only negative is that a lady friend of a guest was scrutinized which was uncomfortable and awkward. Perhaps they should have assessed her demeanor and exquisite jewelry rather than her torn jeans, large sunglasses and sandals.

As for the suite, the elegance of the rooms does not compare to high end European hotels but the views are all first class. The furnishings are contemporary and nice materials with color coordinated staging. The showers I took gave me ideas that I should have triple row side jets put on mine to be better. Late night fire place and balcony drinks capped off each day. One of these days, I will have to get up early enough for breakfast without be rushed.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and reserve a suite with either an ocean view or pool view. Ocean view should be your first choice because the view is more in line with why you would stay in a hotel next to the beach. While in the hotel your IPad or notebook should be left on the cocktail table or left in the vehicle. Enjoy the views and peace that a nice hotel provides. Aloha!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahalofromafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your comments; and we agree that our view is spectacular! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel lived up to its reputation. Great service, amenities and an overall sharp looking property. However, I would not suggest this as a romantic getaway - as was our aim - but, great family vacation spot. The hotel's charm is partly offset by the magnitude of the property and the many conferences going on every day. Frankly, it is hard to unwind when suits with name tags are rampaging the property with cell phones.

The gym was magnificent, with top equipment and amazing ocean views. The restaurants were good, but perhaps some better options available off property.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at our resort. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and we hope you choose to visit us again perhaps during our slower season so you can fully unwind and relax. We look forward to welcoming you back and creating memories for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews