We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband & I stayed here for three days. It was amazing the customer service & the care that we received. I highly reccommend walking around the property. Beautiful flowers at every corner! Breakfast was divine!

Room Tip: Just ask for an ocean view - there are many to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbert282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We hope you have found a new home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    412
    204
    111
    54
See reviews for
553
704
49
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Fantastic beyond measure! 180 Blue is incredible. Go a bit before sunset to get a good seat etc. The taco's on Taco Tuesday are the bomb. Our room was spacious and overlooked the pool. An ocean view would be awesome. Either way you can't go wrong choosing this place. Hope to go again soon.

Room Tip: ocean view would be nice but $$ I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat_hooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for visiting our resort and 180blu. We agree...the view and the tacos are top notch! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Perhaps you can visit us during a slower period of lower occupancy and we will gladly upgrade you to a lovely view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had been told so many great things about this Ritz that we were just disappointed. The location is great and the views are beautiful but that is all this hotel offers. The pools are not overlooking the ocean. The open spaces with the view were so crowded that we ended up driving elsewhere. There were many parties and weddings go on and it was as if the party was in our room. The staff was polite but there was nothing to be done about the noise. I wish we had gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: You want to have a room with a view but not sure how to avoid the noise of people partying on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank missyandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry if you were inconvenienced by other visitors in any way throughout your stay. Our mission every day is to provide a relaxing and memorable stay for all of our guests no matter what the purpose of their visit may be. Please feel free to contact the Executive Office directly if we may assist you in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Awesome hotel. Awesome view of the beach. Excellent customer service and staff are all very personable. We will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort for your special occasion! We enjoyed celebrating with you and hope you took home some very fond memories. Can we make this an annual tradition? We look forward to welcoming you back for another spectacular visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

You can't talk about this resort without mentioning (or starting with) the beautiful setting. Perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean the resort is built around beautiful views. The resort itself is somewhat of an older model Ritz Carlton that has been refreshed into a luxury resort of the current times. Our arrival coincided with the hotels "Yappy Hour" which was a cool experience for locals to bring their dogs and enjoy cocktails (presumably for the humans) and flavored water for the dogs while looking out on the ocean. Everyone seemed to be having a blast and we enjoyed it as it was simply different. We also loved the marketplace - we always hate having to order room service to get a coffee in the morning (or going out for it) but they have a casual (but nice) marketplace where we went for our morning coffee, pastries and other snacks as we came and went.

The service was flawless and the meals were all enjoyable, especially Eno Steak which we loved. We will definitely return there. The lobby bar was nice although I wish the views were more open to enjoy the ocean view but we did that at their other bar which sits outside on a terrace and offers beautiful views with heat lamps for those cool nights.

Overall, the resort was a wonderful experience and we plan to return in a few months. It offers everything we wanted.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandnoemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We couldn't agree more....our ocean view rooms have the most incredible view of the Pacific! Falling asleep with your room doors opened and listening to crashing of the waves is a favorite amongst our guests. We look forward to return! Thank you for visiting all of our food and beverage outlets. They are all unique in their own ways. We hope you have the time during your next visit to experience our Dana Pool Cafe as well. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dana point
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My fiance took me here to propose to me and it was the best night of my life. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and has an amazing view to wake up to every day. With plenty of nightlife in the neighboring cities and the 2 minute walk (or golf cart ride courtesy of hotel) to the beach, you can't beat this place for a nice relaxing vacation, or romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Congratulations! We are very happy for you and delighted that we can help share in the best night of your life. We enjoy creating those memorable experiences for our guests that will last a life time. Our resort is so relaxing and romantic...we can't think of a better place to be proposed to and celebrate for years to come. In fact, we hope to be your host for your wedding! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Love this resort. We stayed for a weekend in June in an ocean view room with balcony. Definitely worth the extra money to see hear and smell the gorgeous ocean. We slept with the French doors wide open all night. The room was spacious, impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. Hip cool yet sophisticated is how I would describe the decor throughout the resort. One thing we loved is how the resort incorporated the local art scene and artists throughout the resort without it being too stuffy or over bearing. Ie. four local artists predicated one of their paintings on a surf board and then all four surf boards are mounted on the wall. Very clever and great way to highlight the beach resort with local art scene of Laguna. Also art wall filled with photos of local artists photographed by local photographer was very interesting.

The service was amazing. I don't know how they do it but everyone calls you by your name. Makes you feel special and not just another guest. Our housekeeper Sylvia was wonderful and the room was immaculately clean. We ate dinner and brunch in Raya. Amazing food presentation,so delicious and service was friendly and gracious. Try the lobster quesadillas , cevechie and the NY Strip. Amazing. Brunch was wonderful and the view from Raya is the best. We saw pelicans outside the windows flying by! 180 Blue.....breathtaking and you can't beat the opportunity to have a drink and appetizer with a 180 degree view of the beach and ocean.

We both are well traveled and have stayed in top notch resorts hotels and boutique hotels in the US and abroad. This resort is clearly top notch in every aspect. Highly recommend it for all, couples and families

Front desk and valet also were great. Very welcoming again calling you by name all the time.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view with patio or balcony. Worth it. Some patios have outdoor gas fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our resort. We are so proud on a daily basis of the service and facilities we provide, and we are delighted that you enjoyed our mystique. Thank you for embracing our culture and what we stand for, and for your appreciation of our local artists and photographers. We truly have the most incredible location and cultural history here in Dana Point, Laguna Beach, and surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. And yes, we will remember your name then too! Welcome home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
747 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
747 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,446 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing