We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed 1 week after xmas through New Years. great hotel, great service! 3rd stay in last 16 months, all have been excellant. if possible stay on the Club Level. the staff and service is unsurpassed! worthy of 6 six stars!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTCParkCity_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
It was a pleasure having you back! Thank you for your loyalty. It sounds like you fully enjoyed our exclusive Club Level. We agree....it is amazing. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlmen, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    402
    196
    105
    54
See reviews for
527
683
47
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Ritz Laguna Niguel and had a great time. We arrived at around 2pm from the East Coast and the hotel was buzzing with activity. As soon as we entered the grand lobby we were in awe. The Christmas decorations were still up and they were magnificent. Our room was not ready despite the fact that we reserved through AMEX's Platinum Fine Hotels program which is supposed to give you an early check in. But no worries we decided to eat lunch at Raya, the main restaurant which has panoramic views of the Pacific. We checked back at 3:30 and room was still not ready, minus 1 star, finally at around 4 the room was ready. When we got to the room we were a bit dissapointed. the room had no view and overlooked a wall next to the pool, also the room was very small and very dark. We are a loyal Ritz Carlton family and stay with them 3-4x a year and were a little dissapointed with the room assigned to us. My wife expressed our displeasure with the room and we were moved the next day to a room with a partial view of the Pacific. The new room was on the 2nd floor, had a balcony and was nice and bright. The staff at the hotel is very nice and always smiling and address you by name. We ate at Raya everyday for breakfast and loved it. One night we ate at Eno which is the upscale Steak restaurant. The steak was perfect and the atmosphere was amazing. Since the hotel is located on a hill above the beach we walked down to the ocean and saw dolphins and several surfers. This resort is a great place to stay and explore Orange Co. Other than the glitch with the check in and issue with the room we had an awesome time and plan to return this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your review, and most of all thank you for your loyalty to The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. We care very much about your happiness and well-being. We will never willingly put your satisfaction in jeopardy. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...aren't the dolphins and sunsets
amazing? We look forward to your next visit. We have many more memories in store for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Ritz in Laguna is magnificently set on a majestic cliff with a beautiful view of the ocean. We were at the hotel over Christmas and it was packed! Hundreds of people in the lobby, at the bar, in the restaurants...this is a busy place with a lot going on. We were greeted warmly at check in, and given a complimentary upgrade to an oceanfront room with a private fire pit. 180blue is a great terrace bar with good food and a nice crowd. The Ritz is in a great location, close to shopping and the beach. The gym is beautiful and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for the holidays. It was a pleasure having you with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and property. Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide to each of our valuable guests. They are extremely dedicated and motivated. We look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you in the future. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor, mi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We had the joy of staying here last week, 4th floor - club level. The service was fantastic, concierge was so attentive and helpful. The food + amenities were fantastic at the club level. The spa / salon were pristine and just how they should be at a resort like this. The food was fabulous at Raya - the main restaurant. I have absolutely no complaints - except that there were no black-out curtains in our room. A bit surprising but also not a bad trade to wake up to see the surf coming in and out. We will definitely return here as we are able! A big thanks to all of the amazing staff there.

Room Tip: Club level - a bit pricey but with breakfast, lunch and cocktail hours until 11p - well worth it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
We couldn't agree with you more...our exclusive Club Level is the only way to go when visiting
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel! Our service is impeccable, and our food/beverage options are outstanding. Thank you for your visit! We look forward to welcoming back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My fam stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in Laguna Beach. The hotel was spectacular, great views, friendly staff, & good food. Of course it was expensive as expected but was definitely worth the price just a little getaway for a couple nights. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: As it comes with the name of the hotel, valet parking can be pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
We enjoyed haivng you! Thank you for choosing us for your short stay in the area. We hope you have the chance to return for a longer visit perhaps during the beautiful summer. We have many experiences to create for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel is literally in the best location ever! Right below you is Salt Creek Beach Park and to the left is Strands Beach, both world-class locations. What I really loved about the Ritz Carlton was the service from every staff member, everyone greeted me with either "good afternoon" or "it would be my pleasure" and it was just a joy to be there.

The Ritz Carlton also has one of the coolest night time patios with Fire attractions that are really cool. It has one of the best locations I've ever been and I absolutely loved it! Room 4010 was the best room in the hotel! The fourth floor is really where you want to stay!

Also nearby were some great restaurants including the Harbor Grille in nearby Dana point Harbor. We had the opportunity to do stand-up paddle "SUP" & be a part of the local festivities like the cool farmers market and the Dana point Harbor boat parade. There's even a excellent place to learn how to surf called Doheney State Beach Park, I absolutely love this place!

Room Tip: Rooms 4004 - 4010 are where you want to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Yes indeed, our exclusive Club Level is the only way to go! We are delighted you had the opportunity to experience our first-class Club service. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon. We have more memories to create for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Today I took advantage of the free yoga class with Cynthia. No one else showed up, so I was fortunate enough to have a one on one session. The location was amazing-- Yoga in a cliff-side gazebo high above the ocean. Listening to the waves crash and staring off into the horizon with each pose was amazing.

Cynthia was both a skilled and talented teacher. She contoured the class to what I needed for the stresses and activities of my life. Cynthia even took the time to help me remedy a pose I've had trouble with in the past.

I can't stress enough that if you're staying in this hotel, you should treat yourself to yoga with Cynthia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments about Cynthia. We couldn't agree with you more that Cynthia is not only a superstar but a very educated and talented yoga instructor. We are very fortunate to have her on our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for more peaceful yoga sessions soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
689 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,351 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing