We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, ocean-themed, gorgeous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, ocean-themed, gorgeous views”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I took my two children here for a two day Christmas getaway. We were greeted by a warm, friendly staff who were very willing to tell us all about the hotel. There were surfboards displayed all throughout the lobby as part of an auction of Surfers who were raising money for autistic children to learn to surf. Strand Beach outside was filled with surfers and there is a rich history around these parts. The hotel boasts a fabulous outdoor restaurant on a sunny patio overlooking the ocean - I think it is called 360. Spectacular idea!

Kids can participate in the hotel's Ambassadors of the Environment program which offers various projects and "explorations" - check it out. Through this program we went on a 9:00 a.m. walk with hotel guides of the garden and the children tasted some of the organic vegetables and pumped the "well."

We also bought tickets to go with hotel guides on a nearby whale watching trip leaving from Dana Point Harbor which was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. There were dolphins everywhere and the children loved it. The guides gave us a CD with pictures from the trip.

This was the most memorable trip for all of us. It just could not have been any better. This has made me a devotee of Ritz Carlton. Yes, it is expensive. But it is worth it even if it is just for two days.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not crowded, ask for an ocean view room free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyager310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    385
    189
    99
    50
See reviews for
487
650
44
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My family and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at this fabulous resort last August for 8 nights of bliss. We loved everything about this property and cannot wait to return. We loved the area and spent almost all of our time either at the resort, on their beach or in charming Laguna Beach.

We had a room overlooking the pool area, and I so enjoyed sitting on our lanai and listening to the live music, a little slice of heaven. While our room wasn't large by any means, we were rarely I. Or room. Housekeeping was excellent and the beds divine.

One of our favorite things was having breakfast at the hotel in the morning, sitting by the window and watching the surfers and the beautiful vista. The food was excellent and we enjoyed everything we ordered.

The gym is lovely and the views breathtaking. If you don't work out, this facility will inspire you to. It was extremely clean and well kept.

We actually had a package deal and it was worth every penny and more that we spent. If you want a week of perfection, look no further. I will note that we did go over to The Montage and aside from the cool beach area and tide pools, we were very pleased that we chose The Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblairgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the resort and attaching a photo as well. We are so proud of our ladies and gentlemen and all they do to ensure each of our guests, big or small, all return home with lifelong memories. Of course our environment and location make it very easy to learn about the rich history of the area and the appreciation of Mother Nature. We look forward to welcoming you and your children back again soon to experience more adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our stay at the Ritz Laguna Niguel was outstanding. Our first impression was the valet parking attendants. So courteous and helpful. They continued to offer good advice and outstanding service throughout our entire stay. Every step after that was better and better. Beautiful lobby with outstanding views of the ocean from everywhere you looked. Breathtaking views. Very luxurious. The service from the restaurants to maid service was unbelievable. Can not say enough about the wonderful staff. So rare to find. Made our stay so nice. The room was beautiful. Newly remodeled we heard and it showed. Food at the restaurants was outstanding! Did not find the hotel to be noisy at all. I would stay at this hotel again and again. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahbrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
We are honored by your favorable review of our resort. Our ladies and gentlemen take great pride
in the service they provide every moment of every day to each of our valuable guests. We enjoyed having you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We did not choose this Ritz Carlton as our wedding venue without a reason: it was the only place we both loved - and fell in love with at first sight! The location of the hotel at the top of a hill overlooking the ocean takes your breath away, as does the the luxurious hotel and its warm and generous staff. On our first visit, the management took us around and offered us complimentary lunch on the beautiful terrace restaurant. During the entire wedding preparation and on the night of the event, the staff remained available, helpful and reactive, giving us a truly memorable wedding day. We absolutely loved our suite as it was spacious, bright, and offered an amazing view on the ocean, and we wish we had had more time to enjoy the many activities offered by the hotel. All the restaurants offered a large variety of quality dishes in a very relaxing atmosphere. We often wish we could go back in time to relive our wedding weekend at this gorgeous hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms are all amazing :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryAndSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Congratulations!! We are delighted that your memories here will last a lifetime. Thank you for choosing our resort for such a momentous occasion. It is so romantic and relaxing here, and we would welcome the opportunity to have you back year after year to celebrate. We have so many more memories to create for you. It is our passion! We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have stayed here four times, and at the St. Regis and the Surf and Sand. They have each served as a great LA long weekend get away, with unique attributes. I must say, the views are amazing, room service is amazing, but the lobby looks cheap. Metal gate they installed in what once was a gorgeous room with views for cocktails is just TACKY. The furnishings, look more Sheraton/Westin, not bad, just nothing to write home about. The gym has amazing views, but the biggest problem here is the pool service. The GM needs to take a trip to Maui FS and see what pool service is all about. You have one or two poor, harried, sweating waiters or waitresses running around doing their best, but generally it is impossible for them to hit the ratio when guests are everywhere, they really need more staff. This problem exist at the other places too but the RC has it the worse. The hotel in general has a lot of wear and tear and just doesn't look as polished as the St. Regis. The rooms are nice, smallish though, but what the Ritz does have over its immediate neighbors is a gorgeous cliff side view.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomk626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We hear you and greatly appreciate your comments. We listen to all of our guests' concerns and take them seriously. We pride ourselves in providing the utmost luxurious accommodations and exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back
to experience our new room enhancements. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

It doesn't get much better than this. The property, location, views & service were all amazing. We ate at the Raya restaurant which was also fantastic. They focus on local flavors with many items obtained at local farmers markets. You will need a boatload of money, but it is still a great value.

Room Tip: You are already spending a ton of money, get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
We love your tips, thank you! Ocean view rooms are the only way to go at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We are delighted you enjoyed our Raya cuisine. We have so much more for you to experience at the resort and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary by going for High Tea at the Ritz-Carlton and staying for a night. We booked the cheapest type of room they had, a Limited View Guestroom, which went for $425. Upon arrival we were thrilled to be upgraded two levels to a Fireside Coastline Guestroom, which costs $720.

Our room has a panoramic view of the ocean instead of overlooking the parking lot or something. We spent most of the afternoon enjoying the world-class view (take a look at my photos). We have a private patio complete with fireplace which kept us cozy while the sun was going down. I should also mention complimentary chocolate-dipped strawberries were delivered to our room shortly after we arrived. We're looking forward to being soothed by the pounding surf this evening while we sleep.

The entire staff has treated us like royalty and High Tea this afternoon was outstanding. We are blessed to have such a special anniversary here at the Ritz-Carlton!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES W O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for the photos...they are gorgeous and we love seeing them. We are delighted that you experienced a memorable anniversary with us, and we hope you make this an annual tradition. We love surprising and delighting our guests. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing