We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view. Loved their bar overlooking the ocean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We lodged here for 4 days and our favorite things were the view and the "180blu" bar that overlooks the ocean. This location is truly beautiful and relaxing. The hotel had great service for the wedding we attended here -- the dinner following the wedding was excellent and the outdoor courtyard location was just perfect. The front desk was very helpful and all the staff always greeted you -- very nice.

Our room was very comfortable and pretty but not very large though (narrow hall where closet opens; two people can't pass each other) and it was a long ways from the lobby and other venues of the resort. Good for quiet.

The valet service was the one service that could not keep up with all the demand. The resort has a set daily fee for this and you have no other choice. I liked this place, but when we return we will stay elsewhere -- probably in a smaller hotel. But would still visit the bar here.

The last day of our trip we decided to dine for breakfast in the main restaurant since we wanted to get on the road early. It was terrible. The view was amazing but the scrambled eggs were flavorless and the sausage was inedible. Breakfast with poor coffee for two was $50. Wish we had dined in town like the other days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susansbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you. We hope the wedding was a very memorable experience for you and all of the guests. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your valet and breakfast service. We would like the opportunity to talk to you further about your experience. Please contact the Executive Office at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,577 - 1,583 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a truly beautiful resort. A perfect place to just relax and be pampered. Beautiful beach with an amazing trail to walk; a terrific spa; and lovely restaurants onsite. You don't have to leave the grounds, but if you do, Laguna Niguel is an absolutely beautiful little town, and the whale watching trip from Dana Point harbor is exceptional. In the ocean front rooms, even with the windows closed, you can hear the waves. Perfection.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Ahhhh perfection! We strive to provide a perfect experience for each of our guests and we delighted that we succeeded with you. When will you return? We are looking forward to the opportunity to surprise you with more memories soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you're lucky enough to get a west-facing room, you'll find yourself spending a good deal of time savoring in the beauty of a warm sunset or delighting in the passing of a pod of dolphins. The rooms are very nicely appointed and include almost every bathroom amenity one would need.

My favorite area of the hotel is the lobby. Although not very large, the fresh floral designs nearly transform the lobby into a work of art. The level of service is true to the Ritz-Carlton brand and the staff goes out of its way to ensure your stay is an excellent one.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We enjoyed having you and hope to welcome you back soon. The dolphins are waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you are looking for a really big resort style vacation with lots of attention by the staff this is probably for you. I was looking for neither! The property is too big to easily find one's way around and the lobby and restaurant area were incredibly crowded most times, which resulted in a rather impersonal atmosphere. What this hotel lacks but seems to long for is true style and taste. All is made and geared towards a rich but unsophistication cliental. The staff is attentive in a very robotic and indiscrete way. Each waiter, maid or front desk person asked me the same three question in the exact same order every single day > Where are you from? What brings you here? How long will you stay? On the better side of things > The beach is beautiful and the views magnificent. The spa was the only place I truly felt comfortable, small, elegant and tranquil.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FileasFoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. If there is anything we can assist you with in the future, please contact the Executive Office directly. We enjoyed having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The food, view, and ambiance are second to none. We stayed for 4 nights and could not have had a better experice with a standard ritz (hotel type not reserve) location. The food as it always seems to be was worth the price of addmission. The hotel it self was well appointed with just the right mix of modern and tradtional style. The rooms were well apointed and spacious. I would have to say however the best part of this hotel was the view at sunrise or sun set. It would take your breath away!!! This is a cant miss for a Ritz location.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean you will not be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Isn't Mother Nature incredible? Our surroundings and view are out of this world. Thank you for taking it all in. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a coastal view room on the club level. Our view was great, could see the water, surfers and hear the waves at night. The club level was worth the extra price. They were extremely helpful with our off property activities and on property dining. The breakfast was more than adequate each morning. They had food and drinks throughout the day. We arrived at 10pm our first evening, after the restaurants stopped serving and the club level put some food together for us. They even sent down some drinks to our room while we unpacked. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made the entire visit a special celebration for us. Raya was delicious, we had a dinner and brunch there. Service was excellent. We ate in the steak restaurant one evening and has a very nice dinner. It was very small, so be sure to make a reservation. The club level concierge worked hard to be able to get us in on little notice. 180 Blu was great for sunset! Go early because everyone has the same idea. They did hand out blankets for those that got a little chilled. Service was wonderful at the pool and the car attendants were very helpful too.

Room Tip: We had a north facing coastal room with an amazing view. They were out of coastal rooms. This room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us! Our ladies and gentlemen take great pride in providing service excellence. Happy Anniversary! We hope you took some wonderful memories home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The bar and appetizers at 180 blue are excellent and you can't beat the view. They have live music and show surfing images on the adjacent wall. Tuesday is Taco night. Just walking through the lobby is an experience. Its beautifully decorated with live flowers and the aroma is wonderful.


Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We couldn't agree with you more that 180blu is a fantastic outdoor lounge with a magnificent view. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your service experience as much as we enjoyed creating a memory for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,608 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
960 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,721 reviews
6.3 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £388 - £755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing