We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bronxville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Vacation”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We traveled to California for an after Christmas vacation. The views are amazing! We booked ocean front rooms which I highly recommend. The boys surfed at the hotel and traveled to other locations as well. The hotel is in a great location. Hotel recommendations for dinner varied, some were good, some were not. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italianmomma118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We are delighted you enjoyed our fantastic surroundings and we enjoyed sending you and your family home with fond memories. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    403
    196
    107
    54
See reviews for
531
686
48
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great property on the beach, incredible ocean views (even from the halls), access to the beach, incredible restaurants, and of course, incredible service. Would recommend in a heartbeat. Felt like we were in another world! Stayed on the 4th floor, interior room facing pool (no complaints!). Great location...just minutes south to Dana Point and minutes north to Laguna. Would highly recommend and hope to come back, but next time in summer. Definitely, Ritz Carlton treatment in everything at this location. In my opinion, rivals the Ritz in Kapalua. Traveled as a couple, but seemed family friendly as many kids were in the pool, football fans catching NFL playoff games in the lobby bar, and many families at the tidepools and beach. Very cool place, but wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Room was a fine choice, despite not being an ocean view room. Stayed "center" court facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKMsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Summer is a wonderful time to be a guest of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We hope to see you then. We have so much more for you to experience. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The property is in very good condition and the views are unmatched, but something about this Ritz left me wanting more. I was here for work, not play, and the conference facilities, food and service could have been better. I'm sure if i was here just for fun my opinion might be different. Don't get me wrong, this is a fine hotel, but not the best "Ritz" experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank schwammy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback. Our Executive Office would enjoy the opportunity to talk to you further about your experience. It is our highest mission that all of our guests depart the resort with the fondest of memories despite the nature of their visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy a true Ritz-Carlton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this Ritz Property using our Marriott Platinum points for Spring Break......SO worth it!!! Make sure you take advantage of book 4 nights, get your 5th free.

Upgrade your (already freebie room, when using points) by a mere $200/night for Club Level...enjoy your cappuccinos on the oceanside balconies every morning while watching the surfers below....grab your evening champagne and head on down with the kids to the oceanfront lawn and watch the sunset together......awesome! Mary in the Club Lounge was AMAZING! By calling ahead, she arranged for Gluten Free food for my Celiac daughter....as another amazing treat, she led both of the children on a scavenger hunt to their pirate treasure chest room to pick out toys.

Be sure to ask for children's amenities at check-in......including sweet robes and slippers.....beach buckets filled with toys.....and at the pool, they will deliver swim vests, inflatables, even sunblock, if needed. Fun beach buggy rides down to the ocean......plus, they provide set up and take down of beach chairs/umbrellas.

An amazing Ritz property and definitely family friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriottMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoy creating family memories that will last a life time. We hope to welcome you back for your next Spring Break. The fun awaits you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel has the perfect position on the Southern California coast. Sitting on a cliff over looking the Pacific Ocean, you will be able to sip a glass of wine or enjoy a delectable meal as the sun sets. And, if the Pacific Coast sea fog lifts, you will have a spectacular view of Catalina Island! My room was on the north side, 1st floor, opening up to a lawn and garden. I sat on my "patio", listening to the birds chirp, the waves crash, and worked on my laptop...yes, this was a business visit. But, if you are not going to stay in your room long, an ocean-side upgrade is unnecessary. There are plenty "public" vantage points on this property to take in what the Southern California coast has to offer. I was pleased with my room's size and accommodations. The meals that were prepared for our group were perfect! They looked and tasted like Southern California!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
What an incredible sunset you were able to experience! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for more rest and relaxation soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The most gorgeous view I have ever seen! The beach and sunset views are spectacular. The view from the workout room is awesome. The service was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurants and bar very delicious. I have only high marks for this hotel. Plus the lobby smells delicious with the Ritz's signature scent. You can buy a candle or spray in the gift shop! Would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We couldn't agree with you more that our sunsets Arne views are breathtaking. We are delighted you enjoyed our location, offerings and service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabfinds
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It is with great sadness that I have to "downgrade" my initial rating of a full five stars for this hotel which i have loved and stayed in many times. The one thing that will never change is the setting/view/location which is SUBLIME. It is truly priceless and one of the most beautiful views I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. The property itself is wonderful. It has all the California charm and warmth with a slightly modern touch. The public areas are the strongest points, both outside and in, they are welcoming, elegant and beautifully maintained.

The rooms however are where the hotel falls short. The rooms have always been small, that was a drawback but before and right after the renovation what they lacked in size they made up for in elegance, luxuriousness and beauty. This time, however was the first time I saw an obvious decline in how they have been kept up. Rooms look really tired. Maybe not when you first walk in but upon looking, I noticed a few chips in the furniture, some stains on the carpet, the bathroom wallpaper was soiled, it was not pristine and spotless as it had once been. There were fingerprints all over the glass on the desk, and worst part is there was an unmistakable musty smell which was quite offensive. This was upsetting because we really love this hotel but probably will not return until there has been a much needed renovation. Service is wonderful, so helpful and friendly but to be a 5 star they are going to need to step up their game.

Restaurants, spa and fitness center are all fabulous!

I truly hope they will because we do love it and have many many fond memories there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and providing your very valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your attention to detail and have taken it seriously. You have our word that we will do whatever it takes to ensure each of our valued guests has an incredibly meaningful and unforgettable,experience in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,513 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
693 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,366 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing