We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazig Stay at the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I spent 5 luxurious days that the Ritz! We have been looking forward to this trip for awhile. My husband had won a Presidents Club trip through work and we were beyond excited at this years location. We have stayed at the Ritz before in different cities but this takes the cake.

We had a "Garden" View room which was not really the case. We could see the Ocean and hear the Ocean from our glorious balcony! The rooms was nicely appointed with usual gorgeous marble bathroom, wonderful little coffee and fridge nook. Turn down service with the chocolates was also wonderful.

We loved just wandering around this gorgeous resort. There were great little fire places all over the place. Since it was cool when we went it was nice to hang in front of the fire. Very relaxing.

The gym was also great! It was very small but very nice considering you had a great view of the beach and ocean from any piece of equipment. Also nice bottle of water!

The beach was gorgeous. It was a great workout just walking to and from the beach. It was only sunny 1 day we were there but we went down to the water at least once a day the entire trip! So fun to watch the surfers and just walk around with the sand in between our toes.

We only got 1 day by the Pool but it was also nice, drink a little pricey but well worth it to be at the ritz. We are hoping to return some day to enjoy another trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNewbolds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted you were able to enjoy the sand between your toes and the warmth of the fireplaces. We are so fortunate to have such a fantastic location! We look forward to creating more memories for you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,443 - 1,449 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Outstanding location on the beach where you can enjoy the beauty of Dana Point. This site is a favorite for local surfers who tend come every morning and afternoon to catch some waves. The service is standard Ritz (very good). The rooms are nice. Probably the only downside is that the lounges seem to be understaffed to handle more than a small number of patrons. Definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great but comes at a cost so decide how much time you will really be in your room wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We couldn't agree with you more that our location is incredible. The Cities of Dana Point and Laguna Niguel are extraordinary places to visit; especially Salt Creek Beach. We hope you took home some wonderful memories with you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed at this property. Upon arriving, we were exhausted and just wanted to relax and hear the ocean from our room. We took showers, got in comfy clothes, opened the balcony doors and what did we hear? A yip yip dog barking! Ugh! It was a nightmare! Once I realized that yip yip was going to continue to yip yip and it wasn't a solo yip, I called the front desk and spoke to Casey, the front desk manager. The net net to this review is that Casey was exceptional and he turned a very tired, unhappy customer into a very HAPPY one. His reaction was fast and we were moved to a cozy room that satisfied our every desire. The property was exceptional - we dined at Raya - amazing food and lunched at Bar Raya overlooking the fabulous beach, again delicious. Can't say enough good things about this property - it is obviously being run well at the top as all the i's are dotted and t's are crossed. We don't see enough customer service these days and this place exemplifies it! Cheers to a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your visit! We are delighted to know that Kasey helped turn your negative experience into a most memorable one. Our ladies and gentlemen strive to provide service excellence every day for each of our valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The title really says it all. Our family planned a very special trip to California for my Dad's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, staff at the Ritz did everything in their power to make the experience unbelievably special for all of us, but especially my Dad. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and really provided the best service I have ever received. Every time you passed by a member of staff, they said hello and always had a really genuine smile - it seemed like they really enjoyed working there.

The rooms were beautiful, so clean and there was even a bottle of wine waiting for all of us on our arrival. The setting of the hotel is incredible - right above the beach with gorgeous views. My parents' room even had a fire pit out on their balcony which was a really nice touch.

We ate and drank at all of the bars and restaurants and they were really top notch. The breakfast was really great - especially with the great service we had from Joel and Miguel who were just the best ever.

After our trip, my Dad told me that it was the best trip he had ever had. I am just so grateful for everyone at the Ritz who made that possible.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room - so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion. It was our pleasure creating memories for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We spent several days at the Ritz Carlton to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we loved it. A couples massage at the spa was wonderful. We were treated by everyone like royalty and even the restaurants were spectacular. We enjoy long walks on the beach.

All in all it was a typical Ritz Carlton experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Happy 25th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel for such a momentous occasion! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us as much as we enjoyed creating it for you. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I am prefacing this review with the fact that I am comparing this hotel to the Ritz Carlton in Naples that I previously reviewed and said was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. So knowing that hotel is the paradigm...We stayed on the Club Level and one thing that seemed odd is that the elevator drops you off...right in the Club lounge. No foyer you are just bang! in the Club lounge. And you have to pass through there any time you want to come and go. The layout of the Club lounge seemed a bit odd-- kind of L shaped-- and it also seemed cramped. The food selection seemed sparse compared to the Naples Club lounge. But the staff there was very friendly and helpful. Speaking of staff, overall great service as usual at a Ritz. We did have a bartender in the main lounge who was lacking personality. But our awesome wait and host staff in Raya and Eno made up for that! I took advantage of the complimentary yoga class and I'd definitely recommend. Yoga outside with a great view...for sure! And the workout room has an amazing view as well. The lobby and public areas seem to be kept up well. Yet the halls on the Club level were rather nicked up and could use a paint job. Our room seemed really dark. There was only one lamp and the rest was recessed lighting. I also felt the bathroom lighting wasn't very bright. I did like the two sinks though! In summary, nice (pricey) hotel (hello $18 martinis!) but nothing so spectacular that would draw me back. I might try the St. Regis or Pelican Hill Resort next time I'm back in that area.

Room Tip: We saw some rooms on the ground level had fire pits with an ocean view. Might be worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review about your Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel experience. We enjoyed your photos as well! We are delighted that we were able to anticipate your needs overall. Our ladies and gentlemen's highest mission is to provide an excellent level of personalized service. It is our desire that you will return again and again so that we have the opportunity to create many more memories for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I am not sure how you can make it any clearer. This is the place to go and just unwind for an afternoon by yourself, or with a loved one. The service is impeccable, the ambiance is luxury at its best, the scenery and views are straight from the Divine, and the little touches in elegance will make you smile as you walk around the hotel. Grab lunch, take a stroll down to the beach, hang out on the cliff overlooking the ocean and then come in for a cheese and wine tasting. I wish I could live in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need anything, just ask. I joked about taking the menu home and they said, "If you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel as your home away from home even though you are located very close to us. You can live here anytime! Nothing makes us more delighted than to know our valuable guests have completely enjoyed their experience with us; whether it be an overnight stay or a day visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable, relaxed and refined experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
818 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,581 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
477 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £403 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury coastal living at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, a resort in Dana Point, California situated high on a seaside bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and offering a relaxed Southern California vibe near Laguna Beach, Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing