We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Birthday”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For the most part, we had a wonderful experience for my wife's birthday celebration from check in to check out. Just a few issues though. We ate at Raya in the hotel. The food was OK but the service was overzealous. We did not have 2 minutes of peace without someone coming over to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves. There is a fine line to good service. On another note, we enjoyed our couples massage and were well taken care of. Prices, however, were quite steep in comparison to other fine hotels we've visited. My biggest gripe though has to be about getting charged $35 for valet parking when paying very high room rates. Come on people, this is really pushing the envelope. We had breakfast in our room and the food and portion size were great. The staff went out of there way to give us a enjoyable experience but I do not expect I will return to this venue anytime soon.

Room Tip: The ocean view room with fire pit seemed below the view line and really cut off the beach completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Execuive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have shared it with our leaders and are always continuing our quest for service excellence. We couldn't agree with you more that The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel is a wonderful choice to celebrate a special occasion. We hope to celebrate more with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    386
    189
    99
    50
See reviews for
489
653
44
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

5 stars all the way. Beautiful hotel, breathtaking views, wonderful customer service on club level. I believe it was just totally renovated. The decor is absolutely beautiful. we were given a suite and the bathrooms are huge, all white marble, surprised they had a typical tub with shower curtain but it really didn't matter, everything else was wonderful. Room service food was excellent as well.

Room Tip: a suite or ocean view and club level is always a perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyjaclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We hope you took home some life long memories and you will return soon. We loved seeing your photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a hotel that is worth the price! We stayed in a small room because all the fire pit rooms were small. It was so worth it!!! Firepit was unbelievable! My kids were awed! The staff, service, grounds. What can you say, first class! Make sure you splurge on ocean view only. Well worth the extra cost! My favorite meal was room service breakfast on our terrace with the fire going against the Pacific Ocean as our backdrop. Forget the weird fees. Don't get mired in the petty small costs. This hotel is a must stay for bucket lists!

Room Tip: Ocean view. With fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We enjoyed having you and your family experience our fireside ocean front guest room. Isn't it wonderful? We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was second stay at the property and first time back since 2008. The lobby, common areas, and setting are second to none. It is an older property but is well maintained. The guest rooms had soft renovations last year and are very nice and clean. Since it is an older property there are no walk in showers in the bathrooms and tub shower combo has a shower curtain. The bathroom does have a double vanity. This is not exactly what you would expect from a resort of this caliber. The rooms types vary widely. I would highly recommend an ocean front room. Beware, the coastline view rooms on the fourth floor are very shaded due to the overhang from the roof and make the rooms very dark. We originally booked a coastline suite but moved to standard oceanfront room since it was so dark in the room and such a long way down a very narrow hallway to the coastline view rooms.
There is an issue at this hotel with people smoking on their balconies. We complained and there is nothing they can do since it is allowed. The hotel manager even admitted to me it was a rising problem for them. You can read other reviews stating the same horrible experience.
The hotel is also extremely pet friendly. It was not uncommon to see very large dogs. In my opinion, a hotel is no place for a dog.
We had club access during our stay and having experienced the club level at over 30 different R/C properties this is by far one of the best. The food selections were different everyday at every presentation. The staff was outstanding and the view from the front half of the club is amazing. This club is well worth the money.
The overall service at the hotel staff was good but not great and lacked the personal touch. There were a number of times the hotel could have easily anticipated our needs and created a "WOW" factor very easily but sadly each time they missed the mark.
There is a lot of competition in the area for luxury hotels with the Montage just up the street and the Terranea Resort closer to LA. I have stayed at both and they are all three very unique in their own way. The Montage and Terranea are much newer properties. The biggest difference in the three great properties in the rooms since the R/C is so much older.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again. The overall feel of the property and the surrounding area is outstanding. The beaches are great with miles of walking trails right on the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, thank you for staying with us and providing your detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate your time in sharing your experience. We couldn't agree with you more tha our exclusive Club Level provides a level of elegance and service excellence that is rare to find. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience overall. We value you and are looking forward to creating more unique and personal memories for you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When you enter the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, you see one of the most beautiful lobbys that you will ever see in your life. Smell, look and feel is very professional. The service is great and the staff are somewhat pleasant. I ran into a few staff members who were not that nice. The balcony had a beatiful unforgettable view of the ocean and I loved the beach. The toughest part of staying here was the dated rooms. The rooms were old and had a mildew smell that seem to get stronger as the days got hotter. I don't know if it was coming from the rug or the furniture but everything in there needed a steam clean. The bathroom was old as well and had a few cobwebs in them. As soon as I walked in bathroom I was meant by a unknown bug crawling back and forth looking for food possibly. The walls are extremely thin and the noise level here was very very loud. I could hear other guess talking in their rooms quietly. The nicest thing I did see in the room was the TV. Bottom line, it looks like they spent looks of time updating the lobby but not the rooms where the guest stay. This place is great fo meetings and events, but not to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your very detailed feedback. We greatly appreciate it. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, we are saddened to learn you did not have the best experience possible while being a guest at our resort. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, we would be delighted to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz for 3 nights. The rooms are simple, understated and clean. Many have beautiful views overlooking the beach.

Unfortunately, in some specific cases, the service we received was very mediocre. Our room service breakfast was 15 minutes late (after the 30 minute window) and then they forgot the coffee. We had an early appointment so it was quite inconvenient to have to wait.

On the third day of our stay, we arrived back at our room after being out all day to quickly get ready for an event and our room was locked. Even staff wasn't able to get in. We had to return to the front desk twice before they realized that they had 'locked us out' because they didn't have a credit card associated with the room, even though we had given them one when we checked in. Our room and all our charges were being picked up by our company, so the hotel was in no danger of getting stiffed for our room charges, even if we hadn't already given them a card. When we finally cleared up the issue, we returned to the room and it had not been cleaned and our breakfast was still sitting in the room. This was a stupid and unnecessary mistake that made it very stressful and challenging for us to be ready for the event on time.

When we discussed the problem with the front desk we were told there was nothing they could do about it. If this were a three-star hotel, these issues would have been almost expected, but at the Ritz I was hoping for more.

The spa was wonderful and the food was delicious. I wish we hadn't run into those problems because otherwise it would have been a magical stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn_on_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, thank you for staying with us. We truly intended for your stay to be magical in every way. We apologize for the inconveniences you have mentioned and we look forward to providing you with an exceptional experience the next time you choose to stay with us. If we may be of assistance, please contact our executive offices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is so wonderful - what's not to love? The view - amazing. The beach - perfect. The service - fantastic. If you stay on the club level - so relaxing and fun. Tennis courts and gym are great, too, if you have the time to play/use. I've stayed here many times and love it every time. Excellent resort!!

Personal opinion tip - The restaurant has a beautiful view, but the food is expensive and just okay. I prefer to grab breakfast or lunch at the more reasonably priced cafe and then head to the beach for a walk, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USTraveler121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us again. We hope each of your experiences is a unique, personal and memorable one. Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,213 reviews
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing