We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

What more can I say about this place that hasn't already been said? From the moment you pull up to the beautifully landscaped front entrance, you're greeted by a kind and professional staff ready to tend to your every need. The rooms are very clean and well-decorated and the views are simply breathtaking. The pool area is great for the kids and the outdoor bar/grill has great food and service. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful, care-free, and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with either a pool or ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your Ritz-Carlton experience and we look forward to creating more memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    371
    183
    89
    49
See reviews for
453
619
42
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place never disappoints. The scenery is unparalleled in Southern California. Period. The service is good, but not as great as it used to be before they changed some of the management. Still, you will not go 5 feet without someone saying hello to you. Good concierge service for alternative dining/OC activities, private beach to take the family, laid back atmosphere, and breathtaking views will keep you coming back as I have. The only caveat I have: GET A ROOM FACING THE BEACH. Whoever books your room will be able to tell you this information and these rooms are worth their weight in gold. You're already spending quite a bit just to sleep on the property, go the extra mile so that you wake up to the beautiful coast instead of a pool or parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMD6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Great advice! Staying in an ocean front room at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel is an amazing experience. Will you be joining us again soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

For my birthday celebration, we stayed for 1 night in a Oceanfront room with a special package, The Pearls of Inspiration with a Club Level admission. Everything is what you can expect from the Ritz: comfy bed, nice quiet room with enough space, gorgeous balcony view and bathroom is very comfortable indeed. The service is impeccable, just the most wonderful stay. Let's not forget the very helpful front desk staff and the manager, Samantha P.
The grounds are beautiful, clean, fresh flowers all around, friendly staff.
We arrived early in the morning, and even though our room was not ready yet, we were able to change and visit the beach located right in front of the resort. In the evening, after we had our dinner, we noticed a package delivered to our room, and to our huge surprise, I was chosen to be a winner of the monthly drawing of an infamous Mikimoto pearls set. Within half hour, the Manager, Samantha arrived with a birthday cake and personally wished me a happy birthday. That I call first class service! Because of the package we booked, we had a great breakfast the next morning and later in the day we had a lunch paid by Mikimoto store at South Coast Plaza. My children enjoyed the pool area as well as the well kept grounds. We used the services offered at the Club Level; the breakfast & lunch was really tasty and fresh. This officially becomes the best birthday indeed. Thanks to everyone at Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel, we will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed our exclusive Club Level experience! Congratulations on winning the beautiful Mikimoto pearls. Aren't they wonderful? Happy Birthday to you....hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed here numerous times on business and it is exceptional!!! I would recommend this property anytime. There are numerous restaurants a short drive away and plenty of beautiful sights along the adjacent beach.

Room Tip: Nothing better than listening to the ocean at night or sunrise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscientionous about disposal of waste items.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are delighted you have enjoyed our resort for both business and pleasure. We enjoy creating memorable experiences for you. Thanky you for noticing our "green" efforts. Of course, protecting our environment is a top priority. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luling, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had initially booked at the St. Regis but my husband insisted on changing to the Ritz. I wish I hadn't. We requested a room with 2 queen beds & walked into a room with 2 full beds. Then we settled on a king room. The view was a wall. Finally, the man who brought our luggage to the room called the front desk& got us a king room with a pool view. The gym was very small. The kids videos were out dated and the selection was poor. The pool area rarely had towels and was not kept clean (cups & used towels cluttered the area). With several events at the hotel, parking was sometimes a hassle. The room was smaller than expected. It wasn't what I had expected at all. The turn down service & taffy were the positive aspects. I would not stay again. I've had great experiences with the Ritz, but not in Laguna.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We greatly appreciate your very valuable feedback. It helps us in our continuing efforts to provide service excellence. We intended for your stay with us to be a memorable one and we hoped for your return. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, we apologize for any disappointment you experienced. If we can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact our Executive Office at (949) 240-2000. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My feelings toward the Ritz are heavily biased, because it was the site of two of the most amazing days of my life - including a spectacular nine hour lunch overlooking the Pacific. The Raya restaurant features a floor to ceiling view of the ocean that cannot be beat. The staff is wonderfully friendly and accommodating (which is essential when you're still at the same lunch table at 6pm and they want to set for dinner...). The rooms are beautiful, and those with an ocean view are truly special. We had breakfast on our balcony overlooking the water, and it is an image that will stay with me forever. There is a lovely walk down to the water that lets you stroll through the sand on an uncrowded beach. I could go on and on. Perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Kinhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It sounds like you had a magical experience at our resort! We look forward to welcoming you back for many more long lunches and memorable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was a highlight of a visit to the west coast. Absolutely wonderful views. Set dramatically on cliff and the beach is superb. This is not a place where I would ever stay without the help of my daughter. But a million thanks Beth for a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spednewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We enjoyed having you! Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
5.0 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing