We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The first thing to note is that this hotel is expensive, around $300 per night plus $29 a day for in/out valet parking -- no self parking. That said, if you are seeking a relaxing and fun place to stay with wonderful views, you can't beat this place. And if you have kids, they have multiple pools, a sauna, kiddie pool, sprinklers, that open at 6AM and close late.

Our family loves staying at places with a view of the ocean. This is one of the best you can find. It's not on the beach (but it makes up for it by its pools), but set back a walkable quarter of a mile from the Dana Point Harbor on a very gentle cliff. You get great views over the ocean, the harbor and the coast stretching toward the South (at least from our room).

The rooms are very nice and very clean, with balconies overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond. The service is okay; most of the help are pretty young.

There is a very nice lounge with big screen TVs. Even nicer is a wrap-aournd porch where you can order drinks and food. in the evenings they put out heaters and you can sit in comfortable chairs, sipping drinks, and watching the sun set over the ocean. Be forewarned that the food and drinks are not cheap.

If you're going to be out in the Orange County area and are looking for a great place to stay with lots of activities and great scenic views, and importantly, you're not watching your wallet too closely, check out Laguna Cliffs Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and great compliments about our resort. We are a kid-friendly resort and we know that children want to enjoy their vacation when they are traveling too. During our summer months, we have a wonderful Kid’s Club program that children are quite fond of. We will not disagree with you, our panoramic ocean views are breathtaking. The OverVue Lounge is my favorite location of the resort too. With indoor and outdoor seating, it gives guests the option of taking in the ocean breeze as they sit outdoors enjoying some tapas and drinks or enjoying our live entertainment indoors on Friday or Saturday evenings.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    442
    161
    83
    82
See reviews for
373
411
47
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Locations is fantastic!! Staff is very friendly and willing to help. Pool was nice.
Service there and the other places where quite nice. Room was very clean and spacious!
The only issue was that you are forced to valle the car.. Ok this is fine but REALLY $29 a day is a bit much..consider like $10-15 a day bit more reasonable..
Other than this issue stay was good!!!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bklyngirl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of the service our staff provides to all of our guests and we are happy to hear that you experienced this high level of service during your stay. Thank you for your compliments about our pools and rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed the spaciousness and cleanliness of the resort. We hope you were able to take advantage of the amenities we provide at our pools. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here during the Doheny Days weekend. First time for all of us. Property is beautiful! Up on a hill with a great view. We were upgraded to pool view room with partial ocean. Room is small and the a/c barely worked. That weekend was super hot and there is one vent on the corner of the room and we were just dying. Air barely cooled down even at night! Bathroom sink leaked so we had to call maintenance person to come fix it. Went down to the bar Sat night to hang out with friends and wind down after the concert. Sat on the deck for 20 minutes and no server came up. This was about 11:30pm. So we walked into the bar and sat there for 20 more minutes while we got ignored by both bartenders. Unbelievable!!! I had to literally flag him down! They blamed it on a wedding and the Doheny crowd. I suggest you plan to staff more knowing it was a busy weekend!!! Had brunch at the restaurant downstairs on Sunday morning. Same bad service! 2 of us ordered buffet and the other 2 wanted to order from menu. Server knew this but didn't come back for 20 minutes when we flagged down another server. Unbelievable!!! Obviously not a very good experience for us. We stayed at the Doubletree across the street last year and will probably do that next time we come to the music fest. That hike up the hill to Laguna Cliffs from Doheny Beach is no fun!! Especially when hauling backpack chairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that your first experience with us was a disappointment. It saddens us to hear that you did not experience the quality of service the Laguna Cliffs Marriot Resort & Spa is known for. Our resort has received many compliments and praises because of our staff and the poor service you received is unacceptable and we will address it with our staff immediately. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you are aware that your experience is not the standard but an exception and we hope you this experience does not affect your impression of our resort. We thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I was there September 7 thru September 9 2012 and went to the pool with my grandson and no one served us. I had to ask for a waitress. All they could do was talk to each other and forget about the all the other guests. On both friday and saturday than on saturday the waitress call me a name because I told her she wasn't getting a tip. If I was that Hotel U would of fired her on the spot. I had to ask every time I wanted something I had to go get a waitress. Isn't it their job to serve us? The guest at the hotel? That is my understanding. You pay a lot to stay at this hotel and they treated me like I was garbage. It was the most worst experience I have ever had. So if you stay there be prepared for no service at the pool area. It was the worst experience ever and they call themselves a 5 star hotel. haha more like a no star hotel. asked for a room with balcony and no balcony but they said I could see the harbor no harbor view either. Than they said that they had a buffet with a chocolate foundation friday and saturday at the VUE no it was over a but all the advertisement were still up.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a balcony but they couldn't accommodated us. So it was one thing after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We want to start off by apologizing for the unsatisfactory service you received at the pool. We are very surprised that our staff would behave in this manner because as you can read from other reviews we have received, our service throughout the resort is highly praised and well received. We will immediately address your concerns with our staff and be sure that this does not happen again.

In regards to your request for a room with a balcony, we do our best to accommodate all of our guests requests, however due to occupancy levels we may be unable to provide a specific room a guest has preferred.

Our Vue dinner buffet was over after Labor Day and we regret that you were unable to try this delicious buffet. We immediately removed all of our advertisement for this buffet after Labor Day. However, we hope you enjoyed the variety of dinner options our Vue Restaurant provided.

We take every review seriously and we regret that your experience was not above standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

All in all a good value. We were very picky about our rooms, and the checkin girl was very accomodating and allowed us to walk through our candidates. The location is great, the views are terrific, you have to walk a bit to get to the harbor, but that's probably a good thing. Parking is vallet only AND they charge $29 a day, so add that to the cost of the stay. But they treat you like a million bucks. Nice experience.

Room Tip: THe top floors don't have balconies, so if you want a balcony don't pick the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerE2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you were pampered during your stay. Our staff service is top notch and we strive to exceed our guests expectations with each encounter. We are so happy to hear that you experienced the accommodating and friendly service we provide to all of our guests. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My bf and I stayed here right after the Labor Day rush for one night on his free Marriott Points and we were both blown away! Despite the fact that this was free for us, we were treated like regular guests. Everyone from the valet service to the concierge to the pool attendants to the front desk staff were awesome. The pool was great, we were served snacks while lounging and waiting to be checked into our room early! The room was beautiful with a view of the ocean and were accommodated with a fridge that was promptly brought to us within 5 mn of the first phone call. The food at the pool is a bit pricey (19 bucks for an omelette!), but was good since we were starving. A Ralph's was in walking distance to stock up if you're on a budget;) We had free use of bikes, surf boards and boogie boards ( are you kidding me?!) And free use of the spa facility. By the way, this was like a mini Burke Williams (I'm not kidding)- super clean, saunas, relaxation rooms with tea and snacks...for free! A cute shopping area is within walking distance on the harbor where we ate at an amazing French place called Gemmel's (spelling?) The waiter (I'm sorry I forgot his name) was so nice and helpful- he totally hooked us up with their $29 Pre-Fixe yum! Beautiful park in front of the hotel overlooking the ocean where you can run, or do Yoga (they actually have classes in the mornings). It's also kid friendly, but if you are a couple- they made sure we were separate from screaming tots:) A romantic little get away from the grind of LA!! You won't regret it....

Room Tip: Get a King Room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Wow! We are so delighted that we made your stay so “amazing” and memorable. Thank you for being such a loyal Marriott Rewards member. Everyone is our guest and we appreciate that you are loyal to the Marriott brand. We are grateful that as a couple, you were both able to enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer. We can’t agree with your more, our staff is superb and they are here to make your stay not just enjoyable but comfortable and memorable. We are pleased that we accomplished that. We hope that you were able to try one of our spa facials or massages while you stayed with us. The experience will surely bring you back for more. We now have fitness classes for our guests, which include Yoga, Meditation, Boot camp and much more. We are so happy that you and your boyfriend were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of LA and experience the tranquility that awaits you and the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Had a good, but not great, stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott.

The property itself is in good shape and sits on a bluff. It's about a 5-10 minute walk straight down a hill to get to the beach or harbor. You can also walk to restaurants and shops along PCH.
The rooms are average size and most look out over one of the 2 pools with views of the ocean in the distance. The beds were very comfortable.
The front desk staff was especially helpful as was the staff at the adult pool.

Now the negatives: My bill was incorrect at check out and it took almost 30 minutes and having to speak to 3 differently people to get the problem resolved.

The biggest negative was the valet only parking at $29 a day. I mentioned how ridiculously high this was, somewhat jokingly, to one of the staff members. Their response was, "It's crazy, but they (hotel management) know that you don't have any other options." It's true, there aren't really any other places to park so if you have a car make sure you aware that you will have to pay an extra $29 / day. I'm sure the management will respond as they have to previous posts that their parking rates are "competitive". In my opinion it's blatantly ripping off your customers when you know they have no other options.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We agree that our resort is in an amazing location, sitting on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are walking distance from the beach and marina and just high enough where you get a cool ocean breeze and a sense of tranquility. We are happy that the comfort of the beds were to your liking.

We regret that you had to wait 30 minutes to have your bill corrected but we are pleased that everything was taken care of. As you mentioned, our front desk staff is very helpful and they are there to accommodate your needs.

In regards to your comments about our parking fees, the parking rates are in fact “competitive” to the other resorts along the coast. We are very fortunate to have our resort situated on the bluffs and near Doheny State Beach and harbor but unfortunately it does not give our guests many options to park their vehicles. We apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing