We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a bday celebration. Staff overall are courteous and helpful. Room was clean and bright. However, walls r a little thin so I was able to hear my neighbors tv pretty clearly. Pool was nice, but the wait for the poolside service was too long (took ~30min to bring out what we ordered). One thing I wad disappointed about- im a marriot silver member, stayed at the resort on my actual bday, but the front desk agent did not acknowledge any of that during the check in. I wasnt expecting any upgrades or anything, but acknowledgement in little things like that is what makes the customer service experience different bw properties.

Overall, it's a solid 4.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Happy belated birthday. We want to start off by thanking you for choosing the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa for your birthday getaway and for being a loyal Marriott Rewards member. We are happy to hear that you found our staff courteous and helpful and enjoyed your guest room. We regret that your birthday was not acknowledged by our staff. Our team’s attention to detail is impeccable and we must admit that we are shocked that there was no acknowledgement of your birthday. Our team takes great pleasure in recognizing birthdays, anniversaries, engagements, etc. for all of our guests. We will be sure to bring this to our team’s attention as we believe this was an oversight. Thank you for stating this in your review, we will definitely address this with our staff. We again want to wish you a belated birthday and hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    451
    168
    85
    83
See reviews for
379
415
48
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I recently stayed here two nights with my family (13-year old twin sons and my wife). The property is open and inviting with great, panoramic views of the ocean.

Property- Clean rooms, comfortable beds. There was a neat elephant sculpture display going on while we where there, with stories attached to read about real elephants around the world that had met serious challenges. Valet fees run about $35/day, in addition to $25 daily resort fees, that include some local activities. For Elite guests, there is not much to offer. I am a Lifetime Platinum member with Marriott, and instead of free breakfast( no Concierge lounge) I was given the opportunity to use the Eucalyptus spa and steam room??? Not too sure how that is a trade, but I never took advantage of the offer.

Staff- highly attentive and well-trained, resort-style attentiveness.

Location-great location adjacent to a state park, and just a short walk down the hill to the marina. Several local restaurants within walking distance.

Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with the Marriott organization in any way. I travel the world each year on business, and have stayed at over 400 Marriott properties in the past 28 years. The above is my unbiased view and recent experience at this particular property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriotMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The Elephants do tell a great story and Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa proudly help sponsor the extinction of these Asian Elephants. Thank you for your compliments regarding our attentive staff. Your comfort and happiness is extremely important to us and our entire staff. We take great pride in making your visit with us pleasurable from arrival to departure. We hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have stayed at many Marriott hotels, we are a Marriott rewards member and use the points many times. We even received a deal 3 nights for the price of 2.
But this stay wasn’t anything special, the hotel/resort was nice enough the rooms were large and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful in the restaurant, the food was good the service was quick.
I guess the location was a problem, I was hoping to relax near the ocean. The hotel is up on the cliffs and the walk down and up can be trying, the weather was cool so we didn’t use the pool and there is nothing worthwhile in walking distance.
I gave it an average rating, maybe it’s not fair but that’s how I felt…..It was Average

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for continuing to be a loyal Marriott member. Thank you for your compliments regarding the large and well-kept guest rooms and attentive staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast options and quick service in our Vue Restaurant. Our staff is here to make your stay pleasurable and comfortable and we are happy to hear that you experience that. We apologize that you did not like the geographic location of the resort, set up on the cliffs. Many of our guests enjoy the serenity of the resort being set on the cliffs yet within walking distance from the harbor and marina. We hope you took advantage of the quaint shops and site seeing opportunities that were within walking distance of the resort. We thank you for your feedback and we hope you visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Million dollar views, accommodating staff, fine facilities.

Be sure to be aware of resort fees: $25, parking ($33 per day which can't be avoided since there is no other option), various Cali taxes. Adds up to over $75.00 per night!. Few perks for Elite Rewards.

Bottom line: This is more of a Resort than a Marriott.



Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Axel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments. We cannot agree with your more, the views are just priceless. We are delighted to hear that you are a Marriott Rewards Elite Member and loyal to the Marriott brand. We hope that our friendly staff and facilities provided a memorable and relaxing vacation for you. We hope you visit our “Resort” again when you are in the area, we’d love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Loved this resort! From the beginning of our stay right until the end.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful in each department that we interacted with from the valet to front desk as well as housekeeping.
We loved the lounge area in the evenings with the live music, and the food was delicious as well.
We had a spectacular view from out window and I came home with about 10 pictures of the same shot because I couldn't get enough of it. The location is in a great spot beside a beautiful park overlooking the harbor.
I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived to the moment you departed. We wish you could stay with us longer but we do hope you consider us your home away from home. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and there are times where we cannot get enough of the views ourselves so we understand taking photos of the same spot. The views look like a backdrop to a movie and sometimes it’s hard to believe it’s real. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your second home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was one of the most pleasant surprises that I have ever encountered with a Hotel. I was expecting a 3 to 3 1/2 star hotel. Upon arrival I was treated just like the nearby Ritz Carleton. The staff was as topnotch. The hotel was the nicest Marriott that I have ever stayed at anywhere. It has a very upscale feel for a Marriott. The location has stellar views from many vantage points. There is a small park next to the property that allows you a nice place to take a safe comfortable walk. If you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that your experience was topnotch. We have been told that we are a hidden gem and we are delighted that you discovered the resort. Our goal is to only excel and deliver an experience that leaves our guests with fond memories. We thank you for all of your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I were looking to stay at a marriott property in Orange County. This hotel fit the bill for a weekend trip. We loved the location overlooking Dana point harbor. We enjoyed a walk down there one morning. We were surprised that the parking was a mandatory $32 valet. Definitely didn't seem necessary for this caliber of property. Only one minor complaint was housekeeping knocking on our door at 8:30pm the night before we were checking out. We already had room service for the day, and thus didn't have the privacy sign on our door. Just very surprised why she was trying to come in our room at that time. There was a note on the nightstand explaining housekeeping comes between 9-5. Otherwise wonderful stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shell3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa for your weekend getaway. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the resorts location to the harbor and marina and enjoyed a walk down the street. We regret that you were disturbed by one of our housekeepers at 8:30 pm. We will address this with our team to find out why they came to your room. It could have possibly been an innocent mistake and we hope that it did not pose an inconvenience to you in any way. We hope you and your husband visit us again the next time you visit Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing