We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Out Heavy Extras Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch Out Heavy Extras Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a nice place but do not be fooled by the reasonable room prices quoted - you will almost certainly end up paying a lot more. Taxes quoted are only 'estimated' so may be more. Valet Car Parking charge is $32 per day and is compulsory (no self-parking). Internet $13 per day. Before you know it your $245 room fee is over $300.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that there are additional fees when staying at resorts and that is why we clearly inform our guests about these fees. We state these fees in a couple areas including your confirmation e-mail and our website under Guest Services. Thank you again for you feedback, we will take your comments under review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    441
    160
    82
    82
See reviews for
372
410
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,626 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location near the highway but close to the water. The lobby looks new and the exterior of the building is well kept. The rooms are in pretty good shape except my bathroom had a leaky shower head (dripped all night) and toilet and sink faucet! The HVAC is also LOUD when it kicks on. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Valet is $32/night. I'd probably stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor towards the ocean is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views of the Pacific Ocean are quite breathtaking and we hope you enjoyed the scenery as much as we do. We want to apologize for the leaky fixtures in your guest room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will notify our team immediately to make the appropriate repairs and we again apologize for the interrupted sleep this may have caused. Your comfort and experience at the resort is extremely important to us and we take very review very seriously. We want to assure you that we will address your concerns immediately. Thank you again and we look forward in having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visited during the past week. Conference happening nearby at The Ritz - so this hotel was packed with attendees. Regardless, the capable staff made sure everything happened smoothly. Andrea at the front desk is a superstar - she went out of her way to be sure we had a magical stay. The hotel and grounds are immaculate.

Our room looked over the children's pool - very loud during the day but no problems in the evenings. Next time, would ask for a different location. The room was better than average. Could not believe how comfortable the beds were.

Had dinner at The Vue. It was very good - maybe not great. Food and service were better than ok, but I guess I expected a little more? Breakfast was superb. Lots of fresh fruit.

Overall, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, but avoid the kid's pool area if you want quiet days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It brings us great joy to hear that our staff treated you like royalty. Your comfort and satisfaction is of upmost importance to our entire team and we want your experience at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to fall nothing short of excellence. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at Vue restaurant and we too look forward in having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband & I just returned from the hotel, where we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic. The facility is spectacular & the staff is even better. We loved it. They had a great band playing in the bar on Friday & Saturday night, too. We can't say enough about this romantic, beautiful place. Will go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, on the corner with a spectacular view & terrace!! Ahh…how I wish I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. We feel honored that you and your husband chose to celebrate this beautiful occasion at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that your stay was fantastic and we are happy that you enjoyed listening to the bands in our OverVue Lounge. Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments and for your 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Clean rooms, Excellent service, Great place to relax and get close to some good surfing.. Great meeting place for clients... Pull the trigger on staying here , Its worth it !! The ambiance and the fresh air was sooooo needed....

Room Tip: Face west.. Great sunsets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate your compliments regarding our resort and we are delighted that you experienced our top notch service. We couldn’t agree with your more, the fresh ocean breeze and views of the Pacific are rejuvenating. Surfing is a must and the beach is just walking distance from the resort. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I had a reservation at another hotel in Laguna Beach area but the rooms were not air conditioned so we had to find another place to stay.Saw the Laguna Cliffs ,which we never heard of,on the web and made reservation on the phone arriving 12 minutes later.

The front desk staff made us feel like we were their best guests coming back for another visit. They apologized for having only a room with two beds and not a King Bed available. This was the week of Valentine's day. I found the room rates to be very fair.

Our room was clean and offered a great view of the dana Point Harbour and ocean. The A/C worked although the air blew parallel to the bed and not across it. The beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows were fine.
Our room was in a wing of the hotel separate from the lobby building so you walk outside to the main building and valet parking. There is no convenient non valet parking which is about $30 per night.
The public rooms and restaurants were fine. We alway seat breakfast from room service when traveling and the breakfast was on time and hot each of the 4 days we had it. We were impressed.

The Harbor offered a fun place to walk and eat and the downtown had shopping.

The only problem was that the Cable TV kept losing signal on NBC during the Olympics. There is a resort fee which includes Wifi which work well and also included the fitness center.

There is a Spa at the hotel. I had one of the best deep tissue massages here and was impressed with it.

I highly recommend the Laguna Cliffs

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you were first time visitors and hopefully future return guests of ours. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that we were able to make you feel right at home. The city of Dana Point is truly fascinating and beautiful and it's great that you were able to visit the harbor and walk around the marina. We are happy to hear that you had the “best” deep tissue massage at our Spa. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the spotty reception of your Cable TV. We will have our team look into this immediately to fix the problem. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope you visit us again when you are in the area. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing getaway here, enjoyed the spa so much, and the bar too, bought a package deal from their website. Great location, walked to the harbor for dinner. Everything was going well until we went to fall asleep. This hotel had THE WORST bed/pillows ever. Everything we had worked out at the massage the previous day was reversed in one night, my husband can barely walk or move because he is in so much back pain, and has to go see his chiropractor as soon as he gets home. We looked forward to coming again with our son, but afraid we wont be back, it was so bad. We came as our first get away from our 1 year old, and were hoping to get a full nights sleep and came away with maybe 3 hours between us and more tired than when we arrived.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience and the OverVue Lounge. We apologize that you did not sleep well. We know the importance of getting a good night’s rest and we are very surprised that you felt the beds were uncomfortable. As you can read from previous reviews, most of our guests compliment us on the comfort of our beds and praise us for giving them a wonderful night’s rest. We feel very bad that you did not experience a pleasurable night’s rest. Please note that we do offer different types of pillows and our “At Your Service” department would be more than happy assist you with that at any time of the night. Thank you again for your feedback and we do regret that you both did not sleep well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing