We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice hotel and we have been there many times but this visit was so different. When we entered our room we noticed a loud humming noise coming from an exhaust fan outside. We Immediately called the front desk and ask to change our room since we were staying two nights. They said they were sold out and could maybe move us tomorrow. The noise kept us up all night and we were wearing ear plugs. Called to complain and they Comped us a free pot of coffee. Wow! We decided to go home. Poor customer service! I will go to the Ritz next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were having noise issues with the exhaust fan and we truly apologize that we could not switch your room because of our sold out situation. Please know that your comfort and experience is extremely important to us and we are confident that our staff would have been more than happy to switch your room if we had the guest room availability. We feel horrible that you had to leave and we will definitely look into the noise issue coming from your room and correct this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    456
    169
    85
    86
See reviews for
382
421
48
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but we were just looking for a quick getaway, and this was terrific. We arrived on a gorgeous March day with the temperature in the high 70s. Great front desk service (Matt), a room overlooking the property with a partial ocean view, the usual comfortable Marriott bed, and a great breakfast in their restaurant-The Vue. Short & sweet. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carynsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that we were your getaway destination. Thank you for your compliments regarding the resort and wonderful staff service you received during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your partial ocean-view room and comfortable bed. We too look forward in welcoming you back for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a nice place but do not be fooled by the reasonable room prices quoted - you will almost certainly end up paying a lot more. Taxes quoted are only 'estimated' so may be more. Valet Car Parking charge is $32 per day and is compulsory (no self-parking). Internet $13 per day. Before you know it your $245 room fee is over $300.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that there are additional fees when staying at resorts and that is why we clearly inform our guests about these fees. We state these fees in a couple areas including your confirmation e-mail and our website under Guest Services. Thank you again for you feedback, we will take your comments under review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,693 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location near the highway but close to the water. The lobby looks new and the exterior of the building is well kept. The rooms are in pretty good shape except my bathroom had a leaky shower head (dripped all night) and toilet and sink faucet! The HVAC is also LOUD when it kicks on. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Valet is $32/night. I'd probably stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor towards the ocean is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views of the Pacific Ocean are quite breathtaking and we hope you enjoyed the scenery as much as we do. We want to apologize for the leaky fixtures in your guest room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will notify our team immediately to make the appropriate repairs and we again apologize for the interrupted sleep this may have caused. Your comfort and experience at the resort is extremely important to us and we take very review very seriously. We want to assure you that we will address your concerns immediately. Thank you again and we look forward in having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visited during the past week. Conference happening nearby at The Ritz - so this hotel was packed with attendees. Regardless, the capable staff made sure everything happened smoothly. Andrea at the front desk is a superstar - she went out of her way to be sure we had a magical stay. The hotel and grounds are immaculate.

Our room looked over the children's pool - very loud during the day but no problems in the evenings. Next time, would ask for a different location. The room was better than average. Could not believe how comfortable the beds were.

Had dinner at The Vue. It was very good - maybe not great. Food and service were better than ok, but I guess I expected a little more? Breakfast was superb. Lots of fresh fruit.

Overall, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, but avoid the kid's pool area if you want quiet days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It brings us great joy to hear that our staff treated you like royalty. Your comfort and satisfaction is of upmost importance to our entire team and we want your experience at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to fall nothing short of excellence. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at Vue restaurant and we too look forward in having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband & I just returned from the hotel, where we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic. The facility is spectacular & the staff is even better. We loved it. They had a great band playing in the bar on Friday & Saturday night, too. We can't say enough about this romantic, beautiful place. Will go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, on the corner with a spectacular view & terrace!! Ahh…how I wish I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. We feel honored that you and your husband chose to celebrate this beautiful occasion at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that your stay was fantastic and we are happy that you enjoyed listening to the bands in our OverVue Lounge. Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments and for your 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Clean rooms, Excellent service, Great place to relax and get close to some good surfing.. Great meeting place for clients... Pull the trigger on staying here , Its worth it !! The ambiance and the fresh air was sooooo needed....

Room Tip: Face west.. Great sunsets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate your compliments regarding our resort and we are delighted that you experienced our top notch service. We couldn’t agree with your more, the fresh ocean breeze and views of the Pacific are rejuvenating. Surfing is a must and the beach is just walking distance from the resort. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
657 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing