We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad wifi all over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
reno
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Bad wifi all over hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Great location for business meeting, weddings, or retreat. Ocean View, nice weather, clean, comfortable rooms. But to not have consistent wifi throughout the hotel, including the room is analogous to not having water. Pathetic. There's no excuse, esp when you are charged for it. Their technology is outdated. No business that needs wifi should be held here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our beautiful ocean view property and comfortable beds. We couldn’t agree with you more the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa is perfect for any traveler, whether it be for business, leisure, family getaway or wedding destination, we meet every customer’s needs. We want to apologize for any inconvenience our inconsistent Wi-Fi may have had during your stay. We know how frustrating it is to have spotty service and we want you to know that we in the process of improving our Wi-Fi connection right now. Thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is extremely important to us and we assure you, we will resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    451
    168
    85
    83
See reviews for
379
416
48
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our entire family stayed here for a wedding at a nearby location. We had several rooms. The front desk was able to place all of us on the same floor, which was terrific while getting ready for the rehearsal and the actual wedding. Breakfast can get expensive, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby with nice seating. There is no self-parking, so beware of the fees! Wow, with several cars, these fees really added to our bill. We are Marriott members, so did not have to pay internet fees, but this would also jack up your bottom line. Staff was excellent. My husband dropped a check from his jacket pocket and management put out an "all points bulletin" until the check was found! We were so appreciative of their help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KzMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the resort. We are happy that we were able to accommodate the rooms for all of your family as you attended a nearby wedding. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff service. Our care and deliverance goes above and beyond and finding your check is a prime example. We are happy that we were able to locate your lost check and host your wedding party at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This resort is beautiful. It is very busy, but the check in was quick and painless, they accommodated our room request. The rooms are very nice, the bed quite comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxed and inviting. The food was hot, fresh, great flavor and priced competitively. The ocean is little walk but you can do it. The grounds can be walking friendly for the physically challenged. Parking fees are too high, especially for a paying overnight guest, however, it is a spectacular photographers dream and completely worth every penny spent.
Saturday entertainment in the upstairs bar was great, I would go back for that again.
If you want ocean experience and dining and shopping, leisure hanging at the heated pool, go for it. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and for all your wonderful compliments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice hotel and we have been there many times but this visit was so different. When we entered our room we noticed a loud humming noise coming from an exhaust fan outside. We Immediately called the front desk and ask to change our room since we were staying two nights. They said they were sold out and could maybe move us tomorrow. The noise kept us up all night and we were wearing ear plugs. Called to complain and they Comped us a free pot of coffee. Wow! We decided to go home. Poor customer service! I will go to the Ritz next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were having noise issues with the exhaust fan and we truly apologize that we could not switch your room because of our sold out situation. Please know that your comfort and experience is extremely important to us and we are confident that our staff would have been more than happy to switch your room if we had the guest room availability. We feel horrible that you had to leave and we will definitely look into the noise issue coming from your room and correct this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but we were just looking for a quick getaway, and this was terrific. We arrived on a gorgeous March day with the temperature in the high 70s. Great front desk service (Matt), a room overlooking the property with a partial ocean view, the usual comfortable Marriott bed, and a great breakfast in their restaurant-The Vue. Short & sweet. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carynsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that we were your getaway destination. Thank you for your compliments regarding the resort and wonderful staff service you received during your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your partial ocean-view room and comfortable bed. We too look forward in welcoming you back for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a nice place but do not be fooled by the reasonable room prices quoted - you will almost certainly end up paying a lot more. Taxes quoted are only 'estimated' so may be more. Valet Car Parking charge is $32 per day and is compulsory (no self-parking). Internet $13 per day. Before you know it your $245 room fee is over $300.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that there are additional fees when staying at resorts and that is why we clearly inform our guests about these fees. We state these fees in a couple areas including your confirmation e-mail and our website under Guest Services. Thank you again for you feedback, we will take your comments under review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,681 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location near the highway but close to the water. The lobby looks new and the exterior of the building is well kept. The rooms are in pretty good shape except my bathroom had a leaky shower head (dripped all night) and toilet and sink faucet! The HVAC is also LOUD when it kicks on. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Valet is $32/night. I'd probably stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor towards the ocean is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views of the Pacific Ocean are quite breathtaking and we hope you enjoyed the scenery as much as we do. We want to apologize for the leaky fixtures in your guest room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will notify our team immediately to make the appropriate repairs and we again apologize for the interrupted sleep this may have caused. Your comfort and experience at the resort is extremely important to us and we take very review very seriously. We want to assure you that we will address your concerns immediately. Thank you again and we look forward in having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing