We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice if you want to spend a weekend in Dana Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Choice if you want to spend a weekend in Dana Point”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a good location with decent views of the water (note that it's not on the water, there's a big public park and rocky beach between the hotel and the ocean). And the ocean views from the rooms are limited. We had long lines at check-in but the room assigned on the third floor had a decent view (no patio/balcony) and was spacious. The interiors have been renovated and kept up to date but the bathroom felt old and outdated. Service from the staff was good (we enjoyed the cafe/restaurant and the pools). They charge a separate parking/valet fee, resort fee, and internet / wi-fi fees. Note that the hotel doesnot have any self-serve parking. So overall, I had a pleasant stay at the hotel and would return if I had to stay in Dana Point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your recommendation and we thank you for your compliments regarding our staff service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    456
    169
    85
    86
See reviews for
382
421
48
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were not expecting such a lovely hotel, great location, and friendly staff. My 10 yr old daughter and I took a short get away R&R trip and loved our stay. Really kid friendly, and safe. We were both happy with pool and activities. The staff was very friendly, the room was very comfortable, and we had fun. Lots of places roll their eyes when they see you with a child but we were welcome and really taken care of. We'll return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful stay with us. We are definitely a family friendly resort and we are so happy that you both visited Laguna Cliffs for the first time. We hope you visit us again in the summer, where all of our children’s activities are in full swing, including our Kahuna Laguna Kid’s Club, complimentary movie nights for resort guests (including complimentary drinks and snacks) and of course our family dinner buffet, complete with a chocolate fountain. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It is such fun place to be with all the weddings on the cliff and the range of pools. The ambiance is great even fi some of the other guys are obnoxious and annoying. The staff are so nice and helpful, the food is great and the beds and rooms are so comfortable. It is in the ideal position with the beach right below it and shops and restaurants near by. The nearest shopping mall is amazing too so i was very happy with my experience! i really recommend it!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are perfect and corner rooms give you loads to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you had an “amazing” stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you visit us again the next time you visit California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you love Dana Point or have always wanted to visit this jewel of Southern California, then this could be a great place to visit it from. The pros of this hotel include: Dana Point, view of the beach, walking distance to a beautiful public park, fine dining on site, wonderful service and the quality you expect with Marriott.

When you drive up, be prepared for a ~$30 mandatory valet fee along with expected tips of course; and don't forget the additional ~$30 resort fee. So when you are booking this room or considering other locations, add in an additional $60 + a day.

One final thing, this hotel overlooks the beach from a hill top. This means a beautiful and expansive view and also means a very steep walk back to your hotel if you decide to walk to the beach or local restaurants. Most people seem to drive.

Overall a great place for a business trip but I would have looked elsewhere for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: To maximize the ocean view, this hotel is very long.... this also means a potentially long walk to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMadScalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you visited our “jewel”. We cannot agree with you more, our resorts expansive ocean views and exceptional service makes Laguna Cliffs stand out. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and with the many activities we have onsite and within walking distance our resort truly caters to all kinds of travelers including families, couples and business travelers. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Judy and I had long wanted to stay here, and this spring we got our chance, using Marriott Award points. The property, high above the harbor at Dana Point, is handsome and comfortable...reminiscent of a more relaxed and elegant lifestyle. There's even a 1940 Ford Woodie at the entry, to complete the retro look. Unfortunately, there are also resort amenity fees and valet parking fees totalling $55 a day, so don't go here on a budget. You can buy lunch at the pool, but it'll take awhile to get it and your roast beef sandwich (pre-wrapped in a rather dry bun, suggesting it's been waiting for you) arrives without lubrication, and delivered to you by a bored, disinterested staff. You almost have the feeling that the staff would prefer to be elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our beautiful resort and the convenient location. We regret that your service at the pool was unsatisfactory and we will be sure to address this issue with our team. Your experience is very important to us and as you will read from previous reviews, our staff is known for their excellence in friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism. We hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Was here for conference and fully enjoyed the experience. I did not upgrade my room but still had nice little deck with view of ocean . The bed was comfortable and service throughout the hotel was great. I'd definitely come back for personal vacation!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzBob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope your conference was a success. Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We are delighted that you got a good night’s rest and that our staff service met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a personal vacation. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night, and we will likely be back. The property is lovely, and we particularly enjoyed walking in the adjacent park to see the coastal views and the marina below. Accessible to great walking and shopping areas, it is also easy to imagine spending a weekend without ever leaving the hotel. The room was well apppointed, although the bed was oddly uncomfortable (linens were gorgeous, but maybe something about the mattress?). Staff was friendly overall, but the restaurant staff was standout in their performance. It's good we found the restaurant (hidden downstairs) or we would have missed this dinner and breakfast opportunity to feel both warmly welcomed and completely taken care of. The restaurant team as a whole took this rating from a three to a four.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMom269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dining experience was outstanding. We appreciate the compliments of the dining facility and staff and we will be sure to share these comments with our team. We are excited to welcome you back and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
653 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing