We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This place is really nice. The rooms are generous and the staff is great. Only complaint is you can't smoke on your patio or balcony or you'll be fined $250. There is only one little designated area outside across from the entrance of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our beautiful resort and our great staff. We do have a no-smoking policy and we do guide our guests to the designated smoking area as you stated. We hope you visit us again in the near future. We’d love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Do not stay here. So many issues. Did not get the king. Terrible pool, uncomfortable chairs all old and stretched out. Sat a pool an hour and waited for the cocktail waitress. She never came. Asked to cancel my room to transfer. They refused and said I had to stay a night. Went to take a bath and couldn't. There was hair and pubic hair in shower and drain. Called to report to mgr. No call back, no offer to send house cleaning, no clean room. No apology. Gross and terrible service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We want to take a moment and apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us. We are very surprised to hear that you did not receive a call back from the Manager as our staff is very quick to respond to guest issues. Your experience is very important to us and we do not take your review lightly. There is no excuse for uncleanliness in your guest room and we will address this with our team immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel was fantastic,they papered you from the time we arrived until we checked out. The only thing I didn't like was paying for daily parking & having to use to valet,every time you left the property. Parking was high,you could of parked down the street,not convenient & on a Steep hill!
The rooms were great! The beds & pillows were out standing. Food & drink,music too all in walking distance~ Dana Point was a fantastic find!!

Room Tip: There were quaint breakfast places near by, Stacks A pancake house was just around the corner,Lots t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana4042013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that your experience from check-in to check-out was pleasurable. Thank you for your compliments. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in the Dana Point area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I just completed my 5 night stay at Laguna Cliffs Marriott for a business trip. I have mixed feelings about this place. Some of the staff were super nice and helpful while others were just downright rude and uncooperative. The hotel operator last night was pretty snarky with me when I inquired how to retrieve a co-worker's belongings that she left behind. I'm not sure what all of the attitude was about. And prior to my arrival I called to request pictures of certain conference rooms because I needed to see what the layout would be for our meeting and they wouldn't send them to me. They acted like I had requested top secret information which was bizarre. It's too bad that the bad experiences are the ones that stand out for me since it's reason enough for me never to return or recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned in your comments, it seems that you had one bad incident with our resort operator and it left a sour taste in your mouth. We apologize that this one incident stood out to you and ruined your stay with us. We would be more than happy to share pictures of our conference room with you, as they are posted on our website as well. There may have been a miscommunication with our At Your Service department when you made this request. Our Resort is synonymous with providing an exceptional experience for our guests, so we were happy to hear you felt the resort itself was nice and we certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Marriott Laguna Cliffs. It sits up high on the cliffs, with a nice view of the coast. Grounds are well manicured and lush with vegetation. Pool area is attractive and functional. The hotel room we had was spacious and clean. Most importantly, the service from each and every employee was not only friendly and helpful, but we never passed an employee without being greeted. We were here for a 3 day business meeting, and thus had several buffet meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Food was delicious for each and every meal, far above what we have generally experienced at large group-oriented buffets. The only negatives: bed was sagging and air conditioning unit was noisy.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of the coast, albeit limited. A room in the Del Mar wing is further from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that your meeting was successful. Thank you for your wonderful compliments regarding our attentive and courteous staff. We could not agree with you more, we believe we have the best staff in Orange County and every person on our team truly cares about your experience. We are happy that we left a great impression on you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area for business or leisure. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here with two teenagers for Spring Break, and we all had a good time. You have to walk down the hill and a ways to the Beach, Marina's, restaurants, etc....but it opens up quite a bit of Food and Beverage options. Hotel was very nice, and we were upgraded to a pool room, which had a great view of the pool and ocean in the distance. Took the whale watching tour which was interesting, saw a couple of whales, some dolphins and sea lions...overall was just a good boat ride too up and down the coast. Hotel restaurant was good too. Would recommend this hotel, we had a great time, just be advised it's a hike up and down the hill to the beaches/marina. If you are in good shape, it's no issue.

The room was very nice and clean and modern amenities. All of the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and pleasing the customer. Great stay

Room Tip: Get an ocean view somehow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Spring break with us. There are many activities to do both near and at the resort, which gives our guests a multitude of options to choose from. We love hearing what activities are guests partake in during their stay with us and it sounds like you all had a great time experiencing the whale watching tour as well as the shops and restaurants in the harbor. Our goal is to make sure you are completely satisfied with your stay and our caring and professional staff did just that. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott resort and spa is located high on a bluff overlooking the Pacific ocean with a seemingly endless horizon. There is a large local marina. I was here for a business conference. The room was exceptional with a king size bed, sitting area, balcony, overlooking the pool. There's a very high-end spa associated with the complex and I wish I had traveled here with my wife.

The value was incredible, given the banquet rate. There is valet only parking with a daily fee, which is expected for this level of resort. I think a great place for celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichUofMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your business conference was a success and we truly appreciate all your compliments. We are ahppy to hear that you enjoyed the resorts location and your spacious guest room. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for a leisure stay and we highly recommend that you visit the Spa the next time you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
959 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
829 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £185 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing