We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful resort and very welcoming. Our room was ready when we arrived and the bellman was very quick in getting our luggage to our room and helping with directions and answering questions. We set out to explore and thought we would walk to the beach. As we started to walk down to the beautiful rose garden we realized it was not a trail to the beach and it is a steep hill so we thought lets go get the car and drive down. When the valet brought the car around he asked can I give you directions we said we are driving down to the beach and he said well if you don't mind driving about 10 minutes there is a beautiful beach that is not crowded so we were like yeah.. It is called Thousand Step beach or Table Rock Beach. You park on the main street and walk down the stairs (it is not a thousand but it is a lot) This was a great recommendation and we actually went back the next morning and walked the beach with our coffee... We didn't use any of the facilities except the pool which was nice and the lounge chairs were so comfy we didn't want to get up. Pool service was great. The room was nice and bed very comfy. It did have a mini bar in the room with no mini fridge. Overall, nice stay and I would stay again. The wifi was included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan85leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love creating wonderful memories for our guests and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach our valet staff recommended. We look forward to having you back and providing you with another memorable trip. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Granted, the July 4th weekend is a popular time to visit, but the rooms were very pricey for the size of the rooms. Everything was well appointed and very posh, it felt opulent yet cozy at the same time. Nice views over the park and Dana Point harbor. The walk to the harbor is not far, but the stairway down can be hard for older patrons or people with bad knees.

The staff was friendly and helpful, which was especially hard during the stressful holiday period. We had breakfast at the VUE, again very pricey but the food was good. The bar was nice and had a great band in the evening. Our only complaint was the beds. We had four people in a room with two double beds, but the mattresses had deep depressions in the middle leading us to all roll into the middle. So I agree with the other reviewers suggesting it's time for new mattresses (again, especially at these prices). Otherwise, a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had decks, but they were probably noisier. Views of the ocean are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VRodKaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you visited us during the 4th of July weekend and felt the casually yet sophisticated vibe of Laguna Cliffs. Thank you for the compliments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and the beautiful views from the Resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding our beds and will certainly take your suggestion and share it with our team. We do hope you and your family visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had visited this property many years ago and was back in the area for a special occasion, so I wanted to check it out again. It has been dramatically upgraded and preserved over the years. My check in experience with Brian at the front desk was excellent and seamless. The grounds are well manicured and it was pleasant just getting reacquainted with the property. The view from many parts of the property is timeless and the sunset grand. The staff was helpful and friendly. I had drinks in the Overvue lounge/restaurant at sunset and it was a delight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side with a sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that your visit with us was superb! We are thankful that you remembered Laguna Cliffs from a couple years back and that you were able to see the renovation that took place a couple years ago. Thank you for your compliments regarding our attentive and courteous staff, we will be sure to pass on the wonderful praise. I couldn’t agree with you more, the sunsets on the OverVue deck are truly breathtaking. We look forward to you next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upon arriving to what we thought would be a beautiful resort it went down hill immediately. Had to wait over 30 minutes just to check in. Only two clerks available and there was a line of people waiting to check-in. When we finally began to check-in they told us our room could not be ready for another 45 minutes to an hour. Check-in is at 4:00 PM and they could not accommodate us. We had an appointment and needed be elsewhere and we felt stuck. The clerk "Amber" was very wishy washy and just wanted to rush us through. She even said if we wanted to go somewhere else she would be happy to cancel our reservations. She then told us there was a room available from out of the sky and since we were running out of time, we took it. Got our luggage and went to the room and saw a maid cleaning up the room. Bed was not made and there was bedding all over the room. It was a mess! It was not even a room I would put my pet in...not at all like the description on hotels.com. We left and had to find another hotel. They also nickel and dime you with resort fees and parking. Not the type of Marriott you would expect. Horrible experience and very deceiving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moose910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of your wait time for your guest room. We know that this could be frustrating, especially if you have an engagement you need to attend to. We try our best to have all our guest rooms ready at check-in time as efficiently as we can but there are times where due to high business levels, there is a wait time. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we want you to know that we are working as quickly as we can to make sure the guest rooms are all ready at the appropriate time. We never like to see our guests leave disappointed and we hope you have the chance to visit us again to experience the beautiful amenities and customer service that Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was my second stay at this property. It was a romantic getaway. The last time that I stayed here (previously reviewed) the food was AMAZING, the bartenders creative and wonderful, and I couldn't have been happier. I am sad to say that the chef that amazed me before....has moved on. In his place is Chef Thomas (formerly of the Cosmopolitan in Vegas). Chef Thomas id known for his pastry expertise, However, I was there for lunch and dinner. Previously I was kept captivated by the food, this time we left the property in search of food.

The spa is fantastic. David, who works reception in the spa was wonderful and accommodating. The spa treatments that w received were wonderful. Pricing was not too bad, as we paid $310 for two massages. The fitness room is the best fitness room that I have ever seen in a hotel. They had great equipment (including three spinning bikes).

Check in had a couple of issues, but the issues were resolved easily enough, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 226, located on the main floor, and the room was great. We had an ocean and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstanTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful spa treatment. We hope you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We are delighted to hear that our fitness center was one of the best you’ve ever experienced. We cannot agree with you more, the equipment and facility is top notch. We regret that you did not enjoy the food at our Vue restaurant but we can assure you that we have one of the best culinary teams at the resort and a huge fan base. We value your opinion and we hope that you give Vue Restaurant another try. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My only real complaint would be the beds, felt like I was sleeping at an angle all night, they need to upgrade the mattresses at this location.
The views are fantastic and nothing beats drinks on the patio. Every meal I had here was fantastic, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Upstairs restaurant staff is very friendly and always smiling. Regular staff need work on greeting guests though, surprised front desk staff weren't outwardly smiling and pleasant. Some staff while walking through the lobby would smile and say hello, but others would duck their head and try not to make eye contact.
Valet fee is ridiculous, but staff was always friendly out there.
Beach is a short walk down the hill and easily doable in the morning for a stroll.
Restaurants are also down the steps and easily walkable.
I would stay here again on another visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of the resort, while sipping your drink. OverVue deck is one of my favorite spots of the resort as well. Our friendly staff is always at your service and ready to assist in anything you may need. We hope you enjoyed the beach and marina during your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I stayed at the resort for 4 nights recently. My husband has been battling leukemia for some time and we were given the okay to take a family trip and wanted to get back to Dana Point. We chose Laguna Cliffs Marriott based on the amenities knowing that some days we may need to stay on-site. Were we ever impressed! The location is perfect, easy to access and beautiful views. We had a partial ocean view with a balcony/patio (room 1015). The beds are comfortable and the furnishings were comfortable. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet came with a package we purchased and we enjoyed it every morning while dining outside on a beautiful patio. Every single employee we interacted with was friendly and helpful.

We did spend most afternoons by the family pool area. (They have two separate pools and both are beautiful). The family pool has splash pad activities and an additional wading pool. The service there is fantastic. One afternoon we needed some extra help due to my husband's illness and he was not feeling well. One of the attendants that had waited on us several times went above and beyond to take care of everything for us and make sure we were comfortable. I made sure to let the manager on duty, Ellie, know of the level of service we received because it was far better than expected.

If we are ever able to go back to Dana Point, this is exactly where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are honored that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa as a family vacation destination during this difficult time. Your compliments are very appreciated and our goal is to your entire stay as comfortable and pleasurable as we can. We are delighted to hear that your experience was exceptional from start to finish. We are happy to know that our staff was able to accommodate your needs and that the service level you experienced went far beyond what was expected. Wishing you and your family all the best. We are looking forward to your next family vacation to Dana Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
907 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £180 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing