We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at the Laguna Cliffs for 4 nights. The trip was 1/2 business and 1/2 pleasure. Fantistic location with amazing grounds. Even though the hotel is in Dana Point ,Laguna Beach is right down the road. and I recommend checking it out. The marina and all of the 15 plus restaurants are a 5 minute walk down a scenic pathway or by the stairs. Ate at the resort and at Johnnies Famous and every meal was top notch. Every single staff member, regardless of their function, was polite friendly and respectful as if their sole purpose was to make you as happy as possible. The marina area is a must see. you could easily spend several hours walking through the public marina area. Doeheney Beach is also right next to the marina and a very nice beach and picnicing area

Room Tip: Do not take a standard room on the 4th floor. limited view from the far wall of the room and you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lpic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy a few nights of leisure activities during your business trip. Thank you for your wonderful compliments. The resort is truly situated in a perfect location, on the cliffs, yet walking distance from the beautiful Dana Point harbor and marina. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take some time for yourself and tour the city. We hope to see you soon, whether it be for business or pleasure or both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the resort from July 2nd - 6th and wish we would have stayed longer! The resort grounds were beautiful, right by the beach and close to many restaurants. The room was nice and clean and the kids pool area was perfect for them. Taylor at the front desk checked us in and she was very friendly and professional. I can't say enough good things about Luis at the front, he consistently went above and beyond to help us out and get us information. While we had a great stay, he really made it excellent. Marriott - you have a wonderful employee in Luis! We would definitely recommend this resort and it would be my first choice if we were back in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful compliments about our staff and we will be sure to share it with our team. We have an exceptional staff here that care about our guest’s stay and you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for recommending our wonderful resort and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple days for a wedding. This is a very nice resort. Spacious rooms, nice amenities and friendly staff. I was surprised that there were so many problems with my room upon check in. When we arrived, one of the two lights in the bathroom were burned out. We called right away and they came within the hour to replace. However they left the fixture partially dangling from the ceiling. Then when we went to bed, we noticed there wasn't a top sheet on the bed. Again, another call to the front desk however we used a different phone and discovered it didn't work. Within the hour they put the sheet on. Then in the morning when I went to make coffee, I noticed there were no condiments for the coffee (stir stick, creamer, etc...). Had to make another call for that. Also asked if they had some toothpaste since we forgot ours and they said they ran out. Just seems like some basic quality checks for a hotel of this type. Probably the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krp87b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you joined us for a wedding and experienced our resort and the friendly staff. We want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Our staff is extremely attentive and attention to detail is critical. We want you to know that this incident is definitely an exception and not the norm for Laguna Cliffs. We will be sure to share your experience with our team to ensure that this does not occur again. As I’m sure you are aware, we take great pride in providing a high level of service and quality to our guests and we were truly sorry to hear that the missing items in your guestroom put a damper on your stay with us. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful resort and very welcoming. Our room was ready when we arrived and the bellman was very quick in getting our luggage to our room and helping with directions and answering questions. We set out to explore and thought we would walk to the beach. As we started to walk down to the beautiful rose garden we realized it was not a trail to the beach and it is a steep hill so we thought lets go get the car and drive down. When the valet brought the car around he asked can I give you directions we said we are driving down to the beach and he said well if you don't mind driving about 10 minutes there is a beautiful beach that is not crowded so we were like yeah.. It is called Thousand Step beach or Table Rock Beach. You park on the main street and walk down the stairs (it is not a thousand but it is a lot) This was a great recommendation and we actually went back the next morning and walked the beach with our coffee... We didn't use any of the facilities except the pool which was nice and the lounge chairs were so comfy we didn't want to get up. Pool service was great. The room was nice and bed very comfy. It did have a mini bar in the room with no mini fridge. Overall, nice stay and I would stay again. The wifi was included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan85leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love creating wonderful memories for our guests and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach our valet staff recommended. We look forward to having you back and providing you with another memorable trip. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Granted, the July 4th weekend is a popular time to visit, but the rooms were very pricey for the size of the rooms. Everything was well appointed and very posh, it felt opulent yet cozy at the same time. Nice views over the park and Dana Point harbor. The walk to the harbor is not far, but the stairway down can be hard for older patrons or people with bad knees.

The staff was friendly and helpful, which was especially hard during the stressful holiday period. We had breakfast at the VUE, again very pricey but the food was good. The bar was nice and had a great band in the evening. Our only complaint was the beds. We had four people in a room with two double beds, but the mattresses had deep depressions in the middle leading us to all roll into the middle. So I agree with the other reviewers suggesting it's time for new mattresses (again, especially at these prices). Otherwise, a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool had decks, but they were probably noisier. Views of the ocean are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VRodKaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you visited us during the 4th of July weekend and felt the casually yet sophisticated vibe of Laguna Cliffs. Thank you for the compliments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and the beautiful views from the Resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding our beds and will certainly take your suggestion and share it with our team. We do hope you and your family visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had visited this property many years ago and was back in the area for a special occasion, so I wanted to check it out again. It has been dramatically upgraded and preserved over the years. My check in experience with Brian at the front desk was excellent and seamless. The grounds are well manicured and it was pleasant just getting reacquainted with the property. The view from many parts of the property is timeless and the sunset grand. The staff was helpful and friendly. I had drinks in the Overvue lounge/restaurant at sunset and it was a delight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side with a sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that your visit with us was superb! We are thankful that you remembered Laguna Cliffs from a couple years back and that you were able to see the renovation that took place a couple years ago. Thank you for your compliments regarding our attentive and courteous staff, we will be sure to pass on the wonderful praise. I couldn’t agree with you more, the sunsets on the OverVue deck are truly breathtaking. We look forward to you next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upon arriving to what we thought would be a beautiful resort it went down hill immediately. Had to wait over 30 minutes just to check in. Only two clerks available and there was a line of people waiting to check-in. When we finally began to check-in they told us our room could not be ready for another 45 minutes to an hour. Check-in is at 4:00 PM and they could not accommodate us. We had an appointment and needed be elsewhere and we felt stuck. The clerk "Amber" was very wishy washy and just wanted to rush us through. She even said if we wanted to go somewhere else she would be happy to cancel our reservations. She then told us there was a room available from out of the sky and since we were running out of time, we took it. Got our luggage and went to the room and saw a maid cleaning up the room. Bed was not made and there was bedding all over the room. It was a mess! It was not even a room I would put my pet in...not at all like the description on hotels.com. We left and had to find another hotel. They also nickel and dime you with resort fees and parking. Not the type of Marriott you would expect. Horrible experience and very deceiving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moose910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of your wait time for your guest room. We know that this could be frustrating, especially if you have an engagement you need to attend to. We try our best to have all our guest rooms ready at check-in time as efficiently as we can but there are times where due to high business levels, there is a wait time. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we want you to know that we are working as quickly as we can to make sure the guest rooms are all ready at the appropriate time. We never like to see our guests leave disappointed and we hope you have the chance to visit us again to experience the beautiful amenities and customer service that Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
903 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £182 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing