We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with beautiful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location with beautiful view.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location with a beautiful view. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the service was very good. It was a tight squeeze as we were put in a King Room with a pull out that was the size of a twin and there were 4 in our family. One of my children slept on the floor on the cushions. It was a crowded summer weekend and there were not any extra pillow or blankets. The outdoor space was beautiful however the quiet adult pool had many children running around. I would recommend this hotel to people who like a big hotel with pool services. As others have stated the valet service is a bit pricey and wish they allow self parking. We had a great view from our room and watched the fireworks on the ocean which was great!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are a family of four you do NOT get a king room with pull out the pull out couch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfun2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We couldn't agree with you more, the views are stunning. We recommend that you try and book a double room the next time you visit so that your children can rest comfortably. We hope that your family visits us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    451
    168
    85
    83
See reviews for
379
417
48
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visited this hotel with 3 kids under 5... It was fantastic! I have not been to this hotel in almost 10 years... It has been remodeled to be more "family" friendly. (Although, there is a separate wing with a 'quiet' pool if you need a break from the kiddos - or traveling without.) Best features:
1) Everything was clean (room, bathroom, lobby, and pool areas)
2) Food was good! Breakfast boasts berry bowls, a build your own (a chef makes it) waffle and omelette station. Dinner was surprisingly good (our expectations are usually quite low for hotel chains).
3) The views are nice (this is not the Montage, BUT you can still snap some great ocean views from atop the bluff).
4) Our personal fave for the kids was the splash pad (water features the kids can play in- think fountains with a play focus).
5) Our family loves international travel/cultures/adventures. One aspect we enjoyed during our stay was the VERY diverse international staff. So fun to experience! (Don't worry their English is PERFECT!)
Things that were just ok:
1) Rooms were average in size and appearance. We stayed on the ground level which was great for accessibility for little legs and I didn't have to worry about anyone tumbling off a balcony!
2) Beds not the best not the worst... We ordered extra pillows.
3) Room service: food was ok, wait times can be long if the Hotel is full.
4) Location. There really is not beach access from this Hotel. It is close to the water, but you will need to drive to a beach. This also means walking is technically possible, but only if you don't have bad knees (it is on top of a bluff), small children, or high heels. It's a little off the beaten path.
Things that could be better:
1) Patio furniture: it could be more comfortable and it was pretty dusty.
2) Increase staff at check in/ out time. The line was out the door!

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay and Laguna! Take the kiddos or Grands and enjoy a Bellini by the pool!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted to hear that your entire family enjoyed their stay with us. We are happy to hear that you came back to visit the resort after the renovation and you were able to experience all the family friendly activities that are offered here. The kid's splash zone and complimentary movie nights are a huge hit with all of the children. We hope you were able to enjoy the family friendly dinner buffet in our ocean-view, Vue restaurant as well. Thank you for your lovely compliments. We cannot wait to welcome your entire family back again! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We checked in and were given a room with a view straight down the highway :( Changed rooms to a pool view which had a nice view but an odd smell (I think it was the feather duvet). Speaking of the duvet, it was very thick which was un necessary as it was July and meant we had to have the air con on at night. This was a very old system which maintained the temperature by shutting off and rebooting through the night. Unfortunately this was very noisy.
Credit must be given to the very helpful lady at concierge although most of the staff were very friendly. Reception staff could do with a refresher course in customer service.
The location of the hotel cannot be beaten and as other reviewers have said, there are steps that lead from the hotel to the harbour where there a shops, bars and restaurants.
There is a launderette in the shopping centre behind Dennys, which was very useful for a mid trip wash.
For pure location and ambience I would stay at the Laguna Cliffs again, for all its faults the location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Resort view rooms can over look the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff very helpful and friendly. We are happy that you enjoyed the resort's close proximity to the Dana Point harbor and Doheny State Beach. We apologize for any inconvenience the air conditioning created during your stay. Our intention is to have our guests enjoy the temperature of their room by adjusting their air conditioning to the temperature they desire. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott for 2 nights of our 10 day trip in CA exploring the coast from San Fran. This property was the worst experience of the 5 resorts and high end hotels that we stayed in starting with a late night arrival and finding that our room type request was not being honored. So we had to settle for a king room and a sofa pull out to enjoy the "ocean view" that is advertised. This was not ideal with our 2 kids in two and the delays in getting bags to our rooms and sheets for the pull out did not get us off to a good start for the room overlooking the driveway vs the ocean.

The series of little things continued during the stay with the finale being on our departure morning when it was discovered that our rental car battery was dead because the valet attendant did. It shut off the brand new Denali when it was parked. This delay resulted in us almost missing a prepaid ($400) outing to the San Diego Zoo safari park. The attitude of the valet manager was very dismissive.

We had a much better experience at other Marriott properties during the same trip including the JW Marriott in Union Square San Fran - and will always go back to other ocean front resorts that are actually true ocean view properties. This experience seemed to be more indicative of poor management and client focus. Would definitely not recommend - there are much better options in the area!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate your review and regret that you did not enjoy the view of your guest room. All of our rooms are not ocean-views and we have never advertised this to our guests. We have different room categories including resort view rooms, pool views, partial ocean view and ocean view. If you were in a resort view room then your room does not include an ocean-view. We recommend that our guests book an ocean-view room when making their reservations, so they can enjoy the beauty of the Pacific Ocean while resting in their guest room. We regret that you did not experience the high level of service our entire staff provides to our guests. As you will read from previous reviews, we receive many wonderful compliments regarding our staff service. In fact, our guests go out of their way to compliment how friendly, caring and professional our staff is. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had no issues with this Marriott. Great service, clean, beautiful and everything works. Their location is great too but its important to have a car because you are going to need it! the best beach is not the one across the hotel, (too may rocks but great for surfing) you have to drive few minutes.. You are also close by car to Laguna beach and San Clemente (even closer) both places are so beautiful! the problem with this hotel is that I find the valet parking very expensive, basically the same of Beverly Hills! but you are going have to pay it if you want to see the area properly. The hotel is located on a 'cliff" so keep that in mind if you are not in shape! I though I was in shape until I started climbing the road up to the hotel from the beach! (again, you will need a car).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear how wonderful your stay was at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy that you were able to visit the nearby beaches and cities and that you found the area beautiful and convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have been back to this property a few times since my last review and it is still a great property with an excellent location. Had a minor issue (double billing) that was promptly addressed.

The two things that were ever-so-slightly disappointing where these:

1. At every other Marriott hotel (actual Marriott brand) a Platinum-level Rewards member gets a basic breakfast (or buffet) for free. The breakfast buffet here was virtually identical to the two Marriotts where I had stayed earlier this month. It offered made-to-order omelets - which they also did at the Las Vegas Marriott where I was the night before. But it wasn't free. No, it wasn't even close: $24.95 (plus tip) for a single buffet. The same one I got for free at every other Marriott property.

2. The beds, which felt "rutted" on previous visits, were unchanged: They felt like 10-year-old mattresses that had permanent divots from countless previous guests. No upper sheet, there was only a lower sheet (not fitted) and a down comforter - kinda like Europe I suppose. Nonetheless, they weren't terribly comfortable as your feet and head end up higher than the rest of your body which was sunken into that rut. Gotta be older mattresses.

Will we back? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y2kgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you are a frequent visitor of ours. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and we thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is extremely important to us and we will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were impressed with the general property of Laguna Cliffs. As we drove up the hill we saw people gathered around by tiki torches enjoying cocktails on a cool California evening. The bell man could not have been nicer and every valet we encountered was courteous and efficient. We had the buffet breakfast, which is a little pricey but when you consider the gorgeous view it is worth it. It includes an omelet station, smoked salmon and bagels, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. The pool and hot tub area was clean and well attended with nice people passing chilled water and towels. One complaint is that our room's air conditioner never worked properly. Since we were flying in from the east coast we were too tired to worry about it the first night. The engineers came as soon as we complained the second day. The first time they came they changed what looked to be a perfectly good air filter and it didn't fix the problem at all. As the day heated up our room was hot. Since the hotel was filled to capacity they said we couldn't move. I am sure you know that if your room is hot, no matter how nice the resort is guests will walk away with a less than favorable impression. It is just hard to overcome that negative memory of trying to get ready in a hot room. The engineers came back and worked on the a/c again and it improved but never worked to full capacity. In addition, I think our view was the worst in the hotel so avoid it. We looked out the back, room 151, and the hotel needs to improve what guests see when they sit on the balcony in this area. Let's just say it leaves a lot to be desired. A little natural planting would help.
There is a small, but nice gift shop on property with a nice clerk that helped us pick out a gift we needed and a great gym. The location is great, within walking distance to the beach and marina.
We were told there is a great whale watching boat tour out of the marina. As long as you look out on the pool area and have a working a/c you should really enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: ask to face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupiterbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the details of your stay and we are delighted that our friendly staff not only met but exceeded your expectations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of the resort and the state of the art fitness center. We regret that the a/c did not cool your room to the temperature you desired but we can assure you that all air conditioning units do work properly. Sometimes guests leave their sliding door open, which will cause the air conditioning unit to work harder causing the cold air to escape outside and the warm air from the outside to come in. Thank you for your suggestions. We will definitely share your experience with our team and we hope you visit us again the next time you visit California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing