We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed at this hotel last weekend. We initially had a room with a view over the highway which I was not thrilled about - but we were able to get moved to a better room the next day. The first night there were three weddings going on - each appeared beautiful. It is a very beautiful location to have a wedding. Or even just sit on the deck with a drink as the sun sets and watch someone else's wedding going on right below on the property.
Yes, we had to drive different places but that wasn't a problem at all.
The pools were fantastic and the pool staff was equally fantastic. They were very, very helpful and went out of their way for us. I really appreciated that kind of customer service.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you experienced superb service throughout the entire resort. We couldn’t agree with you more, the beautiful weddings that take place on the property draw you in and the sunsets are picturesque. We hope you were able to capture these moments, because they truly should be cherished. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the best hidden treasure in CA! Great views of the ocean and beach as well as great accommodations and cuisine. We have been coming here for over 10 years. It has gotten a bit expensive with both required valet parking as well as resort fees! Those fees add up quickly, especially for families.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor- no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teach125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that we have become your destination getaway year after year. Nothing makes us happier than to see our guests return. Thank you for your wonderful compliments and feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We love this resort. Very family friendly. The restaurant is great for breakfast but go to the Marina for dinner. Loved the views from our room. We took some wonderful walks along the Marina and Doheny. Two double beds was a bit tight for a family but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveler351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you loved the resort and the family friendly activities we provide. We hope you visit us again so we can create more memories for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

When Vegas got to 115+ for 7 days. We left and came here the resort was great rooms not crazy priced on short notice. We stayed for a week great pools and walking distance to the beach. This is a great family hotel and great bars. You are short drive from everything it was a great a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a ocean view. I didn't and got a view of the back of a building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us after experiencing hot weather in Las Vegas. We hope that the ocean breeze and cool nights gave you and your family the comfort you needed. Thank you for your lovely compliment regarding our family friendly resort and the convenience of the location to nearby attractions. We are happy that you stayed with us for the first time and we definitely hope it isn’t your last. We hope to see you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Right on the beach with beautiful views. The buffet breakfast had a huge variety of fresh tasty things. The pool is very family orientated but a clean, nice pool with great service. The room sizes are great. The only negative is the price of daily wifi which was expensive if you were travelling from out of the US or on a business trip. Overall a pleasant trip with excellent service.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are Marriott premiere guests and they gave us a nice upgrade when we arrived. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The views from the room were gorgeous, harbor one window, pool the other. The resort fee is $25 and then tack on $32 for mandatory valet. Ouch! During routine times the valet is prompt, but during checkout/checkin you wait and wait... The pool staff is friendly and available, but cocktails are pricey. We did not eat at the resort since there are so many other good and better priced options available locally. The room was clean, well apppointed, and had everything we needed. The bed was a bit soft for my taste; but the pillows were nice, I like mine on the squishy side.We would stay there again, especially since they are pet friendly.

Room Tip: The San Clemente wing had the pool with kid friendly water apparatus. The other wing is more for adu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review and for being loyal Marriott Members. We appreciate your business and we thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your compliments regarding our friendly and attentive staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pools during your stay and although we regret you didn’t dine with us, we are pleased to hear that you found a variety of restaurants that pleased your palate in the harbor. I would like to bring to your attention that we only allow ADA service animals to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on top of a hill with gorgeous view..The problem is that nothing is close to it. You need a car to go visit in town or go to Laguna Beach. There is a shuttle bus available..but I found not user friendly (need more info and maps at hotel for guests)
There are a handful of places to eat in Dana Point one can walk to. The beach is located down the hill and across the road...I would say a brisk 10 min walk.
The bar/lounge could work on faster and more attentive service..The employees were very friendly when you could get served.
Again..nice location..great views..but a bit off the beaten track for me.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you stayed with us and found our views to be gorgeous. As you mentioned in your review, the Dana Point harbor and marina are within walking distance from the resort and there are many shops and restaurants in the harbor. Renting a car is always an option here at the resort and we provide these services directly on our property for all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £189 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing