We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Area, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 March 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights; loved it and the area. The hotel looks down on a beautiful coastline and you can walk almost anywhere you want to go, (if you are in reasonably good shape.) We saw dophins, a seal and a whale from the beach. The rooms are not huge but the staff was great and the Spa services were awesome. They have two pools which were fine. If you are looking for an economy vacation, this hotel is not for you. They charge $22/day parking and the food is predictably semi-overpriced. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very good; we had dinner one night which was above average. I understand some of the other reviewer's frustrations with the property, but it is not 5 star which is where everything should be perfect.Stay away from El Torita down at the harbor unless you are into cold,very average food and enjoy being surrounded by people drinking heavily. RJ's is a cute breakfast and lunch place. We ate at Tommie's in San Clemente which is an adorable 50's diner with great food. Their chocolate cake is divine. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,436 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
310
Reviewed 13 March 2006

Spent 4 nights here last week. Loved just about everything about this hotel, except the $22/day parking charge.
Service was great, bed was very comfortable. Loved being able to see the ocean from my bed.
Did not eat at the restaurants, didn't seem to be anything special. Did order breakfast from room service and it was hot and delicious. Especially like when they deliver it with a little table on wheels rather than leaving a tray. That way you can eat like normal rather than having to eat on your lap or at the desk.
A nice climb down (and then back up!) about 100 stairs to the Dana Point harbor and several restaurant.
Jaccuzzi was quite hot, but very clean and towels were plentiful.
We did have someone in the room next door on a very loud business call every morning at 5:00 a.m., asked the desk supervisor if they could offer him a conference room to make the call. They said they would see if they could come up with a solution. We never heard from her again and the calls continued the next two days. Oh well, can't have everything.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange, CA
11
Reviewed 7 March 2006

This hotel was rated as a 4 star hotel. I was there in March06. For a deluxe room with a sink that leaked, a tub that didn't drain right and a Jacuzzi with no towels and disgusting water it was all that! It's 4 stars for the location only, that they can't mess up. Seriously pass on this one.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2006

Don't think I would be brining the wife here for a vacation but it was fine for staying one night for business. Decor is somwhat like a cruise ship and needs help. Otherwise rooms are clean with high speed internet

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank typhoonsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

This is one of the best! Just returned from a three
night stay, what a fantastic resort. Even with a LARGE
national convention going on we felt we had the facilities to ourselves. The location couldn't be better. The highlights for us were as follows; pool, fitness center, walking to great restaurants close by, friendly & attentive staff, no wait for car with valet parking. The pool was 85 degrees and we were the only ones using it on two great sunny afternoons. The fitness center is "state of the art" with all new top line equipment, again alone on all three days! Didn't eat at the resort as we found walking to restaurants allowed for more cheesecake. The rooms are quiet, great beds & linens, be prepared they are fairly small & only a few of them will have any ocean view, quiet & private feel makes the rooms special. This was our first stay at Laguna Cliffs, after many trips to the area, we will always choose this one in the future. Also, this is about half the price of the Ritz or St Regis and has a much better feel. This property was a great find for us.
KR Smith- Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KRSTucson_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
14
Reviewed 11 February 2006

My boyfriend surprised me for our one year anniversary with a stay at the Laguna Cliff Marriott. Unfortunately the "sales people" (staff of the hotel) that booked our reservation, blatently lied to get our reservation. We had reservations for dinner in downtown Laguna and they said it was walking distance. It was a $50 round trip CAB RIDE, hardly walking distance.

The hotel greets you with hands extended and a $22 self parking fee. Check in is at 4PM and check out is at 11PM and there is a charge for a later check out. Front desk staff is rude. We paid $300 for 19 hours in one of their horrible rooms?!

The bar was closed, but no one bothered to tell us as we sat waiting for 20 minutes. The restaurant serves food equivalent to Denny's, but at twice the price. Waitress was sweet and cocktails were very good.

Security can't be that good since my boyfriend threw on my pink thong underwear and strutted around the pool after-hours and no one said anything.

The Spa was excellent. The best couples massage we've ever had, but there is an extra charge to use the co-ed hot tub?

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott [--] royally. There are PLENTY of much better resorts in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2006

My husband and I took advantage of a great special which included a buffet breakfast. (Parking was extra at $22.00 per day). The offer ended December 31st and our reservations were for December 29/30. My husband had the flu and when I called the hotel reservation office they graciously allowed us to postpone our stay until January 8/9. We tried for an early check-in but because of a large conference at the hotel our room was not ready until the regular 4:00pm check-in time. This hotel is on a hill above Dana Point Harbor and has a wonderful location. It borders a public park which makes the hotel grounds seem very large and open. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, as was our room. The room was tastefully decorated, quiet and comfortable. We had a small balcony with two chairs which overlooked the pool and we could also see the coastline. The buffet breakfast was bountiful and delicious, and the dining room was bright and cheerful. We had a wonderful seafood dinner at the Harbor Grill in Dana Point Harbor. Proud Mary's in the harbor is always a hit for breakfast or lunch. Capistrano is inland about ten minutes and features the Capistrano Mission, several shops, restaurants etc. San Clemento is ten minutes south and Laguna Beach is ten-fifteen minutes north. They are fun towns to explore. We have enjoyed Dana Point Harbor for many years and since we live only 40 miles from Dana Point, we found Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to be a great post-holiday get-away. We look forward to another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
987 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £193 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing