We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will never be the Mongtage. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed for industry conference.

"O.K." - but they failed to clean our room on the fourth day. Called housekeeping for towels - no appologies or ?? - just we will send some up.

Accept everyone is experiencing staffing challenges, these days. BUT really a MARRIOT for $200+/night. . . .

Strongly recommend the Montage. Went there for beach walk and drinks - returning to the Marriot was like walking into a Best Western in comparison. As the cabby & limo drivers all told us; "fourth nicest hotel in Laguna/Dana Point area".

"Unremarkable" hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights at the Laguna Cliffs Resort and spa over spring break. The service was excellent and the hotel appears to be new and very clean. The rooms were well-decorated and clean. If you have a choice, you may want to get a room on the third or second floors because these rooms have balconies. We had gotten a pretty good deal for the spring break time of year probably because there is a little construction going on. One of the pools was closed because of this, but there is another pool that was great. The staff was very helpful and was able to recommend restaurants and attractions in the area. There was also a complimentary breakfast buffet that came with our room, which was very good. Overall the Laguna Cliffs Resort and Spa was a great place for our stay in Dana Point.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdensully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Stayed at Laguna Cliffs for 4-nights on business/pleasure trip. Had conference in Anaheim but wanted to get some ocean in. This was a little further than I wanted, but got great value on Priceline and love the Dana Point area. Overall very satisfied.

The hotel is in an awesome location on a bluff overlooking Dana harbor and the Pacific ocean. From just about anywhere at the hotel you can catch a glimpse of water and majestic seascapes. You are high enough up that you can see the entire marina and up the coast for miles. If you book right (which I didnt through Priceline), your room can look out over the coast.

Getting to the hotel is very easy off of the 5. The hotel has its own entrance off the harbor drive that it shares with a great little park on the cul de sac. Couple of nights we walked just outside the hotel grounds to the little park and just soaked up the evening view.

Check in was easy. Right off the bat I was tickled by the valets. Young guys who were friendly, playful and set the tone for a fun time. You do have to go down steps to the lobby entrance and then back-up to the elevators which are in the hotel wing, but they suggest you leave you bags at the top of the stairs (about 7-steps) so you dont have to lug.

Because I was cheap and went through Priceline, our room looked east inland. If I leaned out far over the open balcony window I could see the water. The room was very spacious and well appointed. My wife was with me and immediately took over the bathroom. We could both fit our stuff on the vanity with no hostility. Good tub/shower combo and all the regular amenities. Nothing stood out good or bad about the bathroom. Room was also well appointed. I set-up office on the desk and really appreciated all the plugs and easy internet. It does cost. Bed was great and comfortable. The feel was New England - lots of clapboard and sea themes.

We did not eat at the hotel. Once reason is that just down the hill is Dana harbor which has all types of great places to eat breakfast through dinner. We would usually walk down (not an easy walk down hundreds of stairs from the cliff) and have breakfast and usually dinner. We loved Turks which served a great breakfast right on the water. All the hollywood pictures and the laid back vibes were great. Nothing too fancy down there and good mix of people. Wife loved the nautical themed shops. You can also catch the ferry to Catalina here. A must to spend the day on the island. If you walk down you earn some calories. It is very close but its all down hill or up hill.

Some points:
1) There was some construction at the hotel. We didnt hear anything, but it was apparent.
2) No self parking. All valet.

Overall very good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Other reviewers have reported on the many positive aspects of this facility..I will only mention 2 irritants...the absurd mandatory parking (and fees) and the disruption to the smooth operation of a quality place caused by the ongoing construction. The entire operation fakes it and would have a guest believe that all is as it ever was at the hotel. Well when you're front desk, gym and primary bar and eating areas are all operating in temporary locations all with much reduced amenity it strikes a guest that the pricing is excessive for what is really being offered. Note the lovely bar/restaurant pix on their website...that's as close as you get to it at present.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwertVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I am not a big tripadvisor participant, but i wanted to set the record straight based on all the comments reagarding construction.

This place is obviously a business oriented destination resort undergoing a huge renovation, therefore at least 2/3 of the place is closed. Guests stay in newly redone rooms.

I paid $159 per night including breakfast--this is a very good rate, however, the place is not worth a penny more.

Dana Point is a far less attractive site than further north to Laguna or the Beaches south.

All the service was excellent--the place was empty--it is very, very adequate accomidations if you get this at the right price.

You should not be put off by the construction if your concern is for accomidations, but this is not a destination spa location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avrom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Upon our arrival at the resort, we were quite surprised to find the property a construction zone! This was not reflected upon booking or on the hotel's website. (It was also NOT reflected in terms of renumeration, either! NO discounts!) After expressing our concern and disatisfaction, management was very accomodating. The less than half of the resort that was open is remodeled and the rooms are fantastic! Plush bedding, upscale bathrooms and a desk in the room are nice. The rooms are not large, but average in size. There are patios/balconies on some levels. Many have views of the harbor/ocean. The outdoor areas which have been redone are really lovely. The restaurant has been tempoarily located in the spa in what was a large area for workout equipment. There is an attempt at a bar. It falls short! The workout room is extremely disappointing! VERY small with a few machines and free weights. Not the facility described on the website. They will give you access to a gym a few miles away. Not part of the plan, driving to workout at a resort???The parts of the spa I saw were underwhelming. I am hoping this is part of the reno as well! I found the staff to be very nice , knowledgeable and accomodating. They need to be if they do not let guests know in advance the state of the property! It will be wonderful when it is finished...We heard that enough while there! Do ride the Amtrak Surfliner down to San Diego. It runs along the beach a large part of the trip. No traffic, and fantastic sights! Catch it in San Juan Capistrano and ride it to downtown San Diego! Be sure to sit on the ocean side of the train for best views!
All in all, the resort is in a beautiful location on a cliff overlooking the harbor and the Pacific Ocean and is being remodeled to high standards!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I recently traveled to Dana Point with my husband who was on business. I loved this resort! It is undergoing construction, but that was hardly noticeable. The rooms were immaculately clean, the beds were incredibly comfortable and well appointed with the amenities we needed. The first day i did not have transportation, so I walked down to the harbor where there were nice little shops to get lost in for a couple of hours. There are also many restaurants down there as well, although we did not eat at any. The resort IS within walking distance to a beach. I wouldn't want to trek that far if I had small kids in tow, but it is walkable for adults. There's a nice little play area in a public park in front of the resort if you are traveling with children. The pool area is relaxing with plenty of seating and a hot tub, and amazing ocean views. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I can't say enough good things about this resort, we had a very nice time, were treated well and loved our room. I do believe parking is by valet only.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamingofsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
987 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629-2878
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £193 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing