We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Great location. Very...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Very nice hotel. Great location. Very nice rooms. Wonderful beds. Staff worked with is to find a room we were happy with- we are very picky. One downside which is nit picky was that the restaurant charges $4 for coffee and OJ which they offered as though it was free. Food is very over priced but room included a $30 breakfast credit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2010

My sister and I stayed at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa in April 2010. They are still undergoing renovation which did not impact our stay. Note, there is only valet parking at $27 a night. Customer service was excellent. We were well received. Incredible staff. When we arrived, we felt they had been expecting us. Such a welcome reception. The bellperson, Frank could not have been nicer. Frank offered to shuttle us to the Dana Point Harbor for dinner. He filled our ice bucket. Concierge had a wicked matter of fact sense of humor. Offered suggestions on wear to eat, wear to go and how to get there. Nice, nice lady. Rest assured, you need a rental car to get around here. Nice view of the ocean, but quite a ways off. Staff who worked in the restaurant on site "VUE" were very attentive. Laguna Lantern Park near by. We had to request more pillows and asked they fix the lock on the sliding door and the bath tub drain. Once those were fixed, nothing else mattered.

Looking forward to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDreamerAllTheTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I stayed at this location for a conference/training. The rooms were nice, and the views were beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room furnishings were in excellent condition.

The location of the hotel is nice, and it's a perfect getaway if you're planning to simply relax. The restaurant is nice, with good food and a nice view of the ocean. However, Laguna Beach itself is not withing walking distance, nor are any of the food places aside from the hotel's restaurant. Most of the staff are very nice and helpful...only two gave the impression that you were bothering them.

The hotel's fitness center is great, with good equipment. It is a bit small, but it worked out fine for me. I thought the per night parking fee was rather ridiculous.

I would stay at this hotel again for leisure, if I were looking for a simple getaway or for business. The Marriott lives up to its name.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I haven't been back to this location in almost 2 years, but the views and the service are great. Despite some renovations going on at this time my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at this Marriott property.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Took my hubby here to celebrate his birthday which also happened to fall on Easter this year. The resort is beautiful! As you drive up the drive way you are greeted by very friendly valet staff. Valet parking is $27 unless you are on a package deal that waives the cost.

Check in was smooth and our room was on the 3rd floor facing the beautiful waters of Dana Point as well as a large grassy area and the deck of the hotel bar/lounge. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious. We had our own private balcony with chairs for lounging and a view of the setting sun.

We had a couple of drinks on the deck of the bar/lounge area and experienced stellar, friendly service from Erica. The drinks are high quality, therefore not cheap. After a few drinks, we walked through the park area to the stairs (118 down and about 500 up, LOL) that lead down to the harbor. We ate an okay meal at the Jolly Roger then found a dive bar on the water called Turks where the people are friendly and the drinks are reasonable and STIFF! We returned to the resort's bar for one last drink before heading to our room for the night and the bartender gave hubby a free birthday drink.

My only complaint would be the noise. The noise from the next room of kids playing and screaming and kids running up and down the halls was a downer since this was an escape for hubby and I.

In the morning we went to the restaurant for the yummiest breakfast buffet! This was included in our package otherwise, it is quite expensive. There is a wide selection of warm pre-made dishes as well as an omelet and waffle bar with items made to order. There is also a variety of fruits whole and cut up, breads, bagels, lox, pastries, and oatmeal. The coffee is very good as is the fresh orange juice.

The resort is beautiful, can't beat the location and the staff was very friendly, will definitely stay here again. Hopefully the noise issues will be addressed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chica0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Traveled with my husband and 2 children for spring break, son age 12, daughter age 10. We arrived at 2pm, and the room they had for us was not ready. We were told by the front desk that if we were in a hurry we would be able to check into another room on the 3rd floor, but those did not have balconies so we went to the pool and ordered lunch poolside. At 3:45, my husband went to check on our reservation, and he was told that they were still cleaning it?? They finally called us to check in about 4:30pm.

We enjoyed the hotel's location, on a cliff overlooking the beach and harbor. However, it may not be ideal for those who cannot walk up and down steep stairs or up/down hills. The rooms seemed newly renovated and the size of most jr suites at other hotels. The beds were very comfortable (high thread count sheets) and there was also a sofabed in the room. We were on the 1st floor which had a beautiful unobstructed view and large patio with 2 chairs and a lounge. None of the rooms on the 3rd floor had balconies. I was a little disappointed, at first, with the amenities in the room- no extra pillows or blankets, no shampoo/conditioner, only 1 bar of soap, unlike other Marriott properties. But this must have been an oversight, because the next day, all bathroom amenities were included, and they even left an extra blanket and pillows.

You are not able to use the small refrigerator without breaking the safety lock, and even then, there is no room to store your own waters and drinks.

We had room service a couple times. Surprisingly, the service was fast, and the food was still hot and delicious, but of course was over priced- 20% + tax is added to the menu price, and does not include tip.

We also had dinner at OverVue, the pretty lounge across from the front desk. Menu is limited, but the food was good, as long as your kids have sophisticated palettes, no chicken strips or mac-n-cheese here, although my son had the angus burger, and loved it...

The Vue Restaurant, downstairs, serves breakfast and lunch daily, and dinner Fri and Sat. We had the breakfast buffet, which was predicable- typical buffet items, fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes. There was also an omelet chef for cooked-to-order items. If I remember correctly, the price was really reasonable ($10 for kids and $17 for adults?)
We had lunch downstairs once also. This was the worst meal we had during our entire stay. Do not order the Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken! The chicken was not freshly cooked, and it was ice cold, as if it had just been defrosted. My son had the salmon, and he felt sick the rest of the day.
We also ordered from the pool staff a couple times. The servers are friendly, but we always had to walk up to the bar to order, even though there were servers just walking around looking bored. The food prices were ok- 12-16 for sandwiches & fries, but the drink prices were way overpriced. $12 for red wine in a plastic cup?

Like the review of another tripadvisor patron, the room cleaning was spotty. Our 3rd day there, the house cleaners inserted the privacy tab into our keyhole (which we never use) and did not clean the room. Our 5th day there, we did leave the hotel a little late, about 3pm, and did not return until 10pm, but were still surprised that our room had not been cleaned.

Mandatory valet parking can be annoying, especially if you want to store things in your car and have to find someone to tell you where your car is. I also found that they had left one of my windows rolled down.

Overall, if you are able to get a deal on this property, it can be more than worth it. Anything more than $130 per night here is a ripoff, at least until they fix the service issues. I am surprised at the 4 diamond rating from AAA. Yes, the facility is pretty, but what makes a luxury property is the attention to detail, which this Marriott lacks in spades. I was able to snag 6 nights here for $101 per night during spring break on priceline, so overall, at that price, I didn't even mind the $27 a day mandatory valet parking.

Oh and if you order anything to eat there, you must try the lobster bisque. We tried it at 4 different restaurants while on our visit, and the hotel's version won by a landslide!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenturaCountySurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed for industry conference.

"O.K." - but they failed to clean our room on the fourth day. Called housekeeping for towels - no appologies or ?? - just we will send some up.

Accept everyone is experiencing staffing challenges, these days. BUT really a MARRIOT for $200+/night. . . .

Strongly recommend the Montage. Went there for beach walk and drinks - returning to the Marriot was like walking into a Best Western in comparison. As the cabby & limo drivers all told us; "fourth nicest hotel in Laguna/Dana Point area".

"Unremarkable" hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £189 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing