We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$647
US$569
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$129
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$780
US$629
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveller rating
583
487
182
96
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
487
182
96
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvue restaurantvalet parkingpublic parkdana point harborbreakfast buffetper nightvalet serviceocean viewbeautiful locationself parkking bednice propertyroom ratesmall balconysan diegobusiness meetingfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,343 - 1,348 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We came here to test out the hotel prior to recommending it to friends and family for our upcoming wedding. The website claims the hotel just underwent a multi-million dollar renovation, however, its hard to see where the money went. The rooms were fairly clean, but hardly renovated ... it looked like an early 90s room. While the bed was very very comfortable and definately new... the rest of the room lacked significantly (i.e. water damage on the wood trim with plenty of chipped paint). The Commodore lounge had great food, and a wonderful view, but lacked a personality - it was a bit boring. The Vue restaurant must have been recently redone. Its the most modern of the immediate hotel amenities. The food was GREAT! We were constantly amazed at how good the food was in the otherwise mediocre hotel.

The new Spa was nice, the staff was pleasant, and there are plenty of different packages to choose from. Overall, it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlGalTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

We stayed here for a week over Christmas break in 2005. Rooms, common areas and grounds are VERY well maintained. Staff is attentive and friendly. Location is just OK - and I mean that in a relative way as there really are no bad spots in Dana Point if you're coming from Chicago in December!

The property is somewhat isolated from other points of interest. You CAN walk to the beach and marina, but it's a bit more than an easy stroll and there is a substantial hill to climb going back to the hotel. Food was OK but the service was spotty. At one lunch we just got up and left after waiting about 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order. They seemed chronically understaffed at just about every meal. Could have been the Holidays. Just as well because there are far more interesting food choices just a short drive away. Incredibly, they charge for parking. And this on top of a pretty hefty room rate. I thought this was overkill. But we knew all this going in so..... Maid service was excellent and we had no other issues. We went back to Southern California for Christmas break 2006 but stayed somewhere else this time. Again, nice place but the cost/benefit equation just didn't work for us.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iampickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

My husband, teenage son and I booked this hotel to stay a week from Dec. 23 through the 29th. Arrived at hotel very late at night as we flew into San Diego, rented a car and then drove up to the hotel in Dana Point. We changed rooms three times within an hour; first room was extremely small for the three of us-two double beds, bathroom was small with a single sink, and room had no balcony, just a tiny window to look out of! ( I asked for a room with a balcony at booking). Changed to a larger room around 1 a.m.; (thank goodness it was the week of Christmas and the hotel was basically empty). Room was larger but we noticed walking down the corridor to the room that the wallpaper was buckled in some places warranting of moisture damage. My husband, who is a good handyman made an observance in the elevator that it had been renovated. While waiting for our baggage to be brought to the second room, I walked into the bathroom and observed a small bug crawling down into the drain in the sink. Demanded another room; (front desk clerk admitted second room was in older part of hotel and above the spa. Older part?!). Third room was large but musty and had a tiny balcony. Very depressing beginning to a week of a Christmas vacation planned months in advance. Got up a 8 a.m. the next day, called the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach; (stayed there last Christmas; it was absolutely wonderful, thought that this Marriott would be equally luxurious); said they had rooms available. Checked out of the hotel, drove up to Huntington Beach and checked into the Hyatt. Was given a gorgeous, large, deluxe room with a marble bathroom, separate tub/glass enclosed shower, double sink, toilet in separate enclosure, brass towel racks, ceiling to floor mirror next to tub, walk-in closet with automatic lighting and a balcony with a beautiful full view of the Pacific Ocean. Hyatt rescued our vacation. Also, restaurant at hotel was excellent, pool was clean with a view of the ocean and hotel had quaint outdoor "living areas" with sofas and a fireplace. Hotel was within walking distance of downtown Huntington Beach and its' numerous restaurants/shops. Extremely disappointed with Marriott Laguna Cliffs Resort as we have stayed at the JW Marriott in Phoenix and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank nutsabouttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

My wife and I just spent a night at the Laguna Cliffs and fell in love with the location and quaintness of the hotel. The views from the VUE restaurant located in the hotel gave us a pleasant, enjoyable scenery. You have alot close by. Laguna Beach, Newport Beach, San Juan Capistrano. By the way, stop in at Rendevous Restaurant in San Juan Capistrano (in the heart of the old town and the oldest Mission in California) The restaurant is a romantic and upscale place to have dinner!

Overall, we will be coming back to the Laguna Cliffs just for a getaway from the rat race of Los Angeles!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights. We were staying on the 3rd floor facing the hills in the back. We couldn't really see the water but the room was so big, clean and comfortable that it was a very nice stay. They have 2 outside heated pools and 2 jacuzzis which were great. The gym is also nice and they have a spa if interested.

2 things to keep in mind when booking this place:

1. The location is not the best. It is walking distance from the beach and harbor but it is on top of a hill so it could be hard for some people to walk up and down (but shuttle service is offered if needed). The most desapointing thing is that it is NOT in Laguna although it says Laguna in the name. There are a few restaurants in the harbor that you can walk to but no fun bars and good shops around (basically no action)- you have to take your car to Laguna but parking and traffic becomes a hastle.

2. the parking is really expensive ($22). So, if you add up the room price ($149), the parking ($22) and the breakfast at a restaurant in the morning ($20) you are better off at some B&B in central Laguna.

Overall, I think it is a very nice place to stay if being in central location is not an important factor for you. I would not come here again because it is too far from the pretty beaches and fun places even if the room was great.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Foxycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews