We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 April 2007

My girlfriend and I spend a weekend here last fall. The hotel is pretty nice...nice grounds, a well put together 'Marriott-level' room. I will agree with some other members, the food at the hotel was excellent as far as service. (Again, not the best food in LA, but for a hotel, above par.)

The hotel is not on the beach and as the name says, it is on the cliffs. Also, be aware that this beach (along with many in the SoCal area) is not just wide-open sand. There are some rocks, but we found that to be a great scenic.

Plus, the hotel is in good area...close to Laguna Beach and not too far from Oceanside.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank LA_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2007

My family just stayed the past weekend at this hotel. Although the views were great, the service was horrible. From the front desk staff to the manager a common theme appeared to be: surliness and other attitude problems. We had a problem with the room and had asked the front desk to please check a few other rooms. The front desk person told us that the hotel wouldn't/couldn't do it, and that the manager maintained the same position. We asked for the manager to call us on our cell phone (we had to go out for business appointments). We never received a phone call and when we got back to the hotel we were informed that the manager had left a message on our room phone. Needless to say, he stated that he couldn't help us. We were then given contrary information by the night manager who still did nothing to resolve the problem. Summed up: a hotel who likes to think that they are a 4 star hotel but with a 1 star attitude/service.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lestatdss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

What a disaster!
I have never had such poor service ANYWHERE! I attended a wedding in the area and my friend tried to get a room block from the sales department. They did not want her business and turned the group away. The hotrel was barely half full. This should have been the first indication of the type of service this place would provide to their guetsts. Would never stay here again or recommend this hotel too anyone. They claim to be a beach resort, the walk to the beach was long and difficult. Much nicer beaches 5 miles down the road in Laguna. This was definitly not Laguna like they advertise it to be.
The only positive part was the food in the Vue. Great food. The chef sure knows culinary.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank worldtraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2007

This Marriott is perched on a cliff as the name implies and the views of the ocean from the hotel were beautiful. Highlight of the stay was food . Room service was quick and arrived as requested. Restaurant was wonderful for all meals. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Lots of fresh fruit. Staff was quick in clearing away dishes and replacing cutlery.

Bad experience one night at larger of two bars (not enough staff to serve) was replaced by fun experience at downstairs bar where we were only customers.

Room, while small, was nicely appointed. Asked for pool view and turns out ocean was also visible. Hotel is designed in two u-shaped builidngs to maximize view. One of the pools was noted as for adults in hotel binder. Turned out not to be true, which was a problem. No one seemed to be monitoring the issue.

Cleaning service was fine but was very late. One day, room was not made up until 4:30 despite request for service. On another day, we just asked for clean towels. It was obvious there is a staffing problem.

If you like to walk, this is a great location. It's a short drive to Laguna, a fun town with good restaurants and art galleries.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank FroggySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We came here to test out the hotel prior to recommending it to friends and family for our upcoming wedding. The website claims the hotel just underwent a multi-million dollar renovation, however, its hard to see where the money went. The rooms were fairly clean, but hardly renovated ... it looked like an early 90s room. While the bed was very very comfortable and definately new... the rest of the room lacked significantly (i.e. water damage on the wood trim with plenty of chipped paint). The Commodore lounge had great food, and a wonderful view, but lacked a personality - it was a bit boring. The Vue restaurant must have been recently redone. Its the most modern of the immediate hotel amenities. The food was GREAT! We were constantly amazed at how good the food was in the otherwise mediocre hotel.

The new Spa was nice, the staff was pleasant, and there are plenty of different packages to choose from. Overall, it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlGalTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

We stayed here for a week over Christmas break in 2005. Rooms, common areas and grounds are VERY well maintained. Staff is attentive and friendly. Location is just OK - and I mean that in a relative way as there really are no bad spots in Dana Point if you're coming from Chicago in December!

The property is somewhat isolated from other points of interest. You CAN walk to the beach and marina, but it's a bit more than an easy stroll and there is a substantial hill to climb going back to the hotel. Food was OK but the service was spotty. At one lunch we just got up and left after waiting about 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order. They seemed chronically understaffed at just about every meal. Could have been the Holidays. Just as well because there are far more interesting food choices just a short drive away. Incredibly, they charge for parking. And this on top of a pretty hefty room rate. I thought this was overkill. But we knew all this going in so..... Maid service was excellent and we had no other issues. We went back to Southern California for Christmas break 2006 but stayed somewhere else this time. Again, nice place but the cost/benefit equation just didn't work for us.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iampickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

My husband, teenage son and I booked this hotel to stay a week from Dec. 23 through the 29th. Arrived at hotel very late at night as we flew into San Diego, rented a car and then drove up to the hotel in Dana Point. We changed rooms three times within an hour; first room was extremely small for the three of us-two double beds, bathroom was small with a single sink, and room had no balcony, just a tiny window to look out of! ( I asked for a room with a balcony at booking). Changed to a larger room around 1 a.m.; (thank goodness it was the week of Christmas and the hotel was basically empty). Room was larger but we noticed walking down the corridor to the room that the wallpaper was buckled in some places warranting of moisture damage. My husband, who is a good handyman made an observance in the elevator that it had been renovated. While waiting for our baggage to be brought to the second room, I walked into the bathroom and observed a small bug crawling down into the drain in the sink. Demanded another room; (front desk clerk admitted second room was in older part of hotel and above the spa. Older part?!). Third room was large but musty and had a tiny balcony. Very depressing beginning to a week of a Christmas vacation planned months in advance. Got up a 8 a.m. the next day, called the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach; (stayed there last Christmas; it was absolutely wonderful, thought that this Marriott would be equally luxurious); said they had rooms available. Checked out of the hotel, drove up to Huntington Beach and checked into the Hyatt. Was given a gorgeous, large, deluxe room with a marble bathroom, separate tub/glass enclosed shower, double sink, toilet in separate enclosure, brass towel racks, ceiling to floor mirror next to tub, walk-in closet with automatic lighting and a balcony with a beautiful full view of the Pacific Ocean. Hyatt rescued our vacation. Also, restaurant at hotel was excellent, pool was clean with a view of the ocean and hotel had quaint outdoor "living areas" with sofas and a fireplace. Hotel was within walking distance of downtown Huntington Beach and its' numerous restaurants/shops. Extremely disappointed with Marriott Laguna Cliffs Resort as we have stayed at the JW Marriott in Phoenix and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank nutsabouttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £184 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor, and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities from our hotel in Dana Point, and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing