We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great value for what you pay! Comfortable, clean rooms and very attentive staff. Location is convenient, close to the harbor, beach is across the street and parking is a plus (at the hotel and beach). Can be a little noisy with the highway and amtrak train but overall, well worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A_ODonnell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

room very clean with a view of the ocean. hotel owner very pleasant and helpful for all our needs.
hot breakfast was good, I would highly recommend this hotel , room was quiet and price was reasonable

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I had booked this stay because of the location on the Pacific coast Highway. What I did not know at the time is how amazing the set up was. The rooms are located in a way of a little " village". With a garden of plants, water fountains and soft music playing in the middle court yard. Having my room across from the 2nd floor deck- where we ate our breakfast and morning coffee, and watched the ocean being so alive. The crashing of the ocean waves for a night beverage music was relaxing. Our room was bigger than my living room at home, clean in every aspect. Leaving our room door open to invite the ocean breeze with no worries of other patrons being nosey, as everybody did the same. My 14 year old daughter was also excited about this stay, which says a lot about the new teenagers.
The owners were so inviting and pleasant. With the assistance to cook our waffles in the morning, showing us the bountifull breakfast options, were never left hungery.
I am boasting about this place as I will return for another stay, a long trip from Canada but worth it.
To the owners- another big THANK YOU and Hospitality for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Mega Good!!!
Mega Nice!!!
Mega Friendly!!!
No matter what stay here!!
^.^

Mega Good!!!
Mega Nice!!!
Mega Friendly!!!
No matter what stay here!!
^.^

Mega Good!!!
Mega Nice!!!
Mega Friendly!!!
No matter what stay here!!
^.^

Mega Good!!!
Mega Nice!!!
Mega Friendly!!!
No matter what stay here!!
^.^

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Jinnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a dreadful mistake choosing this place!

Having read the glowing reports from Trip Advisor we had really been looking forward to our stay here. I was certainly aware of the proximity of the motel to the coast highway and the rail line so had no illusions about that. Any road and rail noise did not mar our stay. But at the start the owner/managers attitude shone through. One of our children touched a small fountain in the reception area and his smile immediately turned off as he told her not to touch the fountain in a very nasty manner. No harm was done and no water displaced. But from that point on we got the gist of this VERY overpriced accommodation with draconian rules.

We had two rooms – one of which was suppose to have a ‘garden’ view but had the view of a cliff wall. The other room was very dark (and faced the seafront), when I went to open the door to the balcony & open the curtains I found I was looking straight onto the hot tub area where several people were. I felt like I was some sort of voyeur and immediate had to shut the door and close the curtains. There were people out there until 9pm when this area closed. Not what I had expected, I felt like a prisoner. Such a shame I was not able to enjoy the view I had to pay extra for.

On the plus side the room was large and clean, however in the morning we realised that our bathroom area was infested with ants. We had a bag which had previously had food in it but now contained towels and sandals. In the morning this bag was overrun with black ants. Yuck. The kitchen area in our rooms looked great,however we did not need to use it as we had NO food with us. I dread to think if we had brought food what this area would have looked like?

In the morning we went to the very small breakfast area where a reasonable looking buffet bar was set up. My husband was given a strict warning to use the clippers to handle anything. The food however was revolting. As a family we all tried a variety of things on offer. Everything was the poorest quality and inedible. I felt it was penny pinching of the managment not to provide better quality food. While sitting there 'eating' we heard another guest being told off for dragging their suitcase up the staircase.

Parking as has been mentioned by others was really tricky if you had a large car. There were spaces marked ‘compact’ however, people with the smaller cars were parking in places meant for the larger cars. I don’t blame the owners for this, but there should be a better system.

All in all a really this was a really bad choice for us – it is perhaps very difficult to put into words the ‘vibe’ or 'karma' you feel when you stay some where but combine this with very overpriced rooms (one with an ant problem),a Jekyll and Hyde manager,and the poorest quality breakfast I have ever had (ever!) Sadly I would advise this place be avoided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CelticSpirit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Seeking a place that was quiet enough to relax and actually hear the ocean isn't easy, yet Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn by the Sea was exactly that place. Arriving late into the evening due to flight delays, we were welcomed warmly. The open, well cared for property showed its age with charm and the comforts of home. If we had a question, there was always someone to greet us with a smile and explore our options for what to do next. You can tell the management and staff of this hotel made a difference and really cared about those of us that chose to stay with them for a few days. Recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I accidentally booked this hotel when I meant to book the other one in the area. I'm so glad that I did! Much nicer room than the suite that my family got at the other location, closer to the beach, great view and amazing staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
352 reviews
7.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
510 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £95 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing