We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy bueno!”

Carlos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #83 of 144 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Muy bueno!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The South American atmosphere surrounding this restaurant is tantalizing. There is an outdoor patio complete with a palapa covered fire pit - a great spot to indulge in a cocktail or two. They are also pet friendly which makes for a nice family event. As for the food I have three favorite items: chorizo scrambled eggs; menudo; and, the fish "a la diabla" (hot spicy sauce) - I'm hooked! This restaurant has long time employees who always welcome you with a smile and make you feel right at home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pupluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great outdoor atmosphere, good authentic food, ok service”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The outdoor dining area is a really cool atmosphere for evening outdoor dining and drinks, and the highlight of the place.

Food is authentic Mexican and pretty good. We had a number of dishes and were all pleased with our entrees and apps.



Beer selection is ok as well.

All in all, a good value, particularly if you're looking for a nice evening outdoor dining experience around a fire.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place in Dana Point”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Decided to go there for tacos and we got the worst tacos ever !! Survice was even worst had to get up twice for help , there was just no service !! Not sure if they cared for customers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“awful taco tuesday”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have lived here for over 20 years and usually go for breakfast, which is good, except for the coffee which is bad. Went for taco Tuesday and had the worst taco's of our lives!! They are crap, I can not believe how bad they were, overcooked meat and taco shells, no flavor whatsoever. Service was mediocre. I really hate to slam local businesses, but this was incredibly BAD. This place is an embarrassment to the city and taco lovers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank konalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday is the bomb!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

A dollar 25 For the chicken Tacos and beef tacos! a dollar more for the shrimp tacos! outstanding! There are good but The chicken is my favorite! Great margaritas too! They also have a fantastic breakfast we really love this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Carlos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing