We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Staff and Complimentary Shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gracious Staff and Complimentary Shuttle”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

During the past few months I have stayed at the UC Davis Hyatt Place on a few occasions. The staff is very customer service orientated. The onsite menu is suited more towards lunch appetizers and evening snacks and is a great choice for those who want to remain at the hotel. However, for those who want to venture out to the town of Davis the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to locations within Davis, CA. There are a lot of great local eateries in Davis, CA and the shuttle gives travelers the latitude for being dropped off and/or picked up from a local location. For those who are connoisseurs of local/microbrews the hotel carries Sudwerks, my favorite, the Marzen. But I digress, the only drawback that I have had which this particular Hyatt Place is that sometime over a multiple night stay there are problems getting back onto the network. Overall I like this hotel for its' consistency, convenience and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are smaller than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    180
    54
    25
    24
See reviews for
241
51
28
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

New Hyatt with very nice spacious rooms. Staff friendly, breakfast very tasty. Less than a mile to walk to the main township. No room service, but order food and pickup on a tray from the bar area. Swimming pool small but refreshing. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had a 5 day stay at the Hyatt Place on the campus of UC Davis. The hotel was clean and well-appointed. There is no restaurant on the property; however, the Galley concept for dining was unusual and a welcome variation. Of course, the downtown Davis area is a quick 1 mile walk and is loaded with dining and drinking establishments to choose from. If you are not up for the walk, the hotel provides courtesy van service on a first-come basis.

I had a room with two queen beds and found it spacious. The TV swiveled to provide viewing from the sofa in the "living area" or the beds. The bathtub was a slippery to me, but the staff quickly provided a mat, solving my concern.

The real winner for me at this location was the staff. Friendly, courteous, professional and very helpful. Certainly one of the best overall hotel staffs I have encountered anywhere. In particular, Kerry at the front desk was quick with a smile and very professional. I had occasion to watch her work when a large influx of incoming guests arrived from out-of-country during the breakfast hours. Some problem arose during check-in and Kerry stepped in, solved the problem and made the foreign visitors welcome. Nicely done.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chescuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hyatt Place while attending an event on the UC Davis campus. There are bikes available for guests to use; however, we just chose to walk to our designation, and it was only 10-15 minutes. There are undoubtedly cheaper options in town, but you really can't beat this hotel for convenient access to campus.

The staff was very friendly and helpful any time we had a question. The room is compact, but didn't feel crowded. We did enjoy the breakfast bar both days we were there and were pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality of the food.

The one negative: I needed to do some work while I was there, and the wireless access is very finicky. I had difficulty establishing and maintaining a connection though the strength of the wireless was not an issue. The front desk confirmed that others experience the same issues. Otherwise, it was a great stay and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAkindredspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hyatt Place has become my go-to hotel due to the friendly service and the layout of the hotel and rooms. This location was no exception. We were greeted warmly on arrival, offered a tour of the hotel and set up in a nice, clean, two-queen room with the Hyatt comfy couch. We chose dinner from the Galley and the food was very good. Breakfast is limited but the AM skillet options have improved.

For visiting UC Davis, there is no better location as the hotel is right on campus.

Room Tip: The hotel is being expanded in August 2013 so you may want to ask for a room away from the construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hyatt place for seven weeks during June/July. The rooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was excellent too. Ingrid and Elaine were very nice and always enquired if we needed anything to make our stay more comfortable. Thanks Ingrid and Elaine! A shout-out to the front desk staff - Kerry, Peng, Tiffany, Soli and Jessica. Thanks to Lisa and Kathy too. We loved this place and will definitely be back if we're in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed there after driving 6 hours so we decided not to venture out for food. We were staying with a dog so decided just to order room service, so we didn't have to leave our dog alone in the room with the opportunity to bark. Well this hotel doesn't have exactly room service. We ordered food and told we would have to go to the lobby to either pick it up or eat it there. The point of room service is for it to be brought to the room. We went and got our food and began to enjoy, well tried to enjoy. The side of fruit that came with the sandwich was terrible. It not only tasted horrible it was semi warm as if it was left overs from breakfast that had been left out all day. Being pregnant I was forced to remove the fruit from my mouth with the fear of getting sick. The food looked microwaved and just gross. Other than that the people working were very friendly and our room was very clean and quiet, even during the construction.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Hyatt Place UC Davis, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We utilize information such as yours to make improvements in our products, service and cleanliness. The Food and Beverage selections are constantly being evaluated and adjusted to meet guests' needs. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.4 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.6 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place UC Davis

Property: Hyatt Place UC Davis
Address: 173 Old Davis Road, Davis, CA 95619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place UC Davis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uc Davis Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing