We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and excellent service!”
Review of Taqueria Davis

Taqueria Davis
Ranked #16 of 201 Restaurants in Davis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Prospect
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I decided to try this family owned business based on the great reviews! The reviews were spot on!
I ordered the fish taco and a chile relleno. Both were authentic and just..WONDERFUL! The owner kindly added a mound of delicious guacamole to my chile rellano plate and brought me a sample of menudo. When I left, he said, "Susan, my home is your home." A MUST TRY for all who love authentic, reasonably priced Mexican food! The owner is kind and generous!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Some of the best Mexican food I've ever had. Prices were reasonable and the employees were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LS-Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Davis”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Neighborhood place, the owners know many of their customers by name, and great food. I'm a fan of the carnitas, al pastor, Mexico City tacos. They even sell meat by the pound!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry_in_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mybeach101
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is fantastic. I had the fish taco and the chile rellenos. The fish taco was perfect. Fish was tender, not deep fried and flavors were unbeatable. Chile relleno was lightly battered where the great chile flavor comes through yet not too hot. The chips are fresh and warm. This is definitely the best Mexican food in Davis and possibly in the Sacramento area.

Atmosphere is good enough. Prices are very reasonable and food is fantastic. It will be difficult to try other items on the menu as I liked the my food so much. I saw other people with burritos which look large and fresh.

I will be back here often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mybeach101f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Taqueria!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This restaurant feels like a second home, or certainly like you are visiting with family members. The owners are incredibly friendly and will get to know your names and what you typically order, but above all else, the food is delicious! Their carne asada is some of the best I've had anywhere, and their chile verde taco (yes!) is incredible. I personally love the chorizo as well. It's great food, a great value, and a warm, friendly atmosphere. You cannot go wrong at Taqueria Davis!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y0semiteR0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Davis also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing