We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and close to UC Davis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Davis
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Quiet and close to UC Davis”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were in Davis for a one night orientation at UC Davis. The hotel was a good value, close to campus and quiet. However, the air conditioner was a wall unit which was very loud - luckily it cooled off enough to sleep without the air conditioner. Room was small but clean. The queen bed was odd - comfortable on one side, and lumpy/saggy on the other.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank walkingfiend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    87
    46
    6
    5
See reviews for
69
28
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I chose this hotel because it was about $50 less per night than the Aggie Inn which is right next door. Everything worked well, the room was quiet, clean, and well appointed. The room and the bathroom are small.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel. B Street can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked 3 rooms here for UC Davis graduation weekend. I've been staying in another Davis hotel for the past 4 years when I visit my daughter, never thinking of booking here. Well, I've slapped myself on the forehead a few times now. Granted, this isn't the newest of hotels and the rooms can be pretty small, but they're clean and the bed linens smell slightly of bleach, enough to be comforting and the beds were very comfortable. We got a room with a king sized bed, a room with two kings and a room with two fulls. Everyone was happy. We had enough room. Office staff and house keeping staff were pleasant. Breakfast in the morning was the usual - coffee, tea, juices, cereal, breads and muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and a make your waffle iron. I have no complaints. Its a little dated, I guess, but who cares, when the price, location, comfort level and staff are great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our UC Davis orientation for my son. The hotel is close to the campus, and well within walking distance to great restaurants. The rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly. The one only complaint I have is the air conditioner in the room is noisy. The temp. outside hovered around 100 degrees but the air conditioner worked very well in keeping the room cool. Overall, when visiting Davis again, we will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank tennislover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yreka, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros: right downtown, 2 blocks to campus, a beautiful little private balcony, windows that open

Cons: a little bit older, some traffic and train noise

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Very convenient for business on campus. A spacious and pleasant room. The train is nearby, but I didn't find it to be overwhelming.

Room Tip: rooms above the office have nice, private balconies. cool people-watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A cozy hotel in the very downtown. Clean and tidy rooms with TV set, fridge, microwave oven and coffee pot. Rooms on the second floor are better, because they are quieter. You do not hear your neighbors on the first floor under you. Staff at the reception was very supportive and friendly. The hotel has a small gym and a tiny spa. They serve very basic complimentary breakfast, but it was OK to me. The only one thing that I didn't like was a noisy AC. It was too loud at night, but since it was hot, we had to have it on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatianakh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stop here a couple weeks ago to see about getting a room. My daughter and I walked in and the person at the front desk was in a back area on the phone. We patiently waiting for her to say "I'll be with you in a minute...." anything, anything at all. In the mean time I tell my daughter to step outside and call another hotel to see if they had a room. After waiting 5 minutes, we left. This person did not even look up at us. REALLY? Is it that hard to say I'll be right with you? Or even give a smile? I have stayed here once before and I will not go back again.

Wanda

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.1 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Lodge

Property: Best Western University Lodge
Address: 123 B St, Davis, CA 95616-4636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western University Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Davis
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing