We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Free Flight

Free Flight
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Del Mar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A protective sanctuary for several species of exotic birds.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small, hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

These guys really care about the animals. They are associated with the vet next door that specializes in birds.

It's teeny tiny, but if you are a bird lover, or have a small child... it is worth spending an hour here.

The birds on display look happy and well cared for.

You can tell they do this not to make money... but because they love birds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlySleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa fe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neat place but watch for the bitters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lots of beautiful birds up close and PERSONAL. Some will sit on your arm. However, not appropriate for small children except under close control

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss this San Diego Del Mar Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great place to go by yourself or bring the family. Get in touch with nature and the various multicolored parrots. Here is a rare opportunity to actually hold a parrot. Learn about avian behavior and feeding. This is a MUST SEE attraction. Getting one of your kids to hold a Real live parrot and take a photo. Admission is very reasonably priced. $5.00 for adults, $2.00 for the kids.

Now I also volunteer for a parrot rescue on the east coast. The only negative point I saw was the parrots don't have any toys in the cages or perches. Nor is there any food or water cups, and the birds rely upon some good soul to feed them as they pass by. All pet animals need food, water, and some toys. Nonetheless, the birds do seem very well adjusted, healthy, and most are very friendly. Please visit, donate, and become friends with a parrot. It is an opportunity you will cherish forever. I gave parents the opportunity of a life time to take a photo of a parrot on their child's arm.

I also spent some time teaching, guiding, and helping other visitors, but then again, I enjoy working with the birds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
238 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A hidden San Diego gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Locals and tourists alike will enjoy a visit to Free Flight exotic bird sanctuary.

Admission for adults is only $5, and you can stay as long as your bird-loving heart desires. Children I think are 2 or 3 bucks.

You can purchase a cup of food for .50c and have some of the most beautiful birds on the planet eating from your hands.

The staff is knowledgeable, and eager to answer any questions you have.

I highly recommend this hidden gem.

Please support the FreeFlight bird sanctuary with a visit, or if it's been a while since you were there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank email4saundra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss Kitty!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The place was small but the person that showed us around was great! My son Ben couldn't seem to put Miss Kitty down! She loved him and kinda ripped his shirt apart it was a cheap shirt so no worries, she was a white bird with a great personality! We got to feed the birds and the fish if you are in Del Mar a great place to go!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancyirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free Flight also viewed

 

Been to Free Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing