We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new family tradition”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Del Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Elijo State Beach Campground
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I have been coming here since 2007. At that point we knew this trip would be a summer tradition for us. This year was our 1st year bringing our son. We now say it's our new FAMILY tradition. The grounds are clean and well kept. The staff and volunteers are awesome! We had one issue with campers in our site when we arrived and they were quick to ask them to move to their correct site so we could start our vacation! Love this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etaf1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in an ocean view site with no hookups. There are ocean view spots with hookups, which would have been nice if we had booked early enough! It is so nice to relax and listen to the waves. The campsites are huge with shrubs between, giving a sense of privacy. It was an easy but long stairway down to the beach, where the kids had a blast building sandcastles. There is a taco shop in the campground with delicious food. The only drawback to this spot is the proximity to the train tracks, and the trains do run 24hrs a day, so it was difficult to sleep at night with the train blowing its horn all night long. If you have good earplugs, then no problem!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank vaykayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We camped in site 57 over Presidents Day weekend. We were lucky to make our reservation 7 months ahead, but people next to us made it 2 days before on a cancellation. Our site was next to the beach and 100 yards from dog beach. We had a wonderful time with family. The restaurant is amazing and great prices. The best shrimp tacos I ahve ever had.

Room Tip: Beach sites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirleen064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Having travelled throughout california in an RV, this spot is one of our top favourite places in the whole of California. Located on the bluff overlooking the Pacific ocean, it's a clean, tidy and well run camping ground with helpful staff. We've now visited there on several occasions over the past few years and have always had a wonderful experience. There are lots of great facilities nearby, and if you're there for the surf you wont be disappointed! Thankyou for another great trip San Elijo!!!

Room Tip: Save a bit of money - the seafront pitches are $20 more than the inland ones. Book the row behind b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oneillsurfacad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Well organized, nice campground. We went there for second time in 9 years. Another great experience being so close to ocean. The only minus of this great place is noisy train and nerby road.
Stan and Bozena

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleylosantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I love coming to this campground for beach camping. The campsites are above the beach on a cliff and there are steps that get you down to the beach. Even if you do not have a site overlooking the beach and ocean, there some sites that are still scenic as the sun goes down at night. There is not a lot of tall, mature trees. However there are plenty of small tees and bushes so that there is not a barren feel to the campground. It is great for kids to ride their bikes and there is a bike/walking path along the main highway. The beach is VERY accessible and as a mom that translates to not needing to haul all our beach stuff for long distances. There are plenty of restaurants (casual and nice), including a taco stand at the campground, that you can walk to. The main drawback is the train tracks nearby. For some people, it keeps them from coming here. It hardly ever bothers me or wakes me at night and the kids love seeing and hearing the train multiple times a day. There are showers with hot water that you pay for with tokens bought at the campground. The bathrooms are pretty decent for camping-cleaned once a day in the morning. They can be pretty nasty by night time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank snulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Sites here are very difficult to book. I was lucky enough to secure a beach facing site #21 and we all have a great time at this camp site. This site is right next to the stairs leading down to the beach (the campsites are located on a bluff overlooking the beach) so it's convenient, but you do lose a bit of privacy and the beach/sea view is slightly obstructed by the stairs. The full hookups at this site was a pleasant change to the primitive sites at a lot of the state beaches. The toilets were reasonably clean, but don't expect too much. Sites were spacious and quite well separated with some level of privacy for most. The beach itself affords a very pleasant walk. We were very excited to see wave after wave of pelicans flying in formation right next to the campsites. It was a sight to behold. My guess is that this is a seasonal phenomenon. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Book EARLY and try for the Ocean facing sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ckyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Villa L'Auberge
Villa L'Auberge
#1 of 2 in Del Mar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Elijo State Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Elijo State Beach Campground

Address: Del Mar, CA
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Del Mar
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
San Elijo State Beach Campground Hotel Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing