We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome burgers and fries!”
Review of Smashburger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashburger
Ranked #53 of 92 Restaurants in Del Mar
Cuisines: Fast food, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and fries!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Even though this is a chain restaurant it doesn't feel that way - more like a local hangout with juicy burgers and thin, bistro-like french fries with or without truffle oil. My favorite burger is the San Diego - amazing! The pricing is fair making me feel like I got a good deal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeyersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kids would rate this much higher (It is open)”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It is definitely open in August 2013 (but the Market in Plaza Del Mar is still closed). It is right on the corner of Camino del Mar & 15th on the ground floor of the Plaza Del Mar. We ate here twice at insistence of kids. I had a mediocre burger, mediocre chicken sandwich, and mediocre fries. The meat in the chicken was smashed too thin & overcooked resulting in no flavor. The meat in the burger was subpar. Avocado did not seem ripe or fresh. A milkshake was good but smaller than average. The kids were quite happy though. I'll have to admit the restaurant selection in Del Mar is a bit tilted to adult tastes.
Other reviews under Smash Burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iforgetmyname4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Such a shame.....lovely view, fantastic service, nice eclectic menu....will be missed.......several closures at this location.....harvest ranch market closed its doors as well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KerBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Their happy hour wine is a good deal, but not much selection. Regular prices seem high and appetizers are hit or miss. The spicy crispy shrimp were hard fried and very greasy. The bread with cheese and peaches was delicious. Not sure I will go back even though it is very convenient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lewisdebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sip. And Savor.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The name says it all. This small hideaway is understated, both in products and service. Happy Hour is amazing. Be sure to try the Big Eye Tuna Tacos at any hour. And the house pours are delightful. Plus Sip enjoys a place in the afternoon shade for those who have had their fill of sun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing