We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacifica Del Mar

Pacifica Del Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacifica Del Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Transit: Across the street on Camino Del Mar
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I was working in the area and found Pacifica on Trip Advisor, reviews were good so we booked a table. Great location in downtown Del Mar surrounded by shops, great views and fun people. Service was attentive but not annoying - food was outstanding and a little out of the ordinary...in a good way. I will return when back in the area!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    154
    45
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Above The Pacifica Ocean In Olde Del Mar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a dependable choice for well prepared food and as a meeting place for business or friends. Locals meet here. Seafood always good, but I've never had any other entrees from their menu. Not inexpensive. We don't order drinks but I can say that the wine pairings at a business meeting we had here were very good. You pay to play in Olde Del Mar. Try shopping in this Del Mar Plaza and be treated by wonderful views!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive Happy Hour!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Happy Hour is expensive with $9 glasses of wine! But the Salmon and Chicken Caesar Salads were excellent. Our service was average, even though we were there on a slow Monday evening. Our waitress never even asked if we wanted a second glass of wine and it took forever to get the bill paid. Still...the restaurant is in a beautiful location on the Plaza and the food is good, even though it is expensive. We will no doubt return for another stab at it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katdod50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and/but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Needless to say quite expensive restaurant but they provided delicious food. We were 8 people and only one waitress was caring for us. She did not do good job but we still give her 15 percent tip = $80.

Chef makes delicious food. We were there on Monday night.

Restaurant had low lights (some like it, I do not).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haluk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The view from this restaurant is lovely. The food was good but unfortunately to accommodate our group we all had to sit outside on the terrace. We did not have any advanced notice that we would be sitting outside. This I would have enjoyed in July or August but in late September it was cold. The fact that I was distracted by the cold kept me from really enjoying the food. My spouse and I both had the fish. It was good but that is all I can really remember about the food that evening. If ever I return to San Diego or La Jolla I will try to return to Del Mar as it looked like a cute little town with lots of shops to explore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pacifica Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing