We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot pastrami heaven”

Milton's Deli Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 92 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florence, OR
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hot pastrami heaven”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Found this looking for Whole Foods. If you crave NY style deli food this is the place. Piled high with meat and coleslaw. A thing of lean beauty! Only disappointment did not have any real good hot deli mustard. Bakery has some sinful delights - macaroons to write home about!!

Helpful?
Thank banjowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    87
    46
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going there for 18 years....always good....terrific menu!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Service, menu, food, location make this one of our favorite restaurants for a quick local meal. We love breads and is the best Deli in San Diego.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Variety - Host was having a bad day.....”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had great food (Rueben, Turkey Pot Pie, Chicken Fingers and a Chicken Pot Pie) at Miltons. Portions were the right size and the wait staff was prompt. The host was having a bad day. He was grumpy when one of the servers dropped a coleslaw on the floor. It was messy but it got cleaned up right away without incident. He just kept coming by over and over like he was looking for a reason to fire the poor guy. Made us feel bad for an accident that was not tragic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Great service, menu and location! Breakfast any time and the sandwiches are fantastic! I had the famous Ruben - a half and soup was just right! My family had the Mac and cheese & chicken salad.

Helpful?
1 Thank Meceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Proud of their food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went to Milton's in Del Mar because we purchased a local meal deal ($10 for $20 worth of food). We each purchased a sandwich and shared half. The service was very good and very fast. I guess it doesn't take long to put some meat on a piece of bread. The meat was very good quality and tasty. The side is maybe a 1/4 cup of either coleslaw, potato salad, or pasta salad. The pasta salad was dry and pretty flavorless. My sister had the coleslaw and ended up putting it on the sandwich because they do not put anything at all on it. No pickle, no nothing. They do offer a variety of mustards on the table. The sandwiches were 14.50 each and we had enough to eat, but were not overly stuffed or anything. Kind of pricey for what you get. Glad we had the $10 off--it was still $25 with the tip. Would have been $35 and not worth it at that price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milton's Deli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Milton's Deli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing